We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smith Family Garden Luau

Smith Family Garden Luau
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.00*
and up
Kauai Luau and Sunset Dinner
Ranked #2 of 5 Concerts & Shows in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
COLUMBUS, OHIO
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointing!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I and my two sisters went to this as part of our Hawaiian cruise and was very disappointed in this luau. This is the third one I've been to and enjoyed the other two much better. It was a beautiful place but would have preferred an ocean setting. First of all if you want to enjoy some before dinner cocktails, forget it here. They did not serve any drinks until dinner started. Plus the mai tai's were watered down, little or no alcohol in them or at least the ones I had. Plus during the show they did not serve which was a rip off. The food was ok, dessert was very limited to a few items. The show was disappointing also, not enough fire dancing. The show was very boring. Also if you do go bring bug spray, mosquitoes were eating me alive. Been to much better luau's in Maui and Oahu, I would advise to skip this one, just saying.......

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bfan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    340
    133
    46
    34
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Romantic Celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

On April 4 2013. We had been on a cruise to the Hawaiian Islands this was a 14 day cruise which began on March 27th and ended April 10th. Once in a lifetime trip. We took the Smith Family excursion which we booked in advance from home before boarding our cruise ship. Our plan was to celebrate our 33rd wedding anniversary on this cruise. We had the most beautiful tour of the property with it's plush gardens and peacocks and all types of animals too numerous to mention. This is a family owned and run establishment and they took great pride and care and gave all of us one of the best luau's we have been to. They cooked the traditional pig underground and with their traditional thanks and prayers before serving. The show was absolutely amazing with all family members dancing, singing, and interaction between the guests was truley heart warming. During the dinner we had a chance to do marriage vows with each couple exchanging the leahs and saying a vow to each other. We had approx 60 couples sharing this experience we all had tears in our eyes.This was truly a romantic celebration. Their bar service was excellent they had a variety of drinks to choose from. The ambience was truly in the colours of the islands with the flowers and clean and beautifully decorated tables. This was one of the best. Our heartfelt apprieciation and thanks goes out to the Smith Family you did an amazing job and this is one that we as a couple will remember for the rest of our lives. We wish them great success always. This is a tour not to be missed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 5star60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, CO
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Great time for families, even with small children.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our family of 4 (5 & 7 yr olds in tow) thoroughly enjoyed this evening experiencing Hawaii in a manner only natives an guide you through. With a large estate with what could compare to an arboretum, the tram tour was a great way to tour the gardens with small children, the food was amazing, the service VERY friendly and helpful, and the show was definitely entertainment. The show was a great way to learn about the various cultures that have blended into what is now modern day Hawaii, but in small bites and amazing visual display.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skirgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go to Smith's over Luau Kalamaku”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

A lot of people compare and look for the best Luau on Kauai... Smiths is more traditional and maybe not as "flashy" as Kalamaku, but it's more accurate to the culture of the people. The family who has been in business for 60 years, is still run by family members and really cares about preserving the family and Hawaiian tradition.
It really shows, when it come down to the food, the service, the entertainment and the ALOHA SPIRIT! There's no foofy lighting to make dancers look better or made -up story to try to follow. They truly care about their customers and don't have that fake corporate feel like Kalamaku (who is owned by Norwegian Cruise Lines).
I liked this luau bc it shows the real true nature of the Hawaiian people!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Alessio13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

My family of 6 enjoyed this luau. The food was tasty, the service at the table was fast to clear empty glasses and plates. Show was fun- the Tahitian dancers were the fav of all in our group.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tami H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smith Family Garden Luau also viewed

 

Been to Smith Family Garden Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing