We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must Do...”

Smith Family Garden Luau
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.00*
and up
Kauai Luau and Sunset Dinner
Ranked #2 of 5 Concerts & Shows in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sulphur Springs, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Must Do...”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Excellent dinner and show! Personally I cant see how they provide all they provide for the price! When you consider the food and drinks plus the incredible number of servers and dancers it amazes me that you can get all of this in one evening for $78 (online)... Wow! Its amazing, beautiful and a must do experience! I intend to come back when I return to Kauai! The food is excellent! The people are generous and friendly! You cant help smiling because the Smiths and their people smile all the time! Loved it and highly recommend. If there is only one thing you can do on your trip... Go to Smiths Luau!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jannandavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    621
    345
    135
    47
    34
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just watched the show, entertaining, but make sure you see the grounds as well”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We watched the show, it was an entertaining show, showed a variety of Polynesian dances, not just Hawaiian, showed Tahiti, New Zealand, even Filipino, Japanese, Chinese. I definitely do not imagine how the Dinner and Show could be worth it at $88 a person, but the $15/person is quite reasonable for the show. The dancers ranged from average to very good.

What I didn't like, we requested to be picked up from our hotel, which was great that they offer that. But they pick you up at 6:50 PM for the 8 o'clock show, which is 2 minutes away, then they don't let you into the grounds until 7:30, so you're sitting in the parking lot for about 35 minutes, then you get in and they truck you directly to the show so you don't get to walk around and see the gardens at all.

My wife and I thought it was enjoyable, but could have been improved. That being said for $15 a person probably the best experience you could expect.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank casiperuano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Grounds are breathtaking”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Peacocks roaming everywhere, lush gardens, fountains and lakes.What more could you ask for? We had lots of fun. If you are looking for a intimate luau this is not the one for you. It is loud just like a big ol family reunion. Food was great. Poi was aweful. As it should be. Oye. The show was really nice. A little long and the seats will kill your behind.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Esther D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Only went for the show”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We decided to have dinner elsewhere, so we were very happy to have the option to only attend the show. The show was good, but the fire dancer hit the ball out of the park. This was a fun way to spend an evening.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shasta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We attended the luau and the riverboat trip to the Fern Grotto.”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was wonderful. The food , music and entertainment were delightful. The grounds were beautiful with peacocks and an assortment of creatures. Everyone was friendly and kind.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Theresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smith Family Garden Luau also viewed

 

Been to Smith Family Garden Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing