We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr. Smith and food awesome, however...............”

Smith Family Garden Luau
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.00*
and up
Kauai Luau and Sunset Dinner
Ranked #2 of 5 Concerts & Shows in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Madera, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Mr. Smith and food awesome, however...............”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I would not pay a nickle to do this tour again. My 7th time since 96. Downward spiral and now it is simply sad to see the place so hammered. I rate the food first, 5 star, the best on the island. Mr. Smith, a legend, a comic, and a very hard worker and it was so nice to have him run the dinner. The food lines all run within 20 minutes when the place is sold out. Bartenders, hands down the best. Open bar but no line and you drink as much as you want.
Facility..bad news. Ran down. Same stack of broken concrete there for years. 2 broken backhoes sitting by lake leaking diesel fuel. Same stack of dirty broken plastic water pipes sitting there. Why not throw in dumpster?? The goat farm, disgrace. Filled with trash. One hour, 2 humans could pick up and have pasture looking good. Signs on trees explaining name of plants etc..all faded, cannot read, how difficult would it be to computer print paper and plastic coat new sign??
The show..Omisgosh it is horrible. Sound system does not work properly. Male dancers are totally out of sync. Female dancers have visible Harley tattoos, hard to explain to kids as this is not native at all. Fire dancer was good. Dragon scene a joke as the dragon suit is full of holes and worn out, same 2 years ago. There is no scrip to follow or story, just a bunch of folks doing their own dance.
Paint??? Not in many moons. Everything run down. Chairs in dining room are so dirty and worn out we had to swap them. A steam cleaner on a sunny day could clean them all. Not fun to sit in dried up macaroni noodles.
I quietly voiced my opinions to a familiar worker that used to be a dancer in the show. She reports that the son will be taking over management soon but is currently in Africa on another project. Looks like they are getting tour groups that prepay and do not expect to return. I am a return customer who will sadly never return.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    646
    357
    136
    48
    35
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Food was great! We liked the tram tour showing the grounds. The dancing was very good. Disliked the crowds very much. To many people push through .

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 803LeslieH803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food Good...BUT”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This attraction is in need of a facelift. Whole place looked tired and old. Food was good....especially the pork. Entertainment was also good. A coat of paint and some sprucing up of the gardens would turn this into a four star experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
381 reviews
218 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
“Good Show and Food”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We booked this luau because of the many favorable reviews they had received and also because they had an open bar.

Upon entering we were greeted with a shell lei and the shuffled to the side to take a family photo which you can purchase later for $20. We were then escorted onto a tram that drove us through the lush grounds full of all sorts of plants, birds, flowers and ponds. Afterwards we were dropped off where the Imu ceremony was to take place and had about an hour to walk around the grounds before that started. Afterwards we were escorted to the pavilion for our feast and then later on to another area where the show takes place.

The drinks were a bit on the weak side, guess that is why it is an open bar but they tasted good. The food was really good; sweet and sour ono, teriyaki beef, kalua pig and adobo chicken. They also had bread, fried rice, Hawaiian sweet potatoes, salads and of course, poi. There is also a dessert bar with fresh fruit, coconut cake, pudding and some other sweets.

The show was well presented, I especially like the Polynesian side of the show. There show was a bit different from other luaus that focus more on the Polynesian dances and songs. The incorporated Chinese, Japanese and Filipino into their show to signify those that immigrated and worked in Hawaii. Why I get why they featured it, I would have preferred for it to be the traditional South Pacific island fare that most people are expecting at a luau.

If you don't mind large crowds and being herded like cattle, it is a good luau. I prefer the smaller kinds away from the resorts that happen on beaches.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DiabloDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

aloha my wife shelley and i bill celebrated our 30th anniversary took the river cruise first awesome then took trip around boyanical gardem watched the ceremony of the pig meal was great terriaki beef was my favorite the poi would be good filler for cracks ha ha the show was awesome thanks from regina sask canada bill and shelley

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank billp575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smith Family Garden Luau also viewed

 

Been to Smith Family Garden Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing