We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the Real Kauai!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kauai Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kauai Palms Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is the Real Kauai!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

My family and I are not the resort types; not in the way we like to travel and not in our wallets.
The Palms was local kine all the way. The people who worked there were super nice and helpful. One of the guys there got his personal map book from his car and let us borrow it so we could find our way around.

Don't waste your money staying at one of the many huge resorts on the island. Stay at this locally owned and operated hotel and really see what Aloha is all about.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hermesnoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    115
    63
    22
    17
See reviews for
42
147
47
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2010

After booking online for only our first night while island hopping from the big island due to its close proximity to the airport and our late arrival time we were fully intent on finding accommodation on a night by night basis as we worked our way around the island. However, the next day we soon discovered that the complete island from the waimea canyon on the westside to the north shore beaches can easily be reached within say one hour from this hotels location. There seemed little point in keep moving from one place to another so we opted to stay for eight days in total with a better rate given because of the length of our stay. We appreciated the location the longer we stayed, good food places are all within walking, supermarkets are a five min drive as is the local underrated beach at Kalapaki. Room service was good and not too intrusive, the hotel is quiet and unpretentious and as a safe base you will find it hard to beat. If you are looking for spa facilities and amazing terrace views, then this would not be my recommendation but please bear in mind that Kauai has amazing views pretty much wherever you look so paying a large premium to have one from your room is one not worth paying in my opinion, most places are two and three times the price and really not worth paying for somewhere that you are using to sleep most of the time. Lihue is nothing to shout about in terms of prettiness but it is very convenient and this should not be overlooked, many of the towns and villages around the coast, whilst pretty and quaint lack a little in terms of facilities and amenities etc.
I'm sure you will have an amazing time wherever you stay as the laid back attitude of the locals and everything else the island has to offer will instantly inspire you.
Worthy of special thanks is the manager, Ron and also a french canadian woman whose name I cannot recall, they both could not have been more helpful in terms of advice and local 'tips', their friendliness and disposition made the Kauai Palms somewhere that I will not forget for a long time, I wish them every success for all the effort they put in to cater for any request that I made!
The only thing that could ever be considered negative about Kauai and this is of course a subjective thing, some may find it tiresome, some may find it endearing is the almost constant cockadoodle dooing from the many thousand semi-wild chickens and cockerels scattered all over, you have been WARNED!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoops69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

We used this hotel for our first and last night on Kauai, and it worked out wonderfully for us. The cab ride was exactly $10.00 (including a very weak tip) to and from the airport. Ron, the hotel manager, has excellent hospitality. He makes his Kauai coffee and Costco muffins every morning with a great deal of love, and you can certainly taste it. He is always kind and willing to share his knowledge of the "Garden Isle" with you, yet doesn't preach any "you must see..." He leaves the exploring up to you! We stayed in room 28 and 9. 28 was nice because it was in the detached building and bigger than room 9. Though we didn't stay in any of the rooms with kitchenettes, I'm sure they're cozy too. One thing I must comment on was the towels and linens: they had the most wonderful fragrant of laundry soap ever, which added to the cleanliness feel of our stay. Lastly, there is an on-site ice machine and a washer and dryer, which comes in handy once you've been roughing and toughing it on the island. I will be back for another stay in the future for sure. Again, when traveling, wherever you stay is only a place to sleep - get out there and explore!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neverusethisaccount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

Stayed at this hotel due to the excellent location next to bowling center. Famous Hamura's saimin restaurant located a stones thrown away, litterally about 20 second walk from my hotel room. Other good restaurants (Thai, local, bakery) located nearby next to Lihue Bowling Center. Hotel room was good for a one nights stay. Road noise due to room being located next to road was a little bothersome. Air Conditioner worked well in room and bed was comfortable. Seemed like a safe area. Hotel Manager Ron made excellent Kauai coffee and the complementary Costco muffins in the morning was an unexpected surprise. Free wi-fi for internet access was also a nice surprise.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1KFrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

We had a great experience at the Kauai Palms. The hotel is cool in a kind of funky/retro way. The hotel personnel were exceptionally friendly and provided lots of "Aloha"...giving us travel tips, restaurant suggestions, etc. The room was comfortable and clean, a great value for the price. It is off the beaten path, so it is very quiet...no traffic noise. Plus it is conveniently located right around the corner from the famous Hamura's Saimin Noodle Stand. Saimin Stand is an extremely popular historical local eating spot. It was crowded and we were the only tourists!...that is how you know you are getting good food for a good price. With three little kids, we got take out and walked back to our room. Perfect! I give Kauai Palms a big THUMBS UP!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russellp93109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

We stayed her for 1 night and it was small but, very beauiful. The bed,sheets,towels were clean and fresh smelling. I was staying at the kauai sand's for what was going to be a day stay but turned into only 5 hrs stay after I couldn't stand the roaches anymore. My husband and I enjoyed our stay here and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anikanbratton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alphington, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

The Kauai Palms is a fantastic, value for money hotel. It is a lovely old-style building so no cookie cutter, beige and cream fit-out here. It has an individual charm with comfortable rooms and a great front reception area. Ron, the Manager, is extremely friendly and helpful, full of Aloha. Being close to the airport I found it a fantastic place to start my trip to Kauai in order to get my bearings. Slept well, was up early to do stuff so the rooster crowing helped and enjoyed the hospitality of the Kauai Palms before heading out for the day. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMG89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
1.1 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
6.1 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#6 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
6.1 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
6.4 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Palms Hotel

Property: Kauai Palms Hotel
Address: 2931 Kalena St, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kauai Palms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Lihue, gateway of the Garden Island, the Kauai Palms Hotel offers affordability and stylish comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Kauai Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Palms Motel
Kauai Palms Hotel HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing