We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel..better than expected”
Review of Kauai Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kauai Palms Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel..better than expected”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I stayed here for just one day as it was cheap and close to the airport where I needed to be before my flight. I was pleasantly surprised at how decent it was for the price. Check in was easy. Staff were very nice. Although my room was a bit dated looking, everything was clean and in good condition. The beds were comfortable and there was sufficient storage and space for 2 people. The room had your basics, including a mini fridge. No AC but the ceiling fan and the trade winds provided enough ventilation. They also had beach mats and a couple of chairs that guests could borrow which were nice pluses!

The location is again, really close to the airport and a short driving distance to Kalapaki beach - a pretty good beach and small restaurants and shops. The only downside to this place is I could hear roosters all day which sadly is enough of a reason for me to not stay here again (unless they're able to equip the motel with soundproof windows!).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILMF2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    124
    64
    22
    16
See reviews for
46
153
47
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

First the pluses....good location, nice Hawaiian style, nice desk clerk, good shower and fine water pressure, refrigerator, microwave in lobby, phone in lobby, shampoo and moisturizing lotion, decent TV set and lots of stations, and decent bed. The negatives were lobby computer not working despite still being listed on website as being operational...hair dryer also mentioned on site but no hair dryer either. The worst thing by far are the chickens and roosters that seem to have taken over Kauai and apparently the island powers are doing NOTHING. Funny how other states control populations when critters get out of hand (LA and FL with alligators, crocodiles), (CN with deer), ID and WY with wolves). Time to bring in the ghost of Colonel Sanders and 11 herbs and spices and CONTROL the population of wild roosters and chickens. Oh, and BTW, these roosters don't just crow at sunrise...2 consecutive mornings, they were making noise at 4:15 AM...well before sunrise.

Room Tip: Turn on air conditioner to help with wildlife noise and probably some earplugs wouldn't hurt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank tfberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel isn't located in a scenic area, but it's convenient because it's a short drive to the airport. The staff were friendly and very helpful. We checked out of the hotel to camp along the Napali Coast for a few days and they kept our extra luggage in storage even though we weren't returning to stay at the hotel afterwards. Our room was tiny and basic, but our bed was comfortable. Our bathroom was old and the water from the shower leaked a bit onto the floor. I would stay here again if I needed a cheap place to stay near the airport.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KareAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My girlfriend and I just stayed here this past weekend (3/15-3/17) for a really quick trip to Kauai. We were only going to be in town to audition for a film and had to book our trip pretty last minute.

We needed a place close to the airport and the Kauai community college. The service here is very very polite and peaceful. They're also very conscientious and aware of when their guests are coming in and out. One evening we got back late and there was no parking but the front desk lady ran out to tell us she would move her car to let us have her spot. How nice! :)

They have free WiFi and morning coffee.

We stayed in Room 11. The place is extremely small and could probably use an additional mirror in the main bedroom area but other than that it was fine. It's really clean and you have all your basic needs. There is no blowdryer in the room but if you ask the front desk, they will have one for you to use. We weren't planning on staying in the hotel all day long since we'd be out so we didn't require a super fancy hotel.

Thanks for a comfortable trip!

P.S. If you're a light sleeper, you will probably hate the roosters that are randomly crowing at all odd hours of the day. There's nothing you can do about them since they're ALL OVER the island. It didn't bother me but my girlfriend hated the roosters.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LLLandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay while exploring the rest of the southern parts of Kauai
The rooms are very clean and really what does one expect for 79.00 beds are comfortable and bathroom are very clean there is great water pressure and lots of hot water.
The main contact at the hotel Mokihana is a super lady and made our stay welcoming
Anyone who complains about this place for the price are nuts It is worth the visit .Also lots of great restaurants in the area within walking distance.Yes chickens are part of the island experience deal with it,
If you want a more upscale hotel dont stay here but be prepared to pay 300 plus in other areas in the south end.
This place is a bargin

Room Tip: basic room king bed great modern bathroom #18
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellflower, CA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We booked this hotel last-minute at maybe 8 or 9pm after missing the last inter-island flight to Oahu. The staff was friendly, the price was reasonable, and the room was clean. The room we booked was just for 2. The bathroom was small but it wasn't too bad. I didn't sleep well due to the (wild?) roosters making noise all night, but that's not the hotel's fault. Our taxi drive up from the airport was scary as there were no street lights and the hotel is wedged between a residential area, but we were pleasantly surprised at the gorgeous view of Kauai in the morning. And the roosters, of course.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
1.1 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
791 reviews
6.1 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
559 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#6 of 11 in Lihue
369 reviews
6.1 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
8.1 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#3 of 11 in Kapaa
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Palms Hotel

Property: Kauai Palms Hotel
Address: 2931 Kalena St, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kauai Palms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Lihue, gateway of the Garden Island, the Kauai Palms Hotel offers affordability and stylish comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Kauai Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Palms Motel
Kauai Palms Hotel HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing