We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sufficient for your Basic Needs :)”
Review of Kauai Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kauai Palms Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My girlfriend and I just stayed here this past weekend (3/15-3/17) for a really quick trip to Kauai. We were only going to be in town to audition for a film and had to book our trip pretty last minute.

We needed a place close to the airport and the Kauai community college. The service here is very very polite and peaceful. They're also very conscientious and aware of when their guests are coming in and out. One evening we got back late and there was no parking but the front desk lady ran out to tell us she would move her car to let us have her spot. How nice! :)

They have free WiFi and morning coffee.

We stayed in Room 11. The place is extremely small and could probably use an additional mirror in the main bedroom area but other than that it was fine. It's really clean and you have all your basic needs. There is no blowdryer in the room but if you ask the front desk, they will have one for you to use. We weren't planning on staying in the hotel all day long since we'd be out so we didn't require a super fancy hotel.

Thanks for a comfortable trip!

P.S. If you're a light sleeper, you will probably hate the roosters that are randomly crowing at all odd hours of the day. There's nothing you can do about them since they're ALL OVER the island. It didn't bother me but my girlfriend hated the roosters.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LLLandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 333 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay while exploring the rest of the southern parts of Kauai
The rooms are very clean and really what does one expect for 79.00 beds are comfortable and bathroom are very clean there is great water pressure and lots of hot water.
The main contact at the hotel Mokihana is a super lady and made our stay welcoming
Anyone who complains about this place for the price are nuts It is worth the visit .Also lots of great restaurants in the area within walking distance.Yes chickens are part of the island experience deal with it,
If you want a more upscale hotel dont stay here but be prepared to pay 300 plus in other areas in the south end.
This place is a bargin

Room Tip: basic room king bed great modern bathroom #18
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We booked this hotel last-minute at maybe 8 or 9pm after missing the last inter-island flight to Oahu. The staff was friendly, the price was reasonable, and the room was clean. The room we booked was just for 2. The bathroom was small but it wasn't too bad. I didn't sleep well due to the (wild?) roosters making noise all night, but that's not the hotel's fault. Our taxi drive up from the airport was scary as there were no street lights and the hotel is wedged between a residential area, but we were pleasantly surprised at the gorgeous view of Kauai in the morning. And the roosters, of course.

1  Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Unlike other reviewers, we had a large room and a large bathroom with tub (room 23). Strangely, there were 3 beds (for two people!) and a table with four chairs, plus a full kitchen - but the chairs were wooden and uncomfortable, and there was no couch or comfortable place to sit. We were able to borrow a hairdryer from the office; as others have said, they were great, but not available over night. No breakfast, so-so coffee, but we could make our own. It was cheap ($105 per night) so relatively good value. No view, and in an industrial area. We were visiting friends, so we were out a lot, so it worked pretty well for us, except for the long flight of stairs to the room, which were hard for an arthritic person like me.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We weren't sure when we first drove up but upon closer inspection this hotel was very nice and clean. Older style and smaller rooms but perfect if your planning on actually seeing Kauai and not sitting around a hotel all day- not to mention the manager (I'm guessing) was incredibly helpful and VERY friendly! Felt like we were guests in her home! I would recommend if you are not in to the frills of a fancy resort but instead a nice clean modest place to stay while exploring the island

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bbliss318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Ours was room #7.....small room and an older hotel, but relatively clean. No breakfast. Coffee only. Only one person in the bathroom at a time..small. However, the manager and her suggestions kind of made our visit in Kauai. She was delightful!!!! Can't beat the price, for sure. Bring your own hair dryer, though....there was none. I asked, specifically, for the back side, which I had heard were bigger rooms. However, we checked in early, so I opted for the one she gave us. Air conditioners look to be about 25 years old, but work and there is a fan in the ceiling. Be prepared for the air conditioner to sound like a mac truck, however. Would we stay here again? Maybe....although my normal hotel is at least a 4 star, so this was a bit below my normal standards. I would insist next time on being on the back side in a larger room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArlaFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Nice basic hotel. The rooms are small, but very clean and nicely decorated. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Good location. Free Wi-Fi. There is a luggage storage room if you need to check out before your flight time.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Candhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
6.1 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#9 of 11 in Kapaa
96 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,422 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#7 of 11 in Lihue
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Garden Island Inn Hotel
8.1 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#2 of 11 in Kapaa
380 reviews
6.4 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Palms Hotel

Address: 2931 Kalena St, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: $96 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kauai Palms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Lihue, gateway of the Garden Island, the Kauai Palms Hotel offers affordability and stylish comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kauai Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Palms Motel
Kauai Palms Hotel HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing