We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great little hotel, right price and everything you need!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kauai Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kauai Palms Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great little hotel, right price and everything you need!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here the first night we arrived. It is great because it is near the airport if you don't want to drive far after arriving. Also why pay for a night at a more expensive place if your just gunna sleep and leave to go explore the island early? It is in a quite corner of town with a view of some beautiful mountains. We payed for a premium room which meant it had A/C. A/C is always a must for my wife. The room looked like it had been recently renovated. It was small but very nice. It had everything we needed and was literally 8 steps from the parking lot. And did I mention this is one of the cheapest hotels on the island? Also we forgot our passports in the room after checking out and and they were incredibly helpful in contacting us and arranging for us to pick them up.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chad2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    103
    59
    22
    15
See reviews for
41
133
42
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goldsboro
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at the Palms for two nights 10/17 – 10/18 because of a late night flight and we could not check into our resort until 10/19. It was a great choice close to the airport, friendly accommodating staff, and clean room. It was also convent for what we wanted to do for our 1st two days, explore the west and south shores.
The rooms are basic we had one with a small kitchenette and AC but without a telephone, room 23.
It was quit during most of the night did get the rosters crowing early in the morning, but we spend a lot of time in the Philippines so this was nothing new. I like the location, the staff and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dh27534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
131 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Rated excellent based on value, friendly and helpful staff and cozy, clean rooms. This is a small quaint and charming hotel with natural wake-up calls provided by local roosters. The staff couldn't be more helpful in providing restaurant recommendations and directions. The hotel has few amenities but if you're looking for a reasonable place to sleep, shower and have a wonderful cup of coffee in the morning, this is it. Close to the airport in a residential area.

Room Tip: I would stay in any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

No frills but very clean and comfortable. The folks at front desk are super nice!
Very clise to the airport. This a perfect place if you dont care for luxury but dont want to sucrifice cleaniness. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Ilya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the first night of our honeymoon since our rental home was not available until the second night of our trip. We wanted something convenient and inexpensive since it was only for one night. It was super easy to find and check into after a long day of traveling, and having the little kitchenette area gave us lots of room to store/organize our bags. We went down to the beachfront area by the Marriott Lihue and ate dinner at one of the restaurants. We heard some noise from the room next door, and the bathroom was quite small, but the bed was comfortable, and it was everything we needed for one night. Definitely recommend booking a room with A/C!

Room Tip: There are detailed room descriptions on their website that tell which rooms have A/C, kitchenettes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canusatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This little hotel is awesome, run by local people with great service and hospitality. If you're the type of tourist who likes to see the local culture, this is your place. There are a couple of really great restaurants close by that are filled with local Hawaians. We stayed 10 days, and you can't beat the price. One day at lunch the entire staff had gathered for a birthday cake for a staff member. Everyone looked so happy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murugan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani, Hawaii
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel for the following reasons:
- be close to the airport
- on a tight budget
- comfortable bed to sleep in
- able to cook some of your meals
- park close to your room
- helpful staff

then this hotel will meet your needs.

If you are looking for anything more then you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Get the bigger room with the A/C and kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
1.1 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#6 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
6.1 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
6.1 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Palms Hotel

Property: Kauai Palms Hotel
Address: 2931 Kalena St, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kauai Palms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Lihue, gateway of the Garden Island, the Kauai Palms Hotel offers affordability and stylish comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Kauai Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Palms Motel
Kauai Palms Hotel HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing