We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean and comfortable”
Review of Kauai Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kauai Palms Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Lihue
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Clean and comfortable”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

No frills but very clean and comfortable. The folks at front desk are super nice!
Very clise to the airport. This a perfect place if you dont care for luxury but dont want to sucrifice cleaniness. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Ilya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    123
    64
    22
    16
See reviews for
45
153
47
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the first night of our honeymoon since our rental home was not available until the second night of our trip. We wanted something convenient and inexpensive since it was only for one night. It was super easy to find and check into after a long day of traveling, and having the little kitchenette area gave us lots of room to store/organize our bags. We went down to the beachfront area by the Marriott Lihue and ate dinner at one of the restaurants. We heard some noise from the room next door, and the bathroom was quite small, but the bed was comfortable, and it was everything we needed for one night. Definitely recommend booking a room with A/C!

Room Tip: There are detailed room descriptions on their website that tell which rooms have A/C, kitchenettes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canusatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This little hotel is awesome, run by local people with great service and hospitality. If you're the type of tourist who likes to see the local culture, this is your place. There are a couple of really great restaurants close by that are filled with local Hawaians. We stayed 10 days, and you can't beat the price. One day at lunch the entire staff had gathered for a birthday cake for a staff member. Everyone looked so happy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murugan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel for the following reasons:
- be close to the airport
- on a tight budget
- comfortable bed to sleep in
- able to cook some of your meals
- park close to your room
- helpful staff

then this hotel will meet your needs.

If you are looking for anything more then you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Get the bigger room with the A/C and kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

....to writing this up as a tripadvisor FAIL on our arrival from the airport. However, after settling in and getting a good nights sleep, I've re-evaluated. Considering the economic value, the (mostly) sweet ladies at the desk and the fact that the purpose of our short stay (to transition into our homeaway the next day) was satisfactorily met.....I've given an 'average' rating. The Palms met our basic minimum needs for the night--but nothing more.

Yes they serve coffee in the morning.....roosters wake you up at 5:30/6:00....coffee service starts at 7:30....the morning lady was semi-rude to my wife when she tried to get some before that magic 7:30 opening bell.....we just walked to Dani's and had our coffee there.

We considered cancelling our reservation to use the Palms as our last night/early flight transition stop, but it wasn't to the point where making that effort while on vacation was worthwhile. Since our flight out was before 7:30--we just planned on picking up our coffee on the way to the airport!


I browsed the photos and they seem to show mostly the larger rooms. I've added two that show the small rooms. The shower is behind the bathroom door and is just big enough for an average size 6' man to be able to turn around in without too much shoulder bumping. Be warned of the toilet! If you are that average guy...your knees may bump the wall and you will need to watch your dangle to prevent a gross-out dip into the absurdly high water!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cynoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night in August, 2013. The best thing I can say about it was that it was near the airport. We thought it might be an interesting, local kind of place to stay. Not! The second best thing I can say about it: it was clean. But it was old, the a/c was noisy, the clientele was on the skivey side. It looked like the kind of place the local government would place formerly homeless people. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms. Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kauaichelle, General Manager at Kauai Palms Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Aloha,
I am sorry to hear your stay was not pleasant.
True, this is an older hotel but it is constantly being maintained and renovated to provide the guest's with the amenities that would make their stay comfortable.
It is my goal to provide a clean, safe and affordable accommodation to all who visit here.
I am pleased to have guest's from Europe, Japan, Australia and even locally. Visitors come from all over the world.
I do hope you enjoyed Kauai and it's beauty and you will someday come back to visit the island.
Thank you for letting me know of your concerns with the hotel. Every comment helps me to provide better service.
Mahalo,
Maria Lau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

As others have mentioned, this is a very basic, very simple motel. Think of a dated 1 star motel, and that's about right. If you are not picky and cost is your primary decision criteria, this place is the way to go. There are very few places on the island that you can get a room for less than $100, this is one of those few.

They offer rooms both with and without A/C, the ones without are about $10 cheaper.

The room was basic, but clean. The bathroom was the same.

If you have any issues with noise, you probably do not want to stay here. The walls seem to be made of tissue paper, and sound carries very easily through them. There are also enough roosters in the immediate vicinity (I had one walk right past my door on the 2nd floor) that there is a fair amount of rooster crowing. Bring earplugs if you are noise sensitive and still want to stay here.

Positives:
1. Inexpensive. Rooms for under $100.
2. Excellent location in downtown Lihue, very close to the airport.
3. Clean.
4. WIFI worked great, even with a somewhat weak signal.

Negatives:
1. Lots of noise from other guests and roosters due to flimsy walls and windows.
2. Almost everything in the room is dated. The twin beds were roller beds and not very good quality, although I did sleep just fine.

Overall, this is a fine place to stay if you are OK with noise from other units and roosters and want to save some money by choosing one of the least expensive options. I do strongly suggest bringing earplugs unless you are a very sound sleeper.

Room Tip: If you are heat sensitive, pay the extra $10 and get a room with A/C. Definitely get a higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shark_lassoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
1.1 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
782 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#6 of 11 in Lihue
367 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
549 reviews
6.1 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
6.4 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Palms Hotel

Property: Kauai Palms Hotel
Address: 2931 Kalena St, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kauai Palms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Lihue, gateway of the Garden Island, the Kauai Palms Hotel offers affordability and stylish comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Kauai Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Palms Motel
Kauai Palms Hotel HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing