We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic, for a short stay”
Review of Kauai Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kauai Palms Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very basic, for a short stay”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is very basic but it is clean. The room is very small. If you travel alone, that's fine but otherwise, it may be an issue. If you want air condition in your room, you need to get an upgraded room which we did but we thought that they would give us a room on the upper floor but the upgrade is for the air condition. You get what you pay for: a basic small room (but the shower worked very well in our room). And yes, the roosters wake you up early every morning!! I have to say that I agree with the other reviewers, the service is fine. The woman gave us very good tips for eating (Nawiliwili Bay). The restaurants around are not interesting.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for the rooms with the air condition if you absolutely need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marienat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    123
    64
    22
    16
See reviews for
45
152
47
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I'm a pilot for a living so i'm very familar with numerous hotels and their pros and cons. This is a low cost hotel, think Motel 6 or similar. Having said that, it's clean, charming and the customer service is very good. People are friendly, laid back and helpful. There's a parking area on the "inside" lot which I recommend. If your plan is to explore the island and go to the hotel for sleep, shower and basic necessities this is a great deal. If you're planning on staying at your hotel most of your stay in Kauaii I'd say look for a resort style hotel with a nice pool, bar, etc. It'll cost you much more though. Overall a 4 out of 5 simply because the amenities are somewhat dated, still clean and reliable though so this is a good deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank goodBADorUGLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maunaloa, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

No beach, No pool, No frills. Small room. Small price. Clean and friendly. This small hotel is located near the city center. 5 minutes from the airport. Try the fresh Kaua'i coffee brewed every morning. This is where the locals stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Born2travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Good base hotel not far from the airport. You can even walk (some 30 min) from the terminal. Free coffee in the morning, basic clean rooms, could get noisy in the morning. Its ok place for a short stay, for longer stays if you have car consider some of the private accommodation on the island (I user afterwards a different place for 2/3 of this hotel price and 3xnicer). Would stay again if needed.

Helpful?
1 Thank x_____Honza_____x
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tacoma, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The rooms were clean and the area was quiet. Try to go on priceline to get the lowest price you can because it is worth about that. There is a great asian resturant two blocks away that is real reasonable. I was there for two nights until my condo was ready and I was traveling solo so it was OK. Heck you are in Hawaii and why would you want to hand in the room !

Room Tip: Pay a little more and go up the the Aston Ocean up the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TacomaSquattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My SO and I stayed there for one night after a late flight arrival into Lihue, because it was close to the airport. This place is more of a motel than a hotel. The area around the hotel did not look safe especially arriving after 10:p.m. at night. However it turned out to be OK under the daylight the next day.

Fortunately we only had to stay there one night. We could not imagine spending a week in this motel. The room was small. No telephone, clock radio, clothes drawers, extremely small closet for hanging clothes, extra small bath/toilet. We left about 7:30 the next morning and so only spent about 8 hours there - mainly to rest our heads from a long flight.

On the plus side, the room was clean, did not have any unpleasant smell, staff was friendly, bed was comfortable, and most of all - the price was right. These pluses mean that I would probably stay there again only because of the price and for no more than one night just to rest my head after a long flight, if my chosen accomodations are for example on the north shore which is at least 45 minutes driving time from the airport. After flying for over 10 hours from the east coast, such a drive is not one you want to do.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CeliaPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

For 8 nights, we enjoyed the wonderful hospitality of Millie, Mokihana, and staff at the Kauai Palms Hotel. Our room 23 had a king size bed, small kitchen with sink, ref., microwave, dishes, pots, pans, and silverware. it had a ceiling fan and a window AC. Originally, the hotel had rented our reserved room 25 but were quick to offer room 23, which was a great alternative, also on the 2nd floor. The next day, we had a beautiful tropical flower arrangement in our room. The hotel has beach mats, snorkel gear, sunscreen, beach chairs, small surf boards, etc. for loan. Upon returning from our day's activities, most always either Mokihana, Millie, or another staff member would ask how we enjoyed the day - true Aloha is practiced at the Kauai Palms Hotel. The laundry facilities and wifi worked flawlessly. While we enjoyed the cool breezes and the rustling palm trees at night, sometimes we had to use the AC because of the roosters (3am wake up call), the late planes taking off at the airport 2 miles away, or the trucks backing up (beep, beep). It all added to the atmosphere and we had the option of fresh air or AC.

Room Tip: Room 23 is a good room because it is somewhat isolated, freshly painted, clean, and has all the amen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryH9905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
1.1 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
778 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#6 of 11 in Lihue
366 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
547 reviews
6.1 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
6.4 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Palms Hotel

Property: Kauai Palms Hotel
Address: 2931 Kalena St, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kauai Palms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Lihue, gateway of the Garden Island, the Kauai Palms Hotel offers affordability and stylish comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Kauai Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Palms Motel
Kauai Palms Hotel HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing