We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean - Cheap - Comfortable & Friendly... AND Well Located!”
Review of Kauai Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kauai Palms Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Clean - Cheap - Comfortable & Friendly... AND Well Located!”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Clean - Cheap - Comfortable & Friendly... AND Well Located! These are the words I use to describe the Kauai Palms Hotel (really it's a motel) In Lihue, Kaua'i.

Two comfortable twin beds, a small fridge, sink & microwave for the "kitchenette" , adequate lighting, immaculate snowy white towels in the dated but very clean bathroom with plenty of hot water in the shower.
The unit had A/C and a ceiling fan which when used together kept the room temperature perfectly comfortable.

We arrived around 8PM and the desk ckerk, Desiree was very helpful with directions to the stores, etc. Although the remote didn't work, the TV worked manually and in the AM I was available to swap out the remote with absolutely no problem.

There is Wi Fi and free coffee & muffins in the lobby in the mornings and a coin op. washer & dryer also available near the ice machine.

A small table & a couple of comfy chairs on the patio were available for our "happy hour". Sure - it's not much, a couple of potted palms & flowering plants but the cats and chickens wandering around were entertaining.

All in all I would say you cannot go wrong if you use the Kaua'i Palms Hotel as a jumping off point for the beginning of your visit to Kauai (Wal Mart & Costco are nearby) or as a regroup point before an early departure. (The airport is only 10 minutes away) Or if you have some Lihue located "must see" on your itinerary. Rice St. is around the corner and the Kauai Museum is about 1/2 mile.

We stayed two nights and that gave us a chance to explore the area, stock up for the camping portion of our trip and have an easy jaunt to our early morning helicopter ride.

Be sure to pop around the corner (literally) to the Hamura Saimin Noodle place on Kress St..

I give the Kauai Palms Hotel two thumbs up for best of category: Budget Accommodations.

Room Tip: ground floor made for easy access with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LowellBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    117
    63
    22
    17
See reviews for
44
147
47
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Purcellville, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We arrived a day before our rental house was available. We just needed a place just to sleep. I booked the rooms online and when we showed up, I was a little concerned. The hotel is located just off the main road and is in between a lot of commercial businesses. Friendly check-in and we were given keys to our rooms. For $70/bucks we get a room with a bed and a clean bathroom. I did not expect a 5-star hotel, I only paid 70 bucks for the night. But I got shampoo, lotion, cable TV and muffins and coffee in the morning which is more than I expected. Make no mistake it is a motel, rooms open to the outside. But every room has A/C and it clean and comfortable. I was impressed. I wouldn't want to stay here for a week but for one or two nights, its great!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travlnchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Price was extremely reasonable, location was ideal, bed was comfortable and staff friendly. It reminded me of Key West. They have cats (Princess and KP). We are cat lovers and therefore we could get our "cat fix" in the morning before we left to explore the most beautiful spot on earth, and then again when we returned.

Room Tip: First floor had easy entrance from the parking lot. Backside had great view of mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lbelliveau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We spent 10 days in Kauai in August with a friend. The initial plan was to travel around the Island and change of hotel every 2-3 days. But as the Island is so small and this hotel so convenient and well located, we decided to stay there until the end. The rooms are simple but clean and comfortable. Ron, the Manager is a wonderful person who loves and knows this island very well. He will give you advices and help you plan you day as you eat your muffin and drink your cup of coffee...with a lot of patience and kindness.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
130 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Needed a place to stay near the Lihue airport before driving to the north shore to meet friends who had rented a condo there, so did not want to pay a lot as we would only be there overnight.

Booking over the Internet was easy, and my questions about storing bags if necessary were answered promptly and courteously. We arrived around 9:00 pm and were pleased to see that there was still someone at the front desk, although we were a little surprised at the location, and particularly the amount of chain link fencing in the area. Arriving at night anywhere can be a little disconcerting.

We decided to leave the nearby Saiman noodle restaurant for our return to the airport a week later (big mistake as it was closed for renovation) and found our way through the alley and past the Salvation Army Thrift shop (I've never seen such a big one) to Rob's Good Time Bar. Despite having big bouncers on the door and about 15 TVs, the staff were great and the wine surprisingly good.

The room, with little kitchenette, was very small and just off the lobby area. Good sized bed, although a little soft for our preference, but not enough room for bedside lamps or tables. Little coffee maker in the kitchen area, which was reasonably well equipped, although we didn't need to use it. TV on a wall swivel so it could be watched from the bedroom area or the kitchen area. Seemed to have lots of cable channels. No real hanging space for clothes as the TV and a table were in front of the little closet. Bathroom of a reasonable size with one of those moulded plastic shower stalls (better than grout attracting tile!). Soap, shampoo and lotion provided and towels were decent.

We did not have the coffee or muffins next morning, but had breakfast in the BBQ restaurant up the street. Had a great Hawaiian omelette, served with gravy. Sounded odd, but worked well.

The little interaction we had with the employees during our stay was cheerful and pleasant, although we did not get to meet Ron, who apparently owns the place.

I never stay in big resort hotels and much prefer smaller, more individual hotels and B&Bs, whatever country we are in. However, this was a bit too basic for our liking. Although everything was clean and the staff were pleasant, I would have preferred a little more garden and a little less chain link around the place. The neighbourhood looked as if it could be a bit dicey, particularly when I passed the two bearded guys enjoying a brown bag drink together when I went for a run in the morning.

Would I stay here again? Probably not. Would I recommend it? I would to the right people - on a budget and preferably young.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marleydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We booked this hotel for our time on Kauai.
We did not expect so much for that price but everything was perfect. We were satisfied.
Recommendable for people who want to explore this beautiful island.

clean and comfortable rooms
free muffins and coffee for breakfast
free internet
friendly staff
Sat TV

and last but not least: two cute cats

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maximilian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

The room was small, but not tiny, and there were just as many bugs as you'll find ANYWHERE in Hawaii, so if you're reading other people's posts about bugs... well, get used to it, it's Hawaii, people, Hawaii!

The place was actually quite clean and well kept. The AC is a must in Lihue, so make sure you get a room with an AC unit.

If you have a big allergy to cats, I'd stay away. Although they never enter the rooms, there were 2 cats that hung around the open-style foyer.

What I really want to comment on is the people. The service staff was nice and friendly, but the owner, Ron, blew my socks off. He's the nicest man you'll ever meet, ever. And he's FULL of interesting lore and advice on visiting the area. He was very helpful and just generally a wonderful man.

Free muffins and coffee in the morning was WONDERFUL. All in all, extremely well priced for such a place. 2 thumbs up!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
1.1 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,244 reviews
6.1 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#6 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
6.1 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
6.4 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Palms Hotel

Property: Kauai Palms Hotel
Address: 2931 Kalena St, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kauai Palms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Lihue, gateway of the Garden Island, the Kauai Palms Hotel offers affordability and stylish comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Kauai Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Palms Motel
Kauai Palms Hotel HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing