We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never stay here again!”
Review of Kauai Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kauai Palms Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Would never stay here again!”
Reviewed December 26, 2007

We decided to stay here for a night since it is close to the airport and we were not arriving into Kauai until late. The room was dirty --- carpet covered in dirt and stains, and so were the sheets. We barely had room for two people to move around and the shower was so disgusting I just waited to shower at our next accomodations. To make the whole experience even worse, we woke up to the sounds of our neighbor being 'sick' and with the walls as thin as they were, we could hear everything and checked out as soon as we could get dressed.

We stayed at a charming inn the next night that ended up being about $25 more. I would have paid at least $100 to stay somewhere else!!! You can definitely find a much better budget priced lodging if you look around.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    124
    64
    22
    16
See reviews for
46
153
47
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2007

This is not a place that I would recommend to my friends...Room was very,very small. So much noise in the daytime as well as the night. No air conditioning very hot and muggy....Every morning their was a rooster crowing out side the window....The linen itself was clean looking till I pulled back the sheet and found a fairly large yellow stain....Had to wait till morning to ask for sheets to be changed...Coffe pot had not been cleaned something stuck in the bottom of pot had to scrub it myself...
What was more suprising is that the housekeepers are so bold that they even leave an envelope on your bed for you to tip them "everyday". I could see if they went out of there way to do something extra to make our stay less uncomfortable yes I would tip them daily. However,it did not work out that way...I never got the towels I asked for had to get them myself......The point is if you are looking for a nice relaxing place to stay that this is not the place. Spend the extra money it will be worth it..
S.Keaweehu & C.Hawkins

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank Sibellaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Reyes, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2007

We read a good review of this hotel in Lihue and selected it for our last night in Kauai. Nothing fancy but we presumed adequate for a pleasant last night. It wasn't. The room was so small that it was claustrophobic. It was very, very, very small. The beds were hard and uncomfortable. It was horribly noisy. The acoustics were such that we heard every sound of the family next to us and it sounded like they were in the room with us. The mother screamed as did the children most of the evening and then again early the next morning. And there was also the incessant door slamming, again and again and again. The next morning there was construction ( and roosters) right next to our window.
There was no air conditioning, and we had to keep the windows open for air, what there was of it, so there was no way to keep out the sounds.
The towels had been washed but they still had hair on them.
This hotel seemed old and run down and was definitely off the beaten path, hidden on a side street in the old part of town (not picturesque). There was a hospital next door with occasional sirens. It was not anywhere near the water.
I suppose if someone is desperate it would work, but it was very uncomfortable and even a few hours in that very small space was unpleasant. I'm guessing the room was 12' x 8'.

  • Liked — parking
  • Disliked — cramped space, noisy
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank waterratMarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2007

Stayed at the Kauia Palms for about 3 days. We had a studio type room with a kitchenette for $95 bucks a day. The rooms are very nicely decorated/renovated and very clean, had a decent view of the mountains from the back. The staff was very courtious and knowledgable about good places to go on the island. The only downside is the traffic noise during the day and evenings, for light sleepers you may need earplugs. The new owners did a great job. Overall it is a very nice clean and friendly place to stay.

  • Liked — Clean and Affordable
  • Disliked — Traffic noise
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank billybop90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2007

We stayed at the Kauai Palms Hotel for about a week. We just loved it there. The staff were just wonderful friendly people. If you have a question about almost anything on the island they usually have the answer for it, and if they don't they're very resoucrceful in getting the answer. The Housekeepers were friendly and very polite and wouldn't knock on your door till about 10:30 am. The Hotel is a very tropical place, from the outside, to the lobby to your room. If your looking for a place to rest your head at night after a long day of sightseeing around the island this is the place. The rooms are kinda small but for the price you can't go wrong, specially if your only going to sleep and shower and then out the door again to explore the BEAUTIFUL island. And the best part about the Hotel is that it's about 5 min away from everything in every direction. Like the Airport, the Mall, K-Mart, Wal-mart, Costco, the Famous Hamura's Saimin, and about 15 other places to eat at. It's cheap, nice and, centrally located.

  • Liked — Cheap
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank wehi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2007

Needed a place near airport and hospital for a week. Easy to get to, centrally located, safe for my 4 year old and her big bro. Nice folks at desk(for once on Kauai) and good pricing. No smoking rooms are a bonus big time. They actually smell clean.

  • Liked — Price was just right
  • Disliked — smoking area too close to rooms
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank inbusiness4good2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2006

This is a very nice, clean hotel with very nice staff but it is NOISY.

I was awakened at 2:15 am by the tv in the room next to mine on at full volume on the weather report. The guest on the other side of this room had gone to get a manager and I had called the manager. Later I learned that there is no manager after 9 pm.
I called 911 because pounding on the door did not get a response. Finally, the noise subsided after I pounded really hard. Unfortunately, my loud pounding woke a guest upstairs. I spoke to the gentleman with the loud tv the next morning. He said he'd forgotten to take his insulin and it was very lucky I'd kept pounding. I woke him up and he took his insulin. I felt closure with the incident.

It was later that morning when the long-term guests got up early and started slamming doors, smoking cigarettes in the hall, and having loud conversations with the maid--on Sunday--that I lost patience.

I called the front desk and suggested that a lounge area be created away from the windows of this unairconditioned 'no smoking in the rooms' hotel.

I do plan to stay here a second night and perhaps again in the future. I hope management will consider making changes to cut down on unnecessary noise.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank YaoJin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
1.1 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
790 reviews
6.1 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
558 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#6 of 11 in Lihue
369 reviews
6.1 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
8.1 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#3 of 11 in Kapaa
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Palms Hotel

Property: Kauai Palms Hotel
Address: 2931 Kalena St, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kauai Palms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Lihue, gateway of the Garden Island, the Kauai Palms Hotel offers affordability and stylish comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Kauai Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Palms Motel
Kauai Palms Hotel HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing