We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here! Do not listen to any bad reviews of this place!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Stay here! Do not listen to any bad reviews of this place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2009

The property is beautiful and takes your breath away when you first come down the escalator!!

Fantastic location!!!

ROOM 1236....holllly cow if you can get this room, GET it!!!!!

I don't understand the people who give this place a bad review, the property grounds are unbelievable, the pool area and the columned-jacuzzis are truly eye popping and sooooo relaxing. the location is phenomenal, the staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating!! Stay here!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,208
    873
    331
    145
    84
See reviews for
659
1,359
48
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2009

Marriott hotel was nice, however, we did not get the Villa we were promised. Typical hotel room (minus the living room and kitchen). We experienced a terrible bed bug problem! I was bitten 6 times! Hotel grounds were beautiful. Walking distance to several restaurants. Dukes (our fav) on premises. Staff was friendly. Sushi bar not open when we stopped by. Hotel does not provide daily amenities (i.e. coffee, etc.) and not sure why.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jetset007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2009

We just returned from a 6 night stay at the Marriot Kauai in Lihue, Mar. 5-11 2009. Overall, had a wonderful vacation. We were a little concerned after reading some of the reviews of this hotel, but it just goes to show that some people will complain about anything. We stayed at the Marriot resort on the big island last year at this time, and also at the Marriot in Wailea, Maui a few years ago--this one may be the most beautiful, in our opinion. We are a couple in our early 30's who like outdoor activities and good food, looking to escape the dreary winter weather. Got a great deal on Orbitz, and I would highly recommend this resort to anyone.

Probably the main negative aspect of our trip for other travelers to be aware of was the weather. Keep in mind that Kauai is a rain forest island, and this time of year, weather is unpredictable. It is a beautiful island, rain or shine, but if you are going primarily for a sunny beach vacation, you may be taking a bit of a risk. According to some of the other returning guests, the weather this year has also been worse than usual. The first couple days were mostly overcast with intermittant light rain, with high temp in low 70's. It also was a bit chilly in the evenings throughout the trip, most people were layering up with sweats/long pants etc. On the 3rd day, the sun came out and it was absolutely gorgeous. Still, I think the high all week was around 75. One minute we would be sitting on a sunny beach, the next it would be overcast and rainy, then an hour or 2 later, back comes the sun. Something to keep in mind.

The south side of the island, ie Popui has a lot of resorts, and is supposedly a few degrees warmer and perhaps a bit more sunny. We went there on a couple of overcast days, and found the weather to be exactly the same.

Room/Resort: The resort itself was gorgeous. Grounds were absolutely stunning, lush, huge pool & hot tubs. Our room was updated, spacious, clean, and we felt overall nicer than at the big island last year. There was the moist, "humid" feel that most beach resort rooms seem to have, but hello it's Hawaii. We had the standard pool view, which actually turned out to be a gorgeous view off our lanai of the pool, grounds, and ocean. Upon check in, we were told that we had a ground floor room, that the hotel was completely booked up, but they hit us up to upgrade to ocean view/suite for $100-200 extra a night. When we declined but asked for a higher floor, they had no problem moving us. Don't know if it helped that we are Marriot rewards members. Incidentally, as other reviewers have noted, I doubt based upon observation that the hotel was full at all. Anyway. Bed was quite comfortable as Marriott's usually are, but my husband kept pointing out a "lump" in the middle--may need a mattress change soon.

The hotel has a huge terrace with lots of comfy seating areas to relax that overlooks the pool and ocean, breakfast & sushi bar. Absolutely stunning. Great place to relax and read a book at the end of the day.

Regular parking is mandatory charge $11/day. We didn't have a problem finding a spot.

Beach: The beach was very nice with a couple of caveats. First, it is open to the public, with a fair number of locals esp. on weekends. On the other hand, though less private, it was entertaining to see some talented surfers. On the sunny days, we had a fabulous time, spacious with both sandy and grassy areas, shade and sun, free beach chairs. Had great waves a couple days, and my husband had a great time boogy-boarding. On the down side, if you (like me) love to step out the door and walk down the beach for miles, this is not the beach for you--its probably about 1/4 mile long until it runs into rocks on one side and the pier on the other. In fact, most of the beaches that we saw on the island seem to be interrupted by rocky areas.

Pool: Spent most of our time at the beach, but the circular pool is huge, beautiful, and well designed. 4ft. all around. Several hot tub "islands" around the pool. No shortage of chairs while we were there.

Also, all you other pale-skinned people keep in mind that the UV rays are much higher here, even as compared to other islands. My husband made a bad sunscreen decision and ended up looking like a lobster.

Food: One of the nice things about this resort is that there are a fair number of food options within walking distance of reasonable (reasonable for Hawaii!) prices. We spent much less on food here than any other Hawaii trip we have taken. We ate at Dukes adjacent to the resort several times, the top floor is a pricier restraunt, ate there the 1st night for about $70 steak dinner for 2 with salad bar, alcohol, and dessert--not bad. The lower level is more casual with burgers, etc, most entrees around $10 or less. Also don't miss their famous hula pie--ice cream oreo cookie--fabulous! Both levels have great ocean views. The marina is a short 1/4 mile walk, we also ate at the Kalapaki beach hut several times, they serve breakfast and burgers, salads etc. all day long in the $6-8 range--took it over to the beach and ate on a picnic table. Bought our alcohol and snacks at the ABC store there and probably saved a bundle. Took a trip into Kapaa to eat at Scotty's beachside BBQ one night--great food and view. Brick oven pizza down south is also quite tasty. The Marriot food was okay but not great--esp. with better options. Ate their casual beach restraunt once, pretty good but pricey for what it was. ALso made the mistake of eating at their dinner restraunt one night, pricey and one of the worst ceaser salads I have had. Husband had the buffet which was average and pricey ($46/pp). Didn't try Portofino after reading all the bad reviews.

Staff: We found the staff to be extremely pleasant and helpful, though we are not high-maintenence people. Also honest--we left our rather expensive camera on the terrace one night, nowhere to be found the next morning. However, later in the day one of the the staff turned it in to lost and found to our great relief. Maid service was quite good, not enough towels when we got there but left notes a couple times for what we needed and no problem. Also they did replenish our in-room coffee daily (unlike as reported by some reviewers), coffee was pretty good but not great, bring your own if you are particular.

Hiking/outdoors: We took several great hikes--this is really a fantastic place. Probably our favorite was a shoreline like down south that started between the Hyatt and a golf course. AMazing views of the coast. Didn't make it to the state park due to weather issues but heard it was great. Probably would have done more if the weather had been better.

Shopping: Not as touristy as the other islands. There are several areas in Kapaa & Poipu to check out if interested not too far away. Pricey shops at the hotel, small shopping center at the pier with the typical beach stores.

Not much in the way of nightlife, but most days we were pretty tired anyway from all the activities.

OVerall, this was a wonderful trip, and we would highly recommend the Kauai Marriot resort to anyone .

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Tripper096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
183 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2009

A solid 4-star experience. Great, roomy guest room. Clean, comfortable, conveniently located on the island. HUGE swimming pool with five hot tubs on a very scenic beach. Several on site restaurants that were all good. Guest parking for our wing had limited spots and did prove challenging, though. Was sorry to leave. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snert41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2009

We just returned from 5 days at the Marriott. After reading several negative reviews of this property we were a little concerned. Well the Marriott put those concerns to rest. The property is older but very nice. The gardens are wonderful and the pool area and beach are very nice. This is a good central location for site seeing. We ate at Dukes several times and found the food and atmosphere outstanding. DO NOT eat at the Italian restaraunt, the food, atmosphere and service were all bad. The Beach Hut is great for burgers and fish & Chips but stay away from breakfast. The ABC Store is very close and has most of the essentials. We chose to stop at the Wal Mart in Lihue to stock up for the week. We had a garden view room in the Kahili Tower, the room was recently refurbished clean, comfortable and quiet. We found the staff most helpful very friendly and willing to help with most anything. We booked our helicopter tour thru the Hotel, it was cheaper and we received rewards points. All in all this was a great week at a wonderful place.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rgfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, mn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2009

My husband and I traveled to Kauai so he could attend a conference at this hotel. He has lived in Hawaaii before, and this was his second time on Kauai. We have traveled extensively throughout the Carribbean. Before you go to Kauai, you need to know where you are going. This is not necessarily where you should travel if you want turquoise waters and long, white sandy beaches along with hot, sunny days. Kauai is lush and lovely, mountanious and scenic, but it is not a place to go if you are expecting Maui! Read about the island before you make your selection, so you know you are headed to the right place. This is an island for adventurers who want to kayak, hike, and tool around sight seeing canyons, waterfalls, and cliffs. The weather here is rainy one hour, cloudy the next, then some sun. The surf is too rough many months of the year for swimming, and the sea water in February was too cold for most to even consider putting their feet in.
About the hotel:
Our room was new and clean, but we had people in our group who were very disappointed and had to change rooms. There was no fan in the bathroom, and the A/C needed to be on full blast, every second to keep the room cool - and it wasn't even very warm outside. The room was average - not high end by any stretch of the imagination.
The hotel has THREE washing machines and THREE dryers, located in an out-of-the-way tower - all coin-op. There were lines galore to use them, and angry people waiting. Too few machines for such a large property - almost a tease to say they have laundry facilities!
The sundries shop in the hotel has just about everything. The other shops are extremely expensive for average clothing and jewelry and art.
The pool water is not heated and it was too cold to go in during our stay. They do have hot tubs and they are warm.
The beach is pretty, protected, but quite small. All beaches are public in Hawaii, and this one is frequented by boogie boarders who take up the Marriott parking spaces which you as a guest have to pay for. You can walk back and forth on this crescent beach in less than ten minutes. There are some chaise lounge chairs but not quite enough. It is a pretty setting. I didn't see servers offering drinks to anyone on the beach - you need to walk up to the pool bar for this.
The restaurants on the property are either owned by the hotel or not. Duke's is by far the very best - not owned by the hotel. Friendly service, good food, casual. Portofino (the upscale Italian place) has rude service and marginal food. What all the hype is about that place, we couldn't figure out as everyone we knew who dined there (including us) were sorely disappointed. The pool shack is okay - not great service, acceptable food - it is just convenient. The breakfast bar in the lobby is expensive and not very exciting. We never ate at the other place - Koiku's- the lackluster menu and the buffet format wasn't appealing.
Best restaurants we ate at on the island: #1 Plantation Gardens in Poipu (NOT Gaylord's), #2: The Beach House in Poipu. Hakilau Lanai was "okay" - marginal service, good food - not the fantastic place we expected after reading and hearing about it. The other places we ate we wouldn't recommend. I heard Bar Acuda on the north shore is very good, but it is an hour+ drive back to our hotel - too far for after dinner.
Fitness Center - good A/C, acceptable equipment,. you have to pay for classes.
BEVERAGES: For $39.00 you buy a "Mahalo Mug" when you arrive. Free coffee and pop refills after that for your entire stay - it is worth it, but finding the pop and ice tea refilling areas becomes a pain and a challenge as the days wear on. Still, it is what"everyone" else does. We went to COSTCO and bought botles of whitewine and champagne to enjoy before heading to dinner each night.
Phones: Everytime I attempted to call for anything from the room, I was put on hold. There is no speaker phone, and the wait is endless and frustrating. A poor system. You can't dial anything directly - not room service, not the front desk, not housekeeping, not the concerge - it is SUCH an awkward system - it discourages you from requesting anything or asking for help! who wants to wait on hold to ask for a hanger or for a turn down service?
Housekeeping: it was okay - they were often late, we couldn't find them to ask them for a room cleaning at a conveneient time, and turn down service was VERY sketchy. I tipped $3 a day and left notes for what we needed as I couldn't stand waiting in line at the front desk or trying to call for help.
Timeshare:
This hotel sells timeshares and it shows - it has a weird feeling to it - sort of low-brow clientele and it is just disjointed. it is too bad as it is a pretty property and could have been a wonderful hotel.
Golf: Course under construction while we were there.
Runners/Walkers: virtually no paths and you can't walk on the golf course paths. Not safe alongside the road. Very unfriendly property to someone who likes to take walks or runs.
Location: A good one if you are going around with a rental car, but it isn't in a great spot as it isn't as pretty as the north shore or Poipu. I wasn't bothered by the air traffic; one cruise ship came in and that day everything was congested.
Car rental: do it at the airport. the lines were terrible at Hertz at the hotel. Our first car had cockroaches in it, which of course we discovered at 11 p.m. after dinner in Poipu, and then we had to ride in it back to the hotel - bad & gross. Also, book your rental from the mainland - they dont have many good cars to rent.

Well, hope this helped. I'd stay elsewhere unless you had a great deal to stay here. The Grand Hyatt is THE place to stay - upscale and on the right beach in Poipu...and they are rebuilding the Princeville Resort on the North Shore.
The hotel is built in a grand scale - it is a pretty property but leaves much to be desired in most areas of service and it doesn't offer many amenities one would hope for at a property whose "shell" looks so grand.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pumpkin6543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2009

First of all, I'd like to say that I read some of the previous review that trashes this hotel and I completely disagree. I have to wonder who actually has the time to write a review this discouraging and lengthy... life is way too short.

My husband and I stayed at the Marriott Kauai Resort & Beach club while we were in town for a wedding. This place is nothing short of breathtaking!! We came in at night so when the sun rose in the morning we were in awe at the view from our balcony. Mountains, ocean, pool, flowers, etc were all around us. We now understood why Hawaii is known as paradise. Our room was wonderful with a comfy bed, couch, large bathroom, and desk. It was perfect for us. The pool area was huge and it was fun getting food and drinks at the pool bar and at Duke's. The location of the hotel is perfect also, as you can walk to numerous restaurants, bars, and shops. The lobby is gorgeous with a koi pond, marble, greenery, too much to mention, actually. Thank you Marriott, you helped make our trip to Kauai a dream come true.

Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RacingGirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaua'i Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Property: Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lihue
#1 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#2 Family Hotel in Lihue
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaua'i Marriott Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Kaua'i Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kaua'i Marriott Resort Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing