We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kauai Luxury and Beautiful Beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2014

On my first trip to Hawaii, I was so happy that this was the hotel we chose-it's right in the middle of anything you want to drive to. The hotel is expansive and luxurious, but not overpriced for Hawaii. We had a great view from our 22nd floor room, a comfortable bed, wonderful linens and toiletries, and excellent room cleaning each day (sometimes they were already done before we got back from breakfast)! Loved the pool, the friendly staff, and all the gardens on the grounds. There are several nice restaurants adjacent to the property, a shopping center within walking distance for little necessities, and the beach is outstanding! Maybe the only drawback is that breakfast in the restaurant is expensive, so we chose to go off site or eat at the coffee shop after the first day. Very nice and would not hesitate to stay here again if we ever make it back to Kauai!

Room Tip: Ask for a floor high up and yes, you must have an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sherre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,162 - 1,168 of 2,809 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

We traded our time share in Las Vegas and spent a week at this resort. The reception area is not in the same area as the lobby. We used the valet service and found that worked quite well. It is a big complex though and at times we waited a few minutes. However, service was friendly and helpful. Down the escalator to the lobby and we were taken care of by friendly staff. Our 1 bedroom suite was on the second floor which is oddly numbered the 3rd floor of the Kahili building. The room has a had two large lanais and was nicely furnished. One side has a king bed, small empty fridge, bathroom, closet, TV. The other room has a couch that converts easily to a murphy bed. There is a small kitchen area that holds a microwave, small fridge, sink dishwasher, coffee maker, dishes, cutlery, glasses and a few kitchen items. This is not a place for cooking a real meal, but perfect for breakfast and lunch items, storing leftovers or snacks. Even from the '3rd' floor we could see the water and when seated on the lanai the view was nice, of foliage and walkways. The bed was very comfortable. The valet entrance is on the 5th floor, the lobby on the ground floor. So, a little bit of figuring out, but no matter...it is all beautiful. The buildings surround an interior courtyard filled with beautiful plants, flowers, birds, water features and koi. The 9:00 am koi feeding is a site to see, so try and take that in. Everyone can get in on it as they leave little dishes of food for guests to scatter into the water. The lounge areas are spacious, uncrowded and a nice place for families or groups to gather; it is also nice for those seeking a quiet spot to read or catch up on emails. (But don't do that!!!). The lounge area mezzanine looks over the fabulous, vegas style pool. I thought of Caesar's Palace. It is very large, very accessible and there are also 5 spas surrounding the pool It was never crowded. There are a lot of lounge chairs around the pool and also on the grassy area between the pool and the beach. The grassy area is a wonderful place to lounge in some shade and take in the beach view. Kalapaki Beach is beautiful. The Marriott has some great dining options too. We ate at the poolside restaurant and also at Duke's. There are lots of beach activities available and it is an active beach, lots to watch. It is not crowded at all though. This was one great trade for us and I hope we can repeat it. We had so much fun here with our early 20's kids, but it would be great for all ages. On sunny days you cannot beat this!

Room Tip: Kahili building is close to pool and amenities. A room higher that 3 would provide better water view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bctovegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

My wife and I chose the Marriott for our honeymoon. The hotel conveniently located less than 10 minutes from the airport and near the beautiful beaches of Poipu. Upon arriving at the hotel, we were happily surprised by the beautiful landscaping, large/clean pool, and walking access to the beach. The pool towel service was convenient and informed us that we could take their towels off-site. As this was our first trip to Kauai, we decided to spend 6 nights with a pool view in Lihue. Our room was clean and spacious. The house keeping service was prompt, thorough, and friendly.

However, we cannot say the same for their customer service. During the fourth night, around 10pm, the air conditioning in our room began to ring loudly and Marriott’s engineering asked us to move rooms. We moved to the end of the hall were our room did not shield of any noises, and a building defect caused loud banging sounds every morning (from 6am-8am). After a couple nights of attempting to rough it, we kindly requested to change rooms (even offering to surrender our pool view for a standard room). We were instructed that it was not possible. We were extremely disappointed in the front desk’s concern of our inability to sleep, and insulted by their small $25 credit (we paid approx. $300 / night). The following morning, out of frustration for being woken at 6am, I called to complain to the manager who credited $75 more.

Overall, Kauai is a beautiful island and Marriott has a nice hotel, however be cautioned that they won’t put the customer first and if you’re unhappy they’ll likely look the other direction.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James_Leila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc W, Manager at Kaua'i Marriott Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Aloha!
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your visit. I apologize that you experienced a less than acceptable response with regards to your room location. I would be delighted to speak with you directly about your concerns. I can be reached directly at 808-246-5178. I look forward to talking to you! Mahalo! Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Easy access from airport to hotel via shuttle. Hotel grounds are beautiful with activities such as koi fish you can feed and lei making. Nice set up with a terrace with lots of seating perched up above the pool. Hotel gift shop is expansive with basics and souvenirs. Drinks are expensive - almost $10 for a coffee, recommend buying the hotel mug for $40 and refill as you need. Rooms are bigger than average with a chaise lounger and bathroom is bigger too with lots of shelves. No separate door for the toilet and the door for the bathroom is a sliding door, not the best privacy. Best part is the pool that is shaped like a large flower, with spraying sculptures and a bridge to go under. The pool is not heated and rather chilly. Five hot tubs surround the pool under the terrace. Beach isn't what you'd expect for Hawaii, rather short and not as clear blue as you'd expect. Lots of boats going back and forth as it is the main port. Beach/pool bar closes early so no late night drinks by the water. Nice short path that leads to other hotel restaurants. Further down and you will reach a local strip mall with restaurants - we tried one and it wasn't very good. Dukes is the best option.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Tammy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Its a nice resort for a family vacation. The pool is huge and wonderful. There are no life guards though so you have to keep an eye on the kids all the time. Food is pricey. The beach was nice. The common areas are spacious and green. The rooms are good and its hard to believe that this property is more than 30 years old. Parking close by the hotel is very difficult as the parking does not seem exclusive to hotel guests. Everybody who wants to use the beach park on the hotel property. I wish they would give parking tags to guests to solve this problem. Overall I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our family of 4 recently visited the Marriott Kauai - great experience overall. All the facilities you could possibly need (restaurants, fitness, activities, beach). In particular, we loved the beach - for our kids (9 & 11), this was perfect in that it had enough waves to make it interesting but not so much to be dangerous. I can't say that about all beaches in Kauai. Room was nothing special(circa 1980's) - but was clean and had what we needed. Good walking distance to restaurants, equipment rental, shops, etc. Nice activities like fish feeding, and hula lessons. Mild irritation was the $30 resort fee (per night) charged by Marriott - how is this not simply added into the daily rate if nearly everyone has to pay this?

Tip - you can save a lot of money by simply making a quick run to nearby Costco so you can make your own coffee and bagels rather than paying $15 per person for breakfast each day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 682TomK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We regretted choosing this hotel. There were positives - the pool was very large, there is direct access to a safe beach, towel service and cleanliness around the pool was good and transfer from airport was less than 10mins. The hotel's communal areas are pretty and well kept, spacious and inviting. Sadly the rest of the hotel failed miserably. Corridors to rooms are dated and in need of renovations. Net curtains on windows are filthy. Rooms are basic, cleans are hit and miss and room service terrible. Food and service at the hotel was VERY disappointing. Staff at the resort restaurant, Kukui's are so rude. Plain and simple. Breakfast was basic and rushed, no eye contact - in and out appears to be the mantra. The front of house lady should not be in the service industry. Awful lady. Awful service. Steer clear. But if you chose the Marriott - there's not a lot else to offer you. And that's the problem, and perhaps our mistake, but think carefully before you book. It's a corporate bubble. No Hawaiian welcome, helpfulness and positive attitude other areas on the island offer. Nobody knows who you are or cares. Not even the person who serves you EVERY day because it's a turnover hotel to the masses that fails on customer service every day. Once you leave the resort you will see better beaches, better restaurants and a service that will far out weigh anything you will get here. If you are debating between here and Poipou chose Poipou. Every time. Or the north shore. Or east. Not Lihue. Not the Marriott. And if the manger choses to leave me a reply inviting me to contact him to discuss my dissatisfaction I would suggest he/she puts more effort in while clients are present. The opportunities were there...

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank StormLoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc W, Manager at Kaua'i Marriott Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Aloha!
Thank you so much for your comments about yoru recent visit to the Kauai Marriott Resort. I am sorry that your stay with us was less than spectacular. We are determined to accurately rememdy your concerns as well as take care of our present and future guests. I would love the opportunity to talk to you in greater detail about your experience. Please contact me at marc.walz@marriott.com or call me directly at (808) 246-5178. I look forward to hearing from you! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaua'i Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lihue
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#1 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#2 Family Hotel in Lihue
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: $252 - $611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaua'i Marriott Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Kaua'i Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kaua'i Marriott Resort Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing