We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Lihue, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Feels like home!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Growing up on kauai, this hotel has been my "stomping grounds" since I was a child. The staff is always friendly and the pool is amazing. I love kalapaki beach & all the water activities the hotel offers. The food is good. The brunch is yummy and the whole atmosphere is relaxing. The girls at the alexander's spa give great massages! I even like browsing in the art gallery store & feeding the koi fish. Their rum shakes at the pool are refreshing & get you tipsy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeannStarinieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,253
    909
    342
    149
    84
See reviews for
691
1,409
50
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vicksburg, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Kauai and our trip was memorable due to many factors. Location was very convenient and a breath taking view from our room. Our room was overlooking the beach and the pool with 2 big balconies. All the Hotel staff members were very friendly and accommodating, but one in particularly will stay in our memory forever. Chris Hernandez was very informative on where to go, things to do, where to go for dinner, lunch breakfast etc. We never went to concierge to ask any questions. We had pleasure to meet Chris and his beautiful family and we will always remember him and our stay at the Marriott

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannah539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was a great place to go to relax. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The pool is BIG with plenty of space so you aren't over crowded. The pool deck had plenty of seating. The restaurants were good and there were multiple options to choose from. Great place to stay if you want a relax on the beach kind of vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaraEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNIONTOWN, OH
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We booked this hotel using points. We called to request an early check and were given a room with a pool view or so we were told. The room was on the 2nd floor and had a view of a tree by the pool. Although we could hear the pool noise, we could not see the pool. We could be seen by everyone that walked to the pool by the pool shop if we sat on our balcony; definitely not ideal. We were in a side building which was not a problem except that we often found that we did not have a place to park in the lot next to the building. Although we were told it was a Marroitt parking lot when we checked in, we were later told by a staff member that the locals are allowed to use this lot to access the beach at the hotel. Since it was a holiday weekend, we found that it was often filled and we would have to park on the opposite side of the hotel which was quite a walk to our room. Why we paid to park daily in this lot when locals used it for free we did not understand. When we asked at the desk, we were told that it really wasn't a Marriott lot. We we were told we it was a courtesy to allow guests to park there so that is why they still charged guests to park there ?? Overall the resort was impressive. The pool was very large and the beach was beautiful. The chairs at the pool and beach were plentiful. We often noticed locals using the chairs at the beach reserved for Marriott guests as well as using the pool. Guests were required to wear Mariott wrist bands. Security to prevent non-guests from using the facility seemed lax. The beach was a popular spot for the locals. In my opinon this is one of the better beaches on the island so I undersand why everyone was here. The famous Duke's restaurant is located next to the hotel property. There are multiple restaurants and shops within walking distance of the hotel. We did not eat at the hotel; the food was pricey. I was not told at check in that the continental breakfast was available at no charge because of my status with Marriott. When I returned home I found a postcard at that I had forgotten about that offered free breakfasts at Marriott resorts. We enjoyed feeding the fish in the hotel lobby which is availble to guests daily at no charge. The hotel is located near the Lihue airport and not far from the tourist activities on the island. This was a good use of Mariott points.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FENTON64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night at the Marriott prior to checking in at our condo as it was not available until the next day! We arrived at the Kauai airport and called the hotel. They met us within minutes and drove us to the hotel. We loved our room,the view and our stay. We wished we had stayed longer as it was wonderful. We had dinner that night at the Italian restaurant, Larry Rivera (who is known as Mr.Kauai) was there and we had a wonderful night. The next morning we had room service which was great too. Check out was smooth. I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trishh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Been coming to the Hawaiian Island of Kauai for many years. The Marriott Kauai is a five star hotel with many outstanding amenities including the largest pool in Hawaii, fine dinning, beautiful harbor views, and a beautiful tropical environment.

This was originally a Westin hotel prior to Marriott purchase. Hence, the ambiance includes a Roman style environment with many gardens and pool. A very pleasurable place to vacation.

Would highly recommend the Marriott Kauai for a great hotel to stay at will vacationing in Ka

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here for five nights and loved it. We visited other big hotels on the island (St. Regis, Hyatt), and I think the Marriott is arguably the prettiest. The pool is unbeatable, the grounds are great, and the beach is nice. Rooms are solid. One highlight is the staff; everyone is very nice, and gives a warm, Kauai feel to the place. Duke's is a solid food/drink option.

One of the other benefits is the location. You're well-poised to explore the north shore and Hanalei (including the Na Pali coast), the east shore and Kapaa, as well as Poipu and points west. I recommend doing all of those while on Kauai, and the Marriott was a great place to stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaua'i Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Property: Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lihue
#1 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#2 Family Hotel in Lihue
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaua'i Marriott Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kaua'i Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kaua'i Marriott Resort Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing