We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Hotel in a Beautiful Location, and Nene too!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is spread out over a large property and is located very close to Lihue Airport. In fact, since the hotel reception desk is located about 100 meters from the car valet's station (where people get out of their cars or taxis), it probably takes people longer to walk from the hotel parking lot to the front desk than to drive from the airport to the hotel (about 5 to 10 minutes).

I stayed here only one night after attending a function on the property. The room was spacious, clean, and quiet. The ballroom and outdoor areas used for the party were green and beautiful. The food served at the party was delicious and plentiful. Unfortunately, I was in too much of a rush to check-out the next morning and was unable to sample the breakfast at any of the in-hotel restaurants.

For me, one interesting feature of this hotel was that the large fishpond in the middle of the property attracted Nene (native Hawaiian Goose). It appears that the Nene arrive in the morning and go back to the hills in the evening. Since there are only about 2500 individuals of this endangered species remaining in the wild, it was a treat to be able to see them at such a close distance (4 meters).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RedPandaThirtyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,808)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,316 - 1,322 of 2,808 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

Very happy with our stay at this property. Rooms were clean and updated. The pool area is amazing. The breakfast buffet has a wide variety and a delightful setting poolside. The staff is very accommodating and helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a pool view or oceanview. Worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz C, Front Office Manager at Kaua'i Marriott Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Aloha from the Kauai Marriott! I am pleased you enjoyed your stay here at our resort, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

As a loyal Marriott Gold Elite member I was a little disappointed in the condition of this resort. The property is massive, but it appears the rooms, hallways and elevators need to be renovated. The pool and lobby area are awesome, and don't seem to go with the run down rooms. I checked into a standard room, with an upgraded pool view, and was so dissatisfied, we upgraded to a suite. I have stayed at numerous Marriott properties and was accustomed the a certain level of service that Marriott provided. This was my first trip to Hawaii, and felt a Marriott resort was the only way to go. In my opinion the resort doesn't have enough restaurants or bars for the size of the property. The service and food were good as always, but I expected more from Marriott with regards to the hotel rooms. It appears they are way over due for a make over.

I also think the beach is way under utilized. Lounge chairs are not allowed on the beach. We were advised that the state owns the beach, and Marriott can not put chairs there. The pool area is very quiet, with no music at all. The night life on the resort is very limited, there are occassional dancing shows at the hotel during the week. I recommend the show. It was very entertaining and a good value. Unfornately, if I return to this island, I would research another resort until this property is renovted to be the Marriott property I'm used to.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anthony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Never mind being handicapped accessible, it is outright UNFRIENDLY TO ANYONE WHO HAS ANY DIFFICULTY WALKING PERIOD. If you are a senior, have arthritis, or other mild health issues which affect walking stay away from this place which was designed for marathon distance runners. The is no way to get to the pool area by elevator, your choice is either two very long staircases or a "handicap access ramp" which forces you to walk four times farther than a healthy person. The restaurants are located on the far end of the property, on pool level, adjoining the beach, ensuring that if you want to eat you have to limp a long long way.

Marriott represents this facility as a "hotel and resort", it is not it is a large, old vacation club property. There are three towers, the first nine floors of each are time shares, only the top two floors are "hotel rooms". To make matters worse the facility is undergoing renovations so expect the normal annoyances of construction plus a few new ones. Thus far we have had the joy of listening to jack hammers, electric drills and hammers every day from nine to five, today our elevator is out of service and we literally have to walk a half mile through the halls to get to another one, and they have informed us we will have no water between 10am and 3pm today so make alternate arrangements to shower.

WORSE THAN ANYTHING THE PLACES STINKS, THERE IS A HIGLY OFFENSIVE MOLDY, MILDEWY STENCH THAT PERMEATES THE AIR ALL THROUGH THE FACILITY. IT IS ESPECIALLY HEAVY IN ELEVATORS. THE STAFF CLAIMS IT IS BECAUSE OF ALL THE RAIN. I WAS NOT AWARE IT RAINED INDOORS ??

The staff is friendly and tries their best but quite simply you cant make chicken soup out of chicken feathers. To make amends for all the inconveniences they gave us a whopping $100 credit, if you do the math that works out to 80 cents per hour we were subjected to their torture.

By the way I am Marriott Gold Elite and this facility is truly one horrendous embarrassing blot to the Marriott name and chain.

Room Tip: If you want Marriott and do not mind vacation clubs, the facility on Poipu Road appears smaller and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Caleb42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful resort properties I have ever seen, and everyone who works there shares the spirit of aloha with all the guests.

We arrived after a very bad wait for our rental car, so I was not in the best mood. However, Tanya immediately set things right for us. We were eligible for an upgrade due to a lot of business travel over the past year. Although we did not get a premium room the first night (pool view room which would have been adequate anyway), we got the most fabulous room for the remaining 4 nights of our stay. We had a top floor ocean view room, with a fantastic view of Kalapaki Bay. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was spacious and modern.

On our first night, we relieved our stress with dinner and drinks at Kikui's. Our waitress, Jacqui, was amazing and made great suggestions, and of course promptly brought us the Mai Tais we so desperately needed.

The pool is the largest in Hawaii and very enjoyable. It is so big that it never seemed crowded. We spent hours floating around the pool and occasionally enjoying the hot tub spas. When we had our fill of the pool, the beach was so close by and the water there was fantastic for wading, as it is a protected bay without a lot of big waves.

Everyone we met was friendly and helped make our stay enjoyable, from the front desk to the concierge to the housekeeping staff. Although there are not a lot of dining options in the hotel, there are several within walking distance, including Duke's and The Feral Pig.

We enjoyed our stay in this little slice of paradise so much that we are already plotting a return trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Traveler_from_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Pros: Wonderful staff, beautiful grounds, convenient to drive to popular sites on the island, beautiful beach, our hotel room is mostly updated and we have a small fridge.

Cons: Terrible mattress and pillows, room is very damp and no kitchen, but this is a hotel room.

There are a lot of restaurants to choose from, but if you choose one on the resort, it will be expensive. The good news is that there are tons of places within driving distance. If you need to go to a supermarket, drugstore, Costco, Kmart, Walmart, mall, etc. They are very close. If you want to walk or drive to a restaurant, you can. We are having a great time here and highly recommend it. I hope they will update their mattresses and pillows though.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ICutuP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a pretty nice hotel located on a great beach. The grounds are beautiful, there are several nice restaurants on the property or near by, a huge pool and a great beach. The beach is a perfect place to paddle board or surf for beginners and you can actually swim in the ocean here.

Two minor negative comments I have is that my room was a little worn (but I hear they are remodeling) and the limited live entertainment or cultural activities on site. But I did not spend much time in the room anyway and was always looking at the spectacular view anyways.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaua'i Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#1 Business Hotel in Lihue
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#2 Family Hotel in Lihue
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: $252 - $611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaua'i Marriott Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Kaua'i Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kaua'i Marriott Resort Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing