We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, best pool in the islands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We've stayed here on and off for the last 10 years. Took a few years off and went back last year and it was great. They were fairly consistent this year. Pool is awesome. We splurged for a cabana on two days ($40/day) which was worth it to escape the sun and have a comfy chair to sleep in. Pool staff at the towel area are a bit short and not overly friendly. Guess they have to be due to numerous non-guests trying to use the pool. They should be nicer to those that pay to be there. The pool bar staff (Kalapaki Grill) are awesome. Very, very friendly. Go out of their way to make you happy. We asked to borrow a knife to slice a pineapple we bought. The bartender insisted that he carve it for us. We asked him to taste it. He said he didn't like it so he gave us a bunch of the pineapple he carved for the bar as well as our own. A nice touch. Cost them nothing but made us really happy. We also needed to freeze a blue ice packet for our cooler. The sushi chef happily obliged and turned down a tip. We had lunch one day at the pool (kalua pork tacos - awesome) and thought it was a good value. Had happy hour snacks each night at the Keokis bar. Lots of $4 apps. Some better than others but all good and great value.
We were very fortunate to be upgraded to a suite. Very, very nice. Nice sitting area and separate bedroom. Only a small issue with TV reception which was resolved. Note to future suite stayers - close the blinds when you are out of the room (all of them) or when you return you will be very hot as the sun shines in all day long making it impossible for the AC to keep up.
Front desk staff friendlier on checkout than checkin but still ok. (These were the folks whom I found least friendly on past visits.)
One annoyance was when we drove out one day and stopped at the bell desk for towels for the beach. We had left our pool towel cards in the room and they wouldn't give us towels without them. While I understand, would have appreciated a different outcome.
Fitness center was very crowded but equipment could use a little work. Three of four ellipticals had some sort of problem with TV or equipment.)
One of the best parts of the hotel is the central location. Easy access to all of the island. Great local restaurants in Lihue and Kapaa.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,813)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,341 - 1,347 of 2,813 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have been coming here to this hotel for many years now and have never had a better stay anywhere. We love the location, the amenities and the friendly staff. The beach is great, the pool is second to none and the view is also good of the bay where the hotel is situated.

I recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nscaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I love this place. The view is wonderful. The grounds are fantastic. It is a great place to relax and enjoy everything that there is to offer. The restaurants are great. Duke's is such a great place to grab a drink. Love fish taco Tuesdays. The concierge is always very accommodating,.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funtraveler0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is the most stunning hotel I've ever been in - well, maybe around, since it's an outdoor setup! The towers that the rooms are in are older, but well-maintained. All rooms face a small bay that cruise ships go in and out of, but that's just part of the setting. Amazing view, AMAZING pool, and delicious meals. I'd move in here if I could! And it's a short drive to the airport, but also close to Po'ipu. Unfortunately no washer/dryer in rooms, which means we'll stay in Kauai Lagoons next time, but the pool, spa and shops are all located right on the resort location. Perfect for our honeymoon :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I won a trip for my job otherwise I could not afford this hotel in all honesty. We had a fantastic view of the lagoon and ocean. Beautiful landscaping, nice staff. Wonderful massage and spa experience. All of the meals we ate in the hotel were great. Room service was a wait but not unreasonable (Less than 1 hour). The food was hot but not overdone (fish).

We went to the Sunday night Luau. The entertainers were all very talented. I still would suggest you look around for an experience that is more authentic. The show felt a bit canned. My only complaint albeit small is the lounge singer in the lobby early evening couldn't carry a tune to save his soul. It truly annoyed me.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jiolaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a family wedding. What a beautiful setting for a small wedding! Our room had a perfect view. I can't say all of the family's rooms had such a good view as ours. The catered food for the wedding was very good. No complaints about anything from me!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

After reading some of the negative press, we were a little worried about making reservations to stay at this location. But once again, there seems to be a large batch of Debbie Downers on this site always looking for something negative. Not to worry if you are staying here in the future because this property is very relaxing. It is no more than five minutes from the airport and their free shuttle is at the airport to pick you up almost before you hang up the courtesy phone. Everyone we came into contact with on the Marriott staff were always smiling and friendly. This included the bell clerks, front desk, housekeeping, pool wait sfaff, restaurant and bar and of course concierge desk. Many thanks to the concierge staff for getting us reservations for dinner in Poipu and setting up a great helicopter tour on Jack Harter. Food at Duke's is outstanding! I'm not a fish lover, but ended up eating fish for all but one dinner during our seven night stay ... that's how good the fish was! Our room (1169) had a picture perfect view of the ocean and the small harbor setting that the hotel is set on. The only issue we had with our room was unconsistent water temperature .... it oscillated between hot and cold, so you had to time it right as to when to step into the water. Yes it was annoying, but it did not ruin our vacation or even put a damper on our stay. The spa was nice, but not great. Not like some of the Marriott properties in Scottsdale or Palm Springs. So the spa could use some freshening. Aside from these two minor issues - everything else was very nice. We chose to bring golf clubs with us on this trip and play the resort golf course. In fact, it was so beautiful, we played it twice. Some of the holes with the ocean backdrop are remarkable! And you can have your clubs transfered to the golf club. They keep them for you upon check-in at the club and return them on your departure date.

We did walk down to the strip malls for breakfast and dinner. There is also an ABC store if you prefer buying snacks and refreshments at a lower price. But you then miss out on talking with Chris the bartender at the hotel bar .... so we chose to have drinks and conversation with him. Chris has lived on Kauai for 46 years, so he is a wealth of knowledge for those traveling and he's very easy to chat with, not to mention friendly as can be! Other good restaurants in the area for breakfast or lunch include: Mariachi's, the Feral Pig and Bamboo's. All good and reasonably priced.

Lastly, Enterprise car rental is on-site if you desire to venture out for a day or two. The rental prices they offer are better than anything else we could find. Plus if you rent at the hotel location, you don't get stuck having to pay airport tax on the rental. And you can pick-up and drop without incurring parking fees (assuming you take a one day rental).

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view. We had room 1169 and the views were awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaua'i Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#1 Business Hotel in Lihue
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#2 Family Hotel in Lihue
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: $252 - $608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaua'i Marriott Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Kaua'i Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kaua'i Marriott Resort Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing