We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Resort”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I love this place. The view is wonderful. The grounds are fantastic. It is a great place to relax and enjoy everything that there is to offer. The restaurants are great. Duke's is such a great place to grab a drink. Love fish taco Tuesdays. The concierge is always very accommodating,.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funtraveler0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,253
    909
    342
    149
    84
See reviews for
691
1,409
50
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is the most stunning hotel I've ever been in - well, maybe around, since it's an outdoor setup! The towers that the rooms are in are older, but well-maintained. All rooms face a small bay that cruise ships go in and out of, but that's just part of the setting. Amazing view, AMAZING pool, and delicious meals. I'd move in here if I could! And it's a short drive to the airport, but also close to Po'ipu. Unfortunately no washer/dryer in rooms, which means we'll stay in Kauai Lagoons next time, but the pool, spa and shops are all located right on the resort location. Perfect for our honeymoon :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I won a trip for my job otherwise I could not afford this hotel in all honesty. We had a fantastic view of the lagoon and ocean. Beautiful landscaping, nice staff. Wonderful massage and spa experience. All of the meals we ate in the hotel were great. Room service was a wait but not unreasonable (Less than 1 hour). The food was hot but not overdone (fish).

We went to the Sunday night Luau. The entertainers were all very talented. I still would suggest you look around for an experience that is more authentic. The show felt a bit canned. My only complaint albeit small is the lounge singer in the lobby early evening couldn't carry a tune to save his soul. It truly annoyed me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jiolaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a family wedding. What a beautiful setting for a small wedding! Our room had a perfect view. I can't say all of the family's rooms had such a good view as ours. The catered food for the wedding was very good. No complaints about anything from me!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

After reading some of the negative press, we were a little worried about making reservations to stay at this location. But once again, there seems to be a large batch of Debbie Downers on this site always looking for something negative. Not to worry if you are staying here in the future because this property is very relaxing. It is no more than five minutes from the airport and their free shuttle is at the airport to pick you up almost before you hang up the courtesy phone. Everyone we came into contact with on the Marriott staff were always smiling and friendly. This included the bell clerks, front desk, housekeeping, pool wait sfaff, restaurant and bar and of course concierge desk. Many thanks to the concierge staff for getting us reservations for dinner in Poipu and setting up a great helicopter tour on Jack Harter. Food at Duke's is outstanding! I'm not a fish lover, but ended up eating fish for all but one dinner during our seven night stay ... that's how good the fish was! Our room (1169) had a picture perfect view of the ocean and the small harbor setting that the hotel is set on. The only issue we had with our room was unconsistent water temperature .... it oscillated between hot and cold, so you had to time it right as to when to step into the water. Yes it was annoying, but it did not ruin our vacation or even put a damper on our stay. The spa was nice, but not great. Not like some of the Marriott properties in Scottsdale or Palm Springs. So the spa could use some freshening. Aside from these two minor issues - everything else was very nice. We chose to bring golf clubs with us on this trip and play the resort golf course. In fact, it was so beautiful, we played it twice. Some of the holes with the ocean backdrop are remarkable! And you can have your clubs transfered to the golf club. They keep them for you upon check-in at the club and return them on your departure date.

We did walk down to the strip malls for breakfast and dinner. There is also an ABC store if you prefer buying snacks and refreshments at a lower price. But you then miss out on talking with Chris the bartender at the hotel bar .... so we chose to have drinks and conversation with him. Chris has lived on Kauai for 46 years, so he is a wealth of knowledge for those traveling and he's very easy to chat with, not to mention friendly as can be! Other good restaurants in the area for breakfast or lunch include: Mariachi's, the Feral Pig and Bamboo's. All good and reasonably priced.

Lastly, Enterprise car rental is on-site if you desire to venture out for a day or two. The rental prices they offer are better than anything else we could find. Plus if you rent at the hotel location, you don't get stuck having to pay airport tax on the rental. And you can pick-up and drop without incurring parking fees (assuming you take a one day rental).

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view. We had room 1169 and the views were awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've just come back from Kauai after 10 days staying at Marriott Kauai Resort and this is the first time I write an hotel review. I'm not going to repeat the same things that already been said and can only sum up my experience in one word, FANTASTIC. Highly recommended for the location & values for what you pay for as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minionrepublic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I travel a lot and I have stayed in many different categories of Marriott hotelst. Based on the reviews and photos, I had much higher expectations for this property. Room wise, this was among the worst that I have experienced. And rude maid service
What we liked;
- minutes from the airport
- nice pool
- ample beach chairs
- good restaurants (good food, good variety, good prices, very convenient, beach front locations)
- friendly beach bars (food/drink)
- on site store
- nice on site green/garden area

What disappointed us;
- Rooms, hotel condition (expected much more from a Marriott Resort in this category)
- With Marriott status, we were able to get an upgraded beach front room, which felt like a Motel 6 quality room. Old, run down, worn out bed, dingy overall. huge disappointment. Even the hallways & elevators show their age and usage
- Maid service was unpleasant and nasty when we requested an additional shampoo because "she had to walk all the way back to her cart...." Nothing like this to sour your morning

Room Tip: Don't expect too much - the photos are mis-leading
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaua'i Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Property: Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lihue
#1 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#2 Family Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaua'i Marriott Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kaua'i Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kaua'i Marriott Resort Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing