We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great for short stay”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This resort property used to be the Westin. It still retains many of the original Oriental sculptures throughout the grounds, but it is not as lavish as it used to be before the hurricane and change of ownership. Some nice landscaping. It has a very large circular swimming pool, and is on a swimmable beach. Some good waves for boogie-boarding. The beach is on a harbour shared with a harbour, so the water is not as clear as some other Kauai beaches. Rooms are spacious, but not as soundproof as I would like, especially for corridor noise. And the rooms have a smoke detector with a bothersome light directly above the bed.

I like its central location on the island, and prefer it to other hotels on the east coast. Great for a couple of days finishing up a vacation on Kauai; the airport is only a short drive away. For longer stays, I recommend the Poipu area, and the Grand Hyatt Resort in particular. Weather in Lihue is usually good, but Poipu is even more reliable.

Room Tip: Book through the hotel's site. We got a nice pool view room for about $200. We could see the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryMarcoPolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,253
    909
    342
    149
    84
See reviews for
691
1,409
50
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Check-Out the swimming pool.
It's the best pool in all of Hawaii.
Although it does not have the same charisma as the Grand Hyatt, the Marriott had friendly staff, service and a very accommodating concierge staff that allowed us to park the car close by when we they saw we had a lot of luggage.
They were also helpful with driving directions and places to go for lunch and Ahi Tuna.
The place is getting a little bit old and rundown but over-all it was a worthwhile 3 night stay.
And unlike the Grand Hyatt in Poipu, we will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShanghaiArnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this property after our trip 2 weeks earlier to Oahu was cancelled due to Flossie hitting at the same hour we were to land. We were able to salvage airfare and rebook to Kauai 10 days later. We only stayed 2 nights here, then moved into the Marriott Waiohai for the rest of the week. The resort is beautiful. It is literally down the road from the airport. The grounds are just beautiful. As you walk through, there is a koi pond and gardens that are gorgeous. We arrived a bit early, so our room was not ready but they kindly stored our luggage for us. We went out to the pool and had lunch while we waited. The pool is beautiful. When we finally got our room we were shocked- we are Platnium members and we were upgraded to a corner oceanfront suite! It was amazing with a separate bedroom, giant bathroom, two balconies, one over the pool and one over the harbor. The front desk personnel was always warm and welcoming. The staff at the pool bar/restaurant was always friendly. The beach is super as well, right in front of the pool. You can walk on a path towards Dukes restaurant and other shopping areas on Rice street near the cruise ship dock. You can get coffee and small breakfast items and eat them overlooking the pool, and they have the restaurant too. We just enjoyed coffee overlooking the pool and grounds. We enjoyed every minute of being here. I can't think of one thing to complain about- come on, it's paradise! As I mentioned we are Platnium and I don't see where any of the negative comments are coming from? You will love this place, and if you have kids they
will love the pool and beach. I would stay again for sure. Thank you to everyone there who made our stay so special. Mahalo!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loribob67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz C, Front Office Manager at Kaua'i Marriott Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
On behalf of the Kauai Marriott Resort and Beach Club, I would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your recent vacation destination. It pleases me to be able to share your fabulous comments with the staff and management of our resort. We do pride ourselves in the Aloha Spirit our staff shares with our guests, and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had a great stay at the Marriott Kauai resort. I did a lot of research before I selected this place and was debating between Poipu and Lihue. Staying here ended up working out perfectly.
The resort location is very central and you can easily go up to the north shore or down south to Poipu. We rented a car and drove around the island during our 5 days here. Parking at the resort is ample and we didn't have issues with the short walk to the lot.
Check-in was the only painful part. A long line and very few people to help. Being a platinum member I am used to early check-ins and upgrades. While they had an upgraded room for me, they were not giving us a room early. After waiting for a few hours till 2 PM with an increasingly cranky toddler, I argued my way in to getting an early check-in.
The hotel has an awesome, huge pool that never feels crowded. Close by there is also a small kiddie pool which we didn't really use. We bought a float for our toddler at the pool store for just 6 bucks! There are 5 hot tubs spread equally around the pool which were very easily available. The only issue with the pool is that the lounge chairs have no shade. You have to pay for the shaded chairs. The hotel is also right on the beach which is great.
Views from the room were awesome! We were on the 10th floor facing the ocean but all the other rooms looked like they would have good views too.
Food is on the expensive side on site but we enjoyed the Italian food at Portofino and drinks at the terrace restaurant. The Kalapaki beach hut is a really good, fairly inexpensive restaurant off-site within easy walking distance.
I recommend staying here...it's a beautiful, kid-friendly resort on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deejay82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is the first time I've done an online review. I relied heavily on trip advisor reviews when booking this stay so I thought I'd share with others!

This property was fantastic!! I was worried about some of the negative reviews I read prior to arriving but was thrilled to find that none of them applied. This hotel offered fantastic service, clean comfortable rooms,and a wonderful setting!!
I am fairly picky when it comes to hotels and this property was great. Without getting into specifics the 5 nights we were here was terrific.
One tip, if you have a late return flight check out the linger longer package. For $85 you are able to stay in your room until 6pm. This is based on availability so you need to ask at check in but it was well worth it for us!
Thank you marriott for the wonderful hospitality and service. The extra perks; room upgrade, early check in, and champagne for our honeymoon were fabulous. We will definitely be return guests and will likely choose marriott in other locations as well.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hmariehb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

While we paid for our 5-day stay with points, we'd gladly pay cash next time for this huge, comfortable Marriott resort with all the amenities. A pool the size of some entire hotels themselves with five hot tubs, one casual restaurant and one fancier restaurant with a sushi bar make this place a destination unto itself. Buy the $25/day resort fee; it's a good deal for all you get if bought separately otherwise. Only downsides: broken fitness center equipment and a security staff that ignores people who illegally park in handicapped spaces; be prepared to walk quite a distance (through some beautiful gardens) just to get from the entrance to the front desk.

Room Tip: All rooms are really oceanview; it just depends on how high in the building you are whether your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I had a great time here. Very close to the airport which is a plus to us and also to rental agency. Staff super attentive, Mr. Napoleon, Michael Jordan, Faith, Chad, Moani at the concierge desk, Rhonda. Our room was very comfortable, nice view, even though they are undergoing renovations, we did not hear a thing at any time. Pool is magnificent, the beach great. I don't know what one reviewer is talking about when he says "the bath tub required a rocket scientist" It was so easy to use. You have to use your own judgement when following reviews.
Beautiful hotel grounds... I dont think you would be dissapointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chichi058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaua'i Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Property: Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lihue
#1 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#2 Family Hotel in Lihue
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaua'i Marriott Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kaua'i Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kaua'i Marriott Resort Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing