We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I wasn't expecting much - I thought it would be dated and extremely noisy from the nearby airport. I was pleasantly surprised though, the hotel IS enormous and is surrounded by sprawling gardens and grounds which are quite beautiful. The buildings are large and impressive in scale even though they are quite old. The lagoon pool is huge and there are a number of hot tubs situated around it. The beach is actually quite lovely and we preferred it over many of the other south shore beaches on offer. It was great to be able to stroll out of our room onto what felt like a private beach and go paddleboarding/swimming or just lounge about on one of the many beach chairs.

Dukes was great for dinner or lunch. We weren't too impressed with the other food offerings though.

The room itself was fine. We had a view of the pool and ocean from the Kahili tower, a large balcony, comfy bed - everything that you need. One thing is that the resort is so large it can be quite a trek to get from one end to the other.

A lot of the guests are elderly or families with children as you would expect at this type of resort. They all seemed to be having a great time.

The airport proximity didn't bother us at all. We never noticed planes (the airport probably isn't that busy anyway) but we saw a lot of helicopters fly over during the day (we even flew over the resort in one) - however we didn't find the noise of helicopters disturbing in the slightest.

The drive to Koloa or Poipu isn't too far either for your daytrips and dinners etc. Lihue itself isn't much.

All in all we really enjoyed our time here, it was very relaxing and we loved the beach area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank Wanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,531 - 1,537 of 2,809 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

Visited the Marriott Kauai Resort Feb. 2013 as a week long family holiday, super, worth every minute, exept the food, avoid the Italian Restaurant if you can, not worth the price food bad.
All else was great. Special thanks to McKenzie at check-in, she made tired travellers feel special.

Go there if you can.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank O_ZAirdrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

You couldn't ask for nicer resort staff and plenty of them. We were upgraded (after asking if that was a possibility) and given an ocean view room right next door to the presidential suite. The room looked recently updated, had plenty of space even if the room wasn't huge. One big drawback is that the lanai doesn't have a screen and you need one here in order to keep the slider open. There might be screens on others rooms, but not this one on the 11th floor. The mattress and pillows were very comfortable, always a plus. The pool on the property is spectacular. They also have a kiddie pool and several hot tubs. The outside spaces here are colossal -really. Huge columns, koi ponds, grassy areas and walking paths. Just beautiful. They have several restaurants on site and are worth eating at. You would never know that this resort is right next to the airport. It's relatively quiet except by the pool. Since it's centrally located, it makes for a great place to stay.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this resort for many reasons. The rooms were really nice and clean. Staff was courteous and prompt at handling requests.
The hotel has various artifacts, and historical displays throughout. It is nice to round the corner and find an interesting artifact or artwork. The gardens were equally lovely.
We loved the location! The resort faces the bay with calmer waters, and you can still see the ocean beyond the mouth of the bay. Impressive mountains in the distance, great restaurants and shopping conveniently close by, and a fabulous view just a short 15 minute walk past the golf course. I would definitely stat here again!
I will note that this trip was covered by my company, so the room rates were not a factor. The restaurants within the resort were expensive for my tastes.

Room Tip: We stayed in Ha'upu Tower. Our balcony provided a view of the pool, bay, ocean, and mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tommysgirl96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We exchanged our Marriott Vacation Club place for a week in Kauai. Overall, this place is very nice. The large pool is lovely, with numerous hot tubs -- some that you can get to only by swimming through the pool. Water in the pool was pretty cold and there were not that many people in the water. The beach is also very nice, although it can get a bit crowded when there is a cruise ship in port, which is just a short walk from the beach. They have serveral good restaurants on the property, with Duke's being the best of them. Downside -- the property is aging. The original building was built in the 60's and it shows in the architecture. Other buildings are slightly newer, but don't expect anything contemporary in looks. Parking is inadequate and, even if you are lucky enough to find a spot in the main lot you will likely walk at least 1/4 mile between parking spot and your room. If you return after about 9 at night, you will likely end up parking in a remote lot that is even further. You can avoid this by using their valet service -- not sure what the cost of that is. Overall this was a nice experience, but not comparable to other Marriott Vacation Clubs we have stayed in. We walked briefly near the Marriott Vacation Club property at Poipu Beach, and I would probably opt for that instead if I go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank curley6710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Located on Kalapaki beach, the hotel is wonderfully situated. Only a seven minute drive from the Lihue Airport it is a breeze to get to. The public spaces, of which there are many, are beautifully decorated and very inviting. The pool area and beach are the best combination on the Island. Staff is unfailingly friendly and make guest feel very welcome and wanted. Unfortunately the guest rooms need a it of help. They are dated and in need of new decorations, paint and more 21st century amenities such as MP3/IPhone docks and a more responsive WIFI system.

Pricing for the resort is a bit high for the condition of the rooms and the resort fee and taxes adds about $80 to $100 dollars to the listed room tariff. A one bedroom ocean front Condo on Poipu Beach in a brand new building priced out at $150 less for a one week stay than our Partial Ocean view room in need of updating at the Marriott.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaveWatcher16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Didn't expect anything less. Marriott has not disappointed us yet! The only complaint was there was not a full kitchen like the other Marriott timeshare resorts but we knew that ahead of time when we booked. Other than that, the rooms were very nice. We stayed in the Kahili Tower 6th Floor. We had a 1 Bedroom 2 Bath unit. There was alot of rain and it was very, very windy the week we went but that did not stop us from enjoying ourselves. The locals had said that the weather that they were having was very unusual for that time of the year. No worries! We were able to spend 3 days sightseeing the whole island. The rest of the time we spent enjoying the resort. Don't forget to visit the Farmers Market they have in the K-Mart parking lot on Mondays. They have Valet parking but we opted to use the self-park. Everyone was very nice and pleasant. Expect to see lots of Roosters, Chickens and even Feral cats. Sweetest little kitties. Shy at first but then they get used to you throughout the week.

Room Tip: If you are staying in the Kahili Tower, any room from the 6th floor and up are decent ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fourdecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaua'i Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lihue
#1 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#2 Family Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: $252 - $611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaua'i Marriott Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Kaua'i Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kaua'i Marriott Resort Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing