We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice, but it doesnt really have a kids activities room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice, but it doesnt really have a kids activities room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

It's a very nice resort; you can read about the rooms beach restaurants in other reviews. We had a nice stay.

The major disappointment was the kids club. The photos on the hotel website show a few pictures of it. But in fact most of the time it's closed. It's only open on the weekend. And you have to pay about $50 per child per day. I posted some photos, you can see this. My daughter was quite disappointed that it wasn't open when we were there. I was quite disappointed it was an additional fee and only on the weekends. Maybe that's clear if you look closely at their website, but that's not the impression I picked up. Oh well,if you have kids just beware.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigCitiesBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,164
    846
    316
    139
    80
See reviews for
634
1,301
47
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

As a Marriott Lifetime Platinum Elite member, I have stayed at this property annually for the past 8 years. Last year, I wrote a review that indicated this property had several issues they needed to address. I am pleased to say that this year, our stay exceeded our expectations. One of my chief complaints over the years has been the long wait to check into the property. This year, there were 6 agents on front desk duty and for the first time, a Platinum Lane was in place. Total time in line was less than 5 minutes, from start to finish. In addition, I was on the island and called the hotel, asking if possible for an early check-in. They were not only able to accommodate my family, but also called me and advised when my room was ready!

The furnishings in our hotel room had been upgraded since last year to include a new bed. The Elevators in our tower had some minimal issues, but I am told the hotel is in the process of addressing these problems. As for the hotel pool and grounds, as always, they are in excellent condition and landscaping well maintained. This year, our grandchildren enjoyed the children's pool and water slide, while their parents and grandparents enjoyed watching them.

And, the entire staff we came in contact with were excellent. Their one goal seemed focused on meeting their guest expectations to insure that we were having an excellent experience during our stay. Mahalo to the entire staff for an enjoyable stay!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pftambur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Kauai Resort last week for 3 nights and it was spectacular! We were pleasantly surprised by the resort. The location is great, right in between the north and south areas of the island so you can easily travel to both (which I highly recommend doing) and its super close to the airport and the free shuttle is great. The weather in Lihue was great, I wouldn't say it was much rainier than the south, we had mostly sun all day every day. You are also close to a number of shopping centers and restuarants so the location was great. I highly recommend visiting Duke's restaurant on the beach next to the hotel during happy hour (4 to 6 pm I believe) they had great drink specials which really helps save money and its a great view of the ocean! The resort grounds were beautiful, the pool is very clean and huge! There were plenty of lounge chairs around, no need to get up early and save them like at some resorts. The beach was really nice for laying out and swimming. The view of the bay was spectacular, the mountains on the other side made for a wonderful scene. The hotel room was also very nice, clean, updated, big and had a wonderful balcony. The bathroom was also nice and roomy! I think one of my favorite parts was the awesome walkway around the center of the resort overlooking the pool. There were tons of cushiony chairs for people to lounge on and relax and we would always grab a quick breakfast from the little cafe bar there and sit around and enjoy! We also appreciated that there was an enterprise rent a car location at the resort so it made renting a car so convenient. Overall, great place to stay, I highly recommend!

Room Tip: The high up ocean view rooms towards the end of the building (towards the beach), have awesome views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank staceyanne041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metro Atlanta
Level Contributor
127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Location: very short drive from the airport, but hardly noticed airplane traffic (didn't observe any planes flying directly overhead).

Room: stayed in the Kilohana Wing - above/behind Wai'ale'ale Wing. AMAZING room was actually two adjoining rooms: one with King bed and lots of extra space, one with Murphy bed and stocked kitchen (utensils, dishes, fridge, dishwasher...) with small dining table and balcony. Excellent choice for two adults who each need their own bed and space.

Public Areas: Huge property with lots to explore. Landscaping - amazing. Pond and waterfall feature - stunning. Statuary - impressive. Great variety in places to chill on furniture of all descriptions (chairs, lounges, cocoons, you name it).

Beach: easy access to the pretty beach on a very picturesque bay. I found this view of attractive buildings, a mountain and a bay more interesting than just open water. Also saw a cruise ship sail past enroute to port, plus whales breaching offshore (with binoculars).

Restaurants: evening drink at Duke's - casual, laid back and pleasant. Ate at Kukui's: the Mongolian Grill was fun, tasty and way too much to eat (includes soup, dessert bar). Had lunch at Kalapaki Grill - nice setting by mammoth pool.

There's a weird hall area with closed timeshare offices, and the hotel's age is evident in places like the elevators. This really didn't detract from the experience, though. Hated to leave this resort!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladytez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in a convenient location. Our room was clean, nicely decorated, large and appears to have been recently refurbished. The balcony was large -- the only downside is the patio door is heavy and noisy and the balcony echoes so you can hear what everyone else is saying if they are out on their balcony. Any time anyone around closes their patio door you know it! We had an oceanview which really is a limited view of the harbor. It was fun to see the cruise ships come and go. The way the hotel is situated on the harbor, a true oceanview or ocean front room really isn't possible. You can only see the entrance to the harbor best case.

The pool is large and very nice. There were always ample chairs and free beach chairs. The pool bar and grill has very limited hours so don't expect to be able to get a cocktail to watch the sunset because the bar closes anywhere between 4 and 5 pm.

You can easily walk to many restaurants and shops. There is ample parking though it can be a bit of a walk if you look for a spot later in the evening. The airport is close by and it's easy to drive to the north, south and west shore attractions.

The hotel grounds are very lovely with a wonderful garden area and koi pond. Shopping on site is minimal. It appears that many shops have gone out of business. If you have a car (which I'd highly recommend), there is a shopping mall about two miles away with a full service grocery store, drug store and many other shops. Each room has a small refrigerator, so you can easily stock up on pop, wine, snacks and breakfast food.

One big negative is the lack of self-laundry facilities. There are three laundry rooms - but each one only has one washer and one dryer. We ended up going to a local laundry about 2 miles from the hotel which has a dozen or more washers and dryers -- it's not fancy, but very functional.

I would return to this hotel for another vacation.

Room Tip: Ask to be on at least the third floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

After much research on trip advisor and looking at prices I chose to stay here during Valentine week. The cost was the same for Marriott and The Hyatt both around 260 a night but I had trouble with all the reviews on whether you could swim on the beaches. The Marriott sits beach front with a lovely soft sand beach and the water was just perfect. The Kalapaki beach is where at least one cruise ship docks nearby and has calm enough waters to just float around in.
The hotel does not allow their lawn chairs beyond a grass area overlooking the beach so it's towel on the sand or go buy a lawn chair at a nearby store. Many people choose to stay on the nearby grass with lawn chairs so we almost had the beach to ourselves.

The hotel itself is a beautiful property with a big koi pond, gigantic roman type pillars, connected to a golf course, minutes from the airport (but no plane noise from hotel). The room was modern with the most comfortable bedding (get pool view room which also gives u partial ocean view). The pool is huge, 4' deep and with a separate kiddie pool. Connected to pool is four spa's with super hot water and powerful jets for your relaxation moments.

Plan to rent a car (enterprise rental is onsite) during ur visit as restaurants and all excursions require u to drive to them (they don't have shuttles that pick u up). At the end of the beach is a couple of small shops including a ABC store to pick up some small items. The highways are mainly one lane which is why sometimes it takes awhile to travel to your destinations,

Within driving distance of 15 min there is a McDonald's , Burger King, a small mall with Macy's and Sears and of course Starbucks. The food on site is good too with a Dukes (Hula Pie- yummy!), Cafe Portafino (good food but small quantity and pricey for what you get), and the poolside grill with a tasty good sized 14 dollar hamburger. The hotel sundry store also has milk and cereal for breakfast if you prefer to eat in your room.

We also drove to Jossellin's (about 20 min drive) for Tapas (small plates) which was tasty. I would plan on spending for 2 people with wine about 100 dollars a meal.

Excursion- the only one we did was the river kayak on the wailua river to the secret falls. It cost 50 dollars a person and took about 4 hours. You kayak 2 miles and hike (not too hard) 1.5 miles to a decent size water fall where you can swim at and eat your self packed lunch before heading back the same way you came. Good exercise and fun trip.

Overall I highly recommend the hotel. During our stay, it was mostly elderly people with a few families and a few 20-40s folks. This is not a party hotel but very relaxing. The hotel is just the right size without having to walk a million miles to get to stuff. Once again the beach was perfect with water you could lounge in and soft sand to out ur feet in.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leong's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The first time we came here was before Inki when this was a Westin.. When Marriott took it over we were right there to buy a timeshare here and love it. We come every other year.The only thing disappointing about this hotel is the gym. My husband has a knee injury and they took out some of the leg equipment he uses, The timeshare part they now call Kauai lagoons has the equipment he needs but they refused him access to that gym, This was the first time in 15 yrs I really felt disappointed with Marriott. They were actually pretty rude about it. We own several Marriott timeshares and when the point system came out we even bought them. We spend 8weeks in Maui and Kaui every year you'd think they could be a little more accommodating.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kittytawng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaua'i Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Property: Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1705
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lihue
#1 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#2 Family Hotel in Lihue
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaua'i Marriott Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Kaua'i Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kaua'i Marriott Resort Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing