We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So beautiful you feel like you are on a movie set” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“So beautiful you feel like you are on a movie set”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We just got back from a recent stay here. I have nothing to complain about. I could have stayed a month. We had a room with a lagoon and pool view and could even see a few whales from our room (take binoculars). This hotel is absolutely gorgeous. From the moment we walked in we were overwhelmed with all the beauty and attention to detail. The grounds are spectacular with koi ponds, swans, ducks, a few cats, and of course roosters. Roosters are ALL over the island and if you just decide to appreciate the hilarity of them you will start to look for them as you travel the island.

We took a 3 mile hike through the jungle to view the Napali Coast. We got to the top exhausted, sat down to rest and a rooster came up to me and just looked. It was a very funny moment.

Room Tip: Take binoculars to catch a whale frolicking in the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deddytx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,211
    874
    332
    145
    84
See reviews for
661
1,361
49
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

The grounds are very well-kept, as well as the surrounding areas. I recommend taking the short walk to the Kauai Lagoons. It's a feast for eyes, and the gentle breezes just makes the stress melt away. There's several restaurants on the premises that offer different dining options (Duke's, Portofino are a couple of choices, though I wouldn't recommend for the more frugal traveler- they're a bit on the pricey end). The rooms (we stayed in a 2-room villa) are clean and nicely furnished with a small fridge, microwave, etc. It's ideally located -beachfront and minutes away from the airport and the staff are friendly and helpful. There's even a rental car office right on the property -very convenient! Our one complaint would be the slow running elevators, but otherwise is an amazing property that will keep us coming back for more (this is our second stay here).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

The setting for this hotel is exquisite; gorgeous, extensive grounds, a beautiful bay with tropical mountains in the background and a pool with a bridge to its own island. The service we received was outstanding--friendly and so helpful. We needed the map provided to find our way around--even with it, we didn't discover a closer parking lot till the last day. The hotel is close to the airport but we didn't hear any flights to disturb the peaceful environment. We especially loved having all the lounge seating on a lawn right next to the beach--very convenient. There were two good restaurants on the grounds and lots of beach activities available. We'd definitely choose to stay there again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredAKTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This resort is massive, with a huge pool and a few different bars and restaurants. Only 5 minutes from lihue airport also, the location of this resort is great. I recommend renting a car so you can explore other areas of the island. Within walking distance of some restaurants and a convenience store. This is a good location for families as it seems very kid friendly. The bay of water and beach area this resort sits on is a protected area with calmer waters, perfects for swimming and paddle boarding! Not so great for snorkeling. Throughout the day you can watch cruise ships that come in through the bay to dock, which is kinda cool to watch. The food served on the beach is a little above average, I recommended the pork tacos.

Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. The only negative is that the beach chairs could be a litter nicer and pool and beach area kept a little cleaner. And the elevators seem a little slow, we were on a higher floor and I felt like it would take 5 minutes sometimes to get an elevator.

I would recommend this resort for families, but not so much for couples as there are a lot of children roaming around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennaberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We've stayed here twice. The first time we were hotel guests, the second time we went as a timeshare exchange. It was always confusing to me which buildings were hotel and which were timeshare. For all I know, they are interchangeable.
Great location, close to the airport and with lots of shopping and eateries within walking distance. Kalapaki Beach is very busy and fun people watching. A location pro is you are in the middle of everything so driving to the east or west shore is relatively quick.
We were in the Kahili Wing as a timeshare. This timeshare had different features than most. There is no laundry in the room but you did get maid service (emptying trash, running dishwasher and making beds). Laundry rooms are every other floor and you have to pay. Also, very small kitchen with no stove or oven and a dorm size fridge and dishwasher. We had two bedrooms which were both very comfortable, the living room had a pull-down sofa which was more comfortable than a pull-out sofa. All rooms had large balconies but we were on the 4th floor so our view was mostly the rooftop of the Aupaka Terrace. If you go, ask for a high floor. Twice we got pizza from Rocco's at the Harbor Mall across the street - very good! Didn't try any other eatery across the street but there are quite a few choices. Duke's is walking distance and good, but not great. A great place to hang out, grab some coffee and read is the Aupaka Terrace at the resort. We would return there in the evenings for a drink and do some people watching. A neat place for a quick bite, even if you bring your own! We ordered in a pizza and ate it on the terrace and we observed some others grilling on the lawn and eating on the terrace as well. Tho I liked the Marriott Kauai I think we will return to the Waiohai the next time we visit Kauai. Pro is a great property and some good eateries within walking distance, con is you have to drive quite a bit to get to the east and north side of the island (from the Waiohai at Poipu Beach).

Room Tip: If going as a timeshare ask questions about which buildings are timeshares and which are hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I went for our honeymoon last year. We spent seven days there and then moved to Maui. We were so bummed to leave the Kuai Marriott we came back for our one year anniversary. Even staying in the same room!! Lol. We requested it. The people that work here made our stay that much more perfect. We ate at Kalapaki grill for breakfast buffet every morning. Delicious. Gina who is the hostess is now my Hawaiian sister. She remembered us from the previous year. Denny, Gloria, and if we forgot your name we are sorry you are all awesome. Great pool, great service if you need anything they will accommodate, beautiful grounds, Kalapaki beach is wonderful, a few locals, but you can play volleyball with them. We wouldn't stay anywhere else. All 11 days spent here and we didn't get bored once!! This hotel is the absolute best!! The location makes it easy to explore the whole island. Its a perfect location just five minutes from airport to your paradise. You never hear the planes. It's a nine to ten hour flight for us, or we would come back again sooner, for now we will wait for our five year.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamDom74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is great, the only better hotel inkauai is th grand hyatt. This hotel has everything you need on the property. DUKES restaurant on the property is incredible with great food, the sushi by the pool is great, the Italian restaurant on the property is also good although it has ghetto music and people visiting to dance at nights

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcuf33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaua'i Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Property: Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#1 Business Hotel in Lihue
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#2 Family Hotel in Lihue
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaua'i Marriott Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Kaua'i Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kaua'i Marriott Resort Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing