We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large resort with beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Large resort with beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great location: close to Lihue airport, few minutes walk to beach.
Guest rooms: nice and roomy, recently updated, balconies.
Restaurants: good but not fine dining.
Gym: standard equipment, freezing so bring a jacket.
Family friendly: TOTALLY! not a quite romantic get away as there were tons of kids running around (July 2012).

Everything is here and you don't need to leave the resort if you are so inclined. We explored the island by rental car and loved coming back to our relaxing resort. This is a fairly large property which worked well since the hotel was booked out. There were still some quiet places away from the pool/beach to relax and read/chill out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kitty811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,114
    809
    304
    133
    80
See reviews for
603
1,247
45
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Good Marriott hotel right on the bay. Though not directly on ocean I wound up liking it better as you can easily see ocean and surrounding mountains that create the bay which gives you more to look at while laying at the beach or at the pool. Additionally swimming and playing in the bay is much safer.

Rooms were nice, I'm a hotel snob so would classify as good not great. Almost every room has an ocean or bay view. I requested a pool view and have a view of both the pool and ocean without paying for the ocean view price. Be sure to request a high floor. That ensures a better bay or ocean view room and helps with the wildlife noise. There are a lot of wild chickens and roosters all over Kauai. Not a big deal and never a bother but crow in the morning.

Be sure to check out Captain Andy's Na Pali coast tour, we paid extra for the southern star boat. Also for cheap good eats go to Pula Dog in Poipu and Paco's Taco's north of the Marriott.

Lastly the rooms have a mini fridge and no one seems to care if you bring your own food and drink down to the pool or beach. Given its a resort proves for drinks are on the high side so head north to Safeway and pick up a few bottles of your favorite whiskey or rum and spice up your coke.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jd6141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

this hotel is gorgeous---beautiful grounds and spacious, beautiful rooms with balconies that have great views. the pool is the best part. it's huge, shaped like a flower, with lots of fountains. there are also several hot tubs around the pool. jack harter is located on the grounds and so it was very convenient to book out helicopter ride--which I highly recommend as well.

this was our favourite hotel on our trip. I would absolutely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryMarie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

OK, so we were going to the MCVI Waiohai Beach Club for a week, but coming from Atlanta and the required long tavel time, we decided to go a couple of days early to offset that wasted time. So we stayed at the Marriott Kauai Beach Club for two nights, which turned out to be a good decision! First, we got a couple extra nights in Kauai, which is always good! But what made it better was the resort itself -- I give it very high ratings!

It apparently is a MVCI location, but not a standard one as it is one of the few converted hotels in the MVC stable. That meant I needed two distinct rooms (and associated reward points) vs what we typically get with our two room arrangements, but that was fine. The premises are a mere five minutes from LIH airport, so there's no wasted additional travel time to get there. I was a little concerned about the proximity to the airport worrying about noise, but that ended up not being any kind of an issue.

The premises are really nice -- they've done a terrific job with the grounds -- I got very encouraged right away. The entry way to the facility is very nice, and the attentive, but not overly aggressive, staff is readily available to help you if you so desire it. With six bags and 15 hours of travel already behind us, we welcomed their offer! Those gents instruct you to proceed to the check-in counter, which is a nice 100 yeard walk or so, but when you get there, it is very impressive. Grand in scale, with beauty from the flora and art, I was immediately further encouraged.

After checking in, off the the rooms we went. Now, I will tell you this -- I burned extra reward point for an upgraded view, and I'm glad I did. My wife and I ended up in room 2315, which had a beautiful view including their spectacular pool with the ocean bay and beach off to the left. The grounds are beautiful and maintained expertly. The room itself was terrific! Pretty standard looking in terms of layout, but the appointments were all high end. The bedding was so comfortable, too -- plush and soft. We both just fell into bed and crashed (it was late at night after a long day of travel, ok!).

The facility offers a continental breakfast area where you can buy delicious pastry, fruits, juices, coffee and breakfast munchies. The also have two nice on site restaurants, only one of which we used (two nights only, remember?). Portofino's is an Italian restaurant that we enjoyed our second evening there. Nothing is cheap in Hawaii, so just be ready to pay a notch more than you may be expecting. But the food and atmosphere are very good. They even had a harpist playing, which added to the overall ambiance.

There's a nice little feature we all liked -- between the pool area and the beach is a nice strip of well groomed grass. It's sort of nice on your sandy feet when leaving the beach on the way back to the pool or hotel, and we used it to play some smash ball.

Anyway, I give the Marriott Kauai very high marks and full recommendation to those considering it. MCVI did a great job with this site.

Room Tip: I suggest you call the facility well before you arrive and indicate to them the type of you you pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank briwood4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILADELPHIA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

If your considering this Resort, DO IT!!!!
You won't regret it
I was in awe when we arrived and still felt that way when we left.
Enormous and Beautiful property.
I don't have enough words in my vocabulary to describe it but, a discription wouldn't do it justice.
I would love to stay here again and given the opportunity, wouldn't hesitate to do so.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Without doubt, the Marriott has beautiful grounds - starting from the moment you drive in, there is a beautiful canopy, the huge swimming pool faces the mountains and ocean, etc - the view is just absolutely splendid.

Let's move to the rooms - they are very outdated. I know a lot of the previous reviews talk about the Marriott timeshare, and i have no doubt that their timeshares are in great shape. But their ordinary hotel rooms leave a lot to be desired. At first they booked us in a small room facing the garden and there were stains on their ceiling, the bathtub didn't drain and the bathroom smelled gross - it was because they are still using cloth shower curtains. I complained to the front desk and they upgraded us to a suite, facing the pool. Yes, this room was nicer, but the bathrooms still used cloth shower curtains - i think the last time i saw cloth shower curtains was at Ramada Inn - seriously, Marriott needs to get with the times.

So even though the room was more spacious, the bathrooms stank and they just need to upgrade to glass doors - that will help with the odor. I spent 60,000 Marriott points to stay here for 2 nights and wouldn't do it again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We have loved staying at the Marriott Kauai Resort in Lihue, HI for many years. The pool is wonderful, resturants great, beach clean and very relaxing. This past May however, we were shocked that the helicopter noise began at 8:01 AM every morning and continued until 5:00PM. Evidently the helicopters have been rerouted to fly directly over the Marriott at low altitiude making it impossible to relax. When I asked the front desk they said that they were unaware of such noise. One morning, I observed the head of security looking up and asked him what was with the noise and he just shook his head.

Room Tip: See three rooms before you decide leaving your luggege in the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryWilliams44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaua'i Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Property: Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1705
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lihue
#1 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#2 Family Hotel in Lihue
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaua'i Marriott Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your Kaua'i Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kaua'i Marriott Resort Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing