We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing Pool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing Pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Beautiful hotel and an amazing pool area, unmatched anywhere in the Islands.

Delays at front desk because of insufficient staff...so prepare to wait.

In our building, one of two elevators was out-of-service the entire 4 days we were there. There seemed to be a very slow pace set and accepted by management. Very unusual for a high qualify Marriott.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cardman760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,163
    846
    316
    139
    80
See reviews for
634
1,300
47
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

What a failure of customer service! We were there on a five night package and had a problem with our room. It was like they couldn't be bothered to deal with it (they didn't), but what made it really bad, was their total lack of communication and caring. Other than that, the property is nice so long as you don't mind listening to planes taking off from the airport at Lihue, which is practically next door.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east greenwich, rhode island
Level Contributor
762 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

This is one of the most fantastic Marriott vacation properties. The 2 bedroom unit has 2 full bedrooms, each with a king bed. The kitchen is so well appointed- Sub Zero refrigerator and top of the line appliances. Large living room, good size dining area and beautiful large lanai that is screened in and has a sun shade offering sun protection. Lovely grounds, very accommodating staff and shuttle. Very close to the airport. A little confusing at first, to find the property, but worth the trip. I WILL be back!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank dermgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed one night at Marriott Kauai Resort after our flight landed and before we picked up our car the next day to head north. It is a beautiful property with a huge pool and lots of seating around pool, including a restaurant on site and a bar with decent apps/drinks near the beach. There are a couple of restaurants right next to resort. The beach is small but has calm waters and would be great for kids swimming.
The resort grounds are huge and spread out. We took two wrong turns to get to our room initially, if you get a chance to have bellman take you to room, I would take that. There are a number of different buildings and they don't connect.
The staff is quite accommodating. We easily got shuttle pick up from airport after less than 5 minute wait. It was only 2pm and driver offered to keep our bags as it was prior to check in. I opted to take our chances on early check in and was not disappointed, our room was ready. We were upgraded to pool/harbor view room and were very pleased (once we found it). I am Marriott platinum so my room should be upgraded if possible, but they also had a few gifts for awards members and coupons for drinks/meals on site.
This resort is right next door to airport but we didn't find air traffic bothersome at all. In fact we didn't notice. We walked on the beach some but didn't swim. We had two meals there, one at the little bar by the beach, and then breakfast the next morning. Breakfast was very expensive, we opted for the buffet because individual menu items were high and if you added toast and juice it was a wash. The buffet was gorgeous and delicious, but it's hard to eat enough food to justify that price.
Would stay here again before or after flight d/t close by airport location and reliable shuttle.

Room Tip: There are timeshares on this property as well as full service hotel. If you want hotel, book throu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryannKc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Although we are owners at Marriott's Kauai Beach Club, we stayed at the hotel portion this time. We were there for 7 nights and really enjoyed our stay. We are Platinum Premier members and had hoped for a nice upgraded room. The first room were were given had no view but they did move us to a new room the next morning that was wonderful. Plenty of room and updated furnishings. The fridge has to be the smallest fridge I have every had in a hotel room so keep that in mind when buying things that need to be refrigerated. Everyone very friendly and willing to help. They have the best pool I have ever seen. It wasn't that crowded while we were there and there were plenty of chairs. I love the location. It is the best place to stay for visiting all parts of the island. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HawaiigirlDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

It’s been almost a year since we visited so I can’t remember all of the specifics about the wing that we stayed in. The included photo shows the view from our room! I will say that we absolutely loved this hotel. This was our first visit to Kauai and we had no real idea as to where to stay on the island. For our needs this central location was perfect. It was a reasonable car ride to most anywhere else on the island.

Pros: Very friendly and attentive staff. We didn’t eat on site, but the food and drink options looked fine, but maybe a touch expensive. The pool is outrageously large and beautiful. This was the nicest, largest pool that we have ever visited. The grounds were also gorgeous and well maintained.

Con: The only real con is that the adjacent beach is not perfect, only ok. When we visited it was littered with driftwood from the ocean. The floor of the beach is sand, not coral- this means nice to swim but not nice for snorkeling. This wasn’t a big deal for us because the pool was so nice. You can always hop in the car and try another beach.

Some people told us not to stay here because of its proximity to the airport. This was never a problem for us. We didn’t really hear any noise from passing aircraft in the 6 days that we stayed here.

Overall we LOVED this resort. It was a good first introduction to the island and a nice mix of amenities and location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PairOBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Chute, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our niece passed away back home while we were staying here. The way everyone went out of their way to help us out was comforting. We had booked a sunset cruise at the concierge desk and the beautiful lady went and got us a ceremonial lay to place in the water on our cruise. The hotel also had free entertainment every night including Kap Te'o Tafiti Samoan Fire Knife Dancer and his family who were amazing. The rooms we stayed in were the best hotels rooms we have ever stayed in. We had a split week and the second part they over booked the lower level rooms so we were given an upgrade to ocean front lower level for no extra charge. Will go back next time we go to Hawaii.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the place but go for ocean side if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryJPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaua'i Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Property: Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1705
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lihue
#1 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#2 Family Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaua'i Marriott Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Kaua'i Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kaua'i Marriott Resort Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing