We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay here quite a bit. The hotel pool and grounds are very nice and my room was arranged and decorated in a very tasteful manner. Staff was very courteous as well. The scenery of the bay and mountains nearby are very pretty, though the beach is small and not all that impressive. There is a Duke's nearby for good food and drinks and the main hotel restaurant is quite good too. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canyonskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,237
    897
    337
    145
    84
See reviews for
676
1,388
50
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I accompanied my husband on a business trip. I did not expect to love the Marriott Kauai, given it's location in Lihue, but I did love it! The staff was superb, from the front desk woman who upgraded us from partial ocean to beautiful ocean view (I think the only true ocean front rooms might be suites, but I'm not positive)--room 2023. I am very picky about room amenties and location, but I was very happy with the room. It was spacious and quite pretty; the bed was very comfortable, it had all the amenties you would want. We could listen to the ocean all night with the door open. I did not expect that, as the property is right at the port and in a little bay. The grounds were beautiful, the service was impressive everywhere. I asked for robes, they came in minutes; one day I asked for my room to be made up at a certain time--it was; the pool food and drink service was great. The pool(s) and hot tubs are beautiful, the beach was beautiful, the water calm. The food was just okay; Dukes is next door, it was fine. We ate at the sushi bar, it was pretty good. The breakfast buffet was quite delicious. I think the bad reviews on trip advisor are a result of the timeshare units. It is vague on the website and even when you get there, it is confusing what are timeshare units and what are regular hotel rooms--I think this generates poor reviews, and the hotel should be more clear about this. My husband once got a room in the timeshare building with a murphy bed, which was not very nice, so our expectations were set very low. We were in the building to the right of the lobby if you are looking from the beach, which was lovely. I would recommend this hotel for families, and couples.

Room Tip: Make sure you are getting hotel units, not timeshare units. The ocean view rooms are quite lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanfran58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mammoth lakes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The pool is huge and beautiful, the beach is ok but this hotel is in a great location close to all sites. The girl that took care of us at the pool was amazing, I’m so sorry I do not remember her name. Jordan at the front was excellent and tried to meet all of our needs. High light of the trip was the Napali Coast; do not miss this, its overwhelmingly beautiful. And the beach in Poipu in front of that Marriott had great snorkeling. What an amazing island!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onedarlngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Chose this hotel last minute for a 4ngt break. Upgraded to a ocean view room even though only paid for standard. However most rooms are ocean facing so can't imagine a poor room.
Didn't rent a car which is highly unusual for us but everything we needed was in walking distance. Restaurants and small upmarket shopping area within walking distance
Hotel is a quiet oasis. Pool is open 24/7 though never noisy. More couples than children we noticed. Walk across the gardens past the pools directly to the beach. Always plenty os space and loungers. Water sports available on the beach. Snorkelled everyday as coral is just off shore. Great marine life straight off the sandy beach. Wonderful to see the turtles everyday either on there way in or out of the water. Everyone respectful of the need to give them there distance.
Restaurant part open air served excellent food and coffee shop onside was very handy.
Staff very friendly and typically laid back and Hawaiian. Would highly recommend and hope to return someday

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We booked our stay as a promotional package that was supposed to be a garden view villa. We were upgraded to an ocean view (sort of) but a regular hotel room. We were staying a week and I was planning on enjoying the extra room and kitchenette. As it turned out, we did lots of outdoor activities, so it wasn't much of an problem. Customer service was fantastic. Two small things that were annoying; the peep holes in the door were like laser beams, right at my face in bed at night, and the doors are impossible to shut quietly. While our floor was very quiet, every time anyone used their door, the whole floor heard it. Beds were very comfortable. The restaurant is okay, with lots of themed nights, but the prices are high. The bartenders know what they're doing. Delicious drinks and good happy hour snacks. All in all, an enjoyable trip.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

As pictured this hotel has an incredible pool. If you enjoy lounging by one, this will definitely fulfill your needs. The best part is how closely adjacent the beach is to the pool. If you want to get the beach experience, just walk a few feet away to lounge chairs facing Kalapaki Beach. Our room was on the 11th floor of the Kahili wing with an ocean view. It did not disappoint, having the pool, beach and bay view from our balcony was amazing. The room was clean, but the couch was a little dated. We liked to keep our balcony door open but were constantly smelling cigarette smoke from other guests who thought no one would know they snuck a smoke on their balcony. There were also some issues with the elevator in our tower when we arrived, but seemed to be fixed by the time we left. We enjoyed hearing the roosters crow, it gave such a native feel to the area. The restaurants we tried were Dukes for dinner and Kukui's for breakfast. Dukes was very good and the atmosphere was perfect. Breakfast at Kukui's was expensive but expected. The location of the hotel made it easy to do day trips to either side of the island. There is a mall located not far in Lihue with a Macy's and Sears and other typical mall shops and food places. There is a strip mall and some restaurants within walking distance from the resort. This was our first visit to Kauai and this resort helped make it pleasurable. We would definitely stay here again. And the Mai Tai's were spectacular!

Room Tip: The ocean view is amazing, but even a pool view would be worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuitcaseMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

wonderful property, with upgrade to ocean view room!
The staff was incredibly nice and facilities perfect after a long flight from the east coast.
Staff also able to provide a last minute request for additional nights and late check out.
Great fitness room and spectacular pool.
Only sad part is disrepair of the tennis courts and high priced golf- even though the course was nearly empty! Would have been nice to have reduced rates for guests....

Room Tip: anything other than ground floor, which could be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo58-46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaua'i Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaua'i Marriott Resort

Property: Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#1 Business Hotel in Lihue
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#2 Family Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaua'i Marriott Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its warm island hospitality and idyllic location on the Garden Isle, the Kauai Marriott Resort on Kalapaki Beach underwent a $50 million upgrade, with major enhancements to all its guestrooms, suites, restaurants and pool deck. Unique among hotels in Kauai, our resort sits on Kalapaki Bay and offers a wide variety of recreational activities, a superior beach experience and 18 holes of Jack Nicklaus championship golf at the adjacent Kauai Lagoons Golf Club. Business travelers will enjoy our 5 Star Hotel's 20,230 sq ft of flexible meeting and event space in Kauai. Guests traveling for pleasure will enjoy one of the largest family-friendly pools in Hawaii and our spacious 5 star hotel rooms, most of which offer spectacular views and feature a balcony. Pamper yourself with a luxurious spa treatment at our hotel's on-site Alexander Spa and Salon. Discover a leader in style and service among Kauai hotels and resorts and enjoy breathtaking beachfront views at the Kauai Marriott Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kaua'i Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kauai Hotel Lihue
Marriott Kauai Hotel Beach
Marriott Lihue
Lihue Marriott
Marriotts Kauai Beach Club
Kaua'i Marriott Resort Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing