We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DISGUSTING AND LOUD”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Kalapaki Joe's - CLOSED

Kalapaki Joe's
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Koloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
189 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“DISGUSTING AND LOUD”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

this place is loud, not clean looking, slow on service and presents really terrible food that made 3 out of 9 people sick. That's ⅓ of us! I give this place 5 toilet paper rolls as a rating since that is about how much we 3 used that night and the following morning. there were 2 fish dishes and one reuben that made us sick. the reuben was flat, dry, and made me gag. should have sent it back. the fish tasted ok but was probably mishandled or not fresh to cause such gastric upsets. the chicken fingers for the kids looked like something out of a cheap frozen food plastic bag. the fries left one's fingers covered in grease but they were hot and fresh.
this place is so loud and busy that no one could talk or hear each other. on top of that, a hula show was blaring downstairs! i don't know why anyone would go there for anything other than a drink, if that. everything was disgusting.
service is poor--SLOOOOOW, not everyone got a flatware set-up, and water was not refreshed often enough. plus, not cheap for the garbage served.
the place in Poipu is not much better. stay home and make a salad or go to Burger King with, believe it or not, much better food!!! What a totally negative experience and waste of money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ELLEN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    149
    65
    41
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Happy Hour Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We went here one night on a tip. It was great if you were going for Happy hour or bar atmosphere. Dinner was affordably priced and tasted good but they delivered 3 out of 4 entrees and our 4th person waited another 10 minutes for food. It was average for dinner. Not our favorite but the bar menu looked great and Happy Hour seems to be their main focus.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average at best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Kalapaki Joe's offered decent prices for their happy hour menu but beyond that there's nothing to rave about. My husband and I heard they had good burgers but our burger came out burnt to a crisp and barely visible beneath the bun. If you're looking for decent happy hour bar drink prices then you're okay, but the burger and fries were awful. Service was slow and not very friendly. Menus were plastic coated and the entire atmosphere felt unclean. We were staying at the Marriott on Kalapaki Beach and wanted to find a good burger within walking distance. Kalapaki Joe's disappointed. Try the Marriott's burger or Dukes. You might pay a little more but it will be worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had lunch here after a helicopter tour with a company in the same mall. I think they may be a bit understaffed as we had to wait quite a while to be seated even though they were only half full and it took a while for our food to arrive. When the food did come, however, it was very good. Our party of 4 had a nacho appetizer big enough for 6-8 to share. I had the ahi tacos and loved them. Our table on the deck had a view of the ocean, were we could see some surfers in the waves.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnTraveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great happy hour!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Kalapaki's offers one of the best and most affordable happy hours on Kauai. On my last trip, my friends and I visited so frequently that the waitresses started knowing us by name! Even though we showed up almost every day, the staff was friendly and patient. Try the happy hour fish tacos or gigantic plate of nachos - you won't be disappointed! Get to happy hour a little early to ensure a good seat on the balcony of the ocean.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalapaki Joe's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing