We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place - but not in a quiet location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Island Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We had a large room which had everything you could ask for including small ironing board and iron and everything for basic self-catering. Across the road is a lovely family beach, restaurants, shops and an ABC store which was quite well stocked. Lovely gardens; at the front are tables and chairs and a waterfall at the back. The whole place was very clean and very well maintained. The landings and stairs were hosed down regularly and not a cobweb in sight anywhere. All the staff were so pleasant and looked like they enjoyed working there. The building is on 3 floors with outside landings so you hear doors banging, people talking on walkways. It's 5 minutes from the airport so aircraft noise can be heard all day. We weren't kept awake by cockerels but cats one night. The road outside is quite noisy even with the windows shute and it goes on late and starts early. It's a lovely Inn but we wish we could pick it up and move it to somewhere quieter! We still loved it though and would go back in spite of lack of sleep!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flowerlady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

708 - 714 of 820 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2011

A small garden filled with tropical plants, flowers, and trees. Romantic Hawaiian music filling the garden. And comfortable tables waiting to be used for a romantic dinner on Valentines Day. That was our recent experience at the Garden Island Inn.
They should hold a workshop on customer service! Friendly, personable, caring are just a few words to describe the staff at this little gem.
I stayed here (the current #2 in Lihue) and at Kauai Beach Resort (current #1) and give GII a slight edge over KBR. Both are wonderful and offer things that the other cannot. But the artwork, beauty, and personal level of service at Garden Island Inn just can't be beat.
Also, my favorite beach on Kauai, Kalapaki Beach is just across the street as is a shopping complex with an ABC Store.
Finally, the artwork on the doors and throughout the hotel by a local artist only enhances the garden experience at this hidden gem.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natebanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Steve and his team are friendly, professional, outstanding customer service, and they make you feel right at home. Best place to stay & value is fantastic! Takes you back to old and golden days of Hawaii!

Much Mahalo,
Perlas & Joe

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbardouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

At the risk of sounding repetitive, let me just say that this little hotel is a real throwback to the good old days when service was king, Manager Steve and all the rest of the staff, from the front office to the maintenance and maid staff really knock themselves out to make your stay there a memorable one. No other place in Kauai can touch them for value and service, so end your search for a place to stay right here! Mahalo

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wienerfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

The Inn is beautiful and full of happiness. The staff was amazingly friendly! They provide much much more than the expensive hotels, for an aweome value. The Boogie Boards were great, no need to rent! I can't wait to come back! I took a trip for my birthday & received a box of chocolates & a card :) so sweet!
Thank You GII for allowing me to experience and afford an amazing birthday vacation!
( will be back for sure March 2012 for BFF's birthday)

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heartinhanalei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We spent Christmas with our adult kids up in Princeville (at a fancy place), then moved down to Lihue after they left. Our 8 days at the GII were much more pleasant than the time up north.
We had a nice large 2nd floor room with a small fridge for cold drinks. It is a short walk across the street to Kalapaki Beach, a very clean quiet crescent beach. The office has beach chairs, boogie boards, towels, & snorkel gear for your use. Lihue is in the middle of the island so it is easy to drive to other beaches north or south (btw the front desk hooked us up with a rental car at a great rate!) but most of the time we did not have a car. The local bus stops right in front & the fare is only $.50. There are at least 8 restaurants within a short walk, so you have plenty of choices nearby. Best of all, the entire staff is super nice & helpful!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CUBuffFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

My wife and I traveled with her sister and husband, and we had an enjoyable experience. With the help of Tripadvisor we researched this place, and it was everything we expected. We stayed at one of their condos for basically the same price of their rooms which are a bargin to start off with. You have a view of the water, but you are not on the beach. There is traffic noise, but if you use the air conditioning you do not hear it at all. Most of the noise was from the roosters that are present everywhere, and they are quite funny even when they wake you up early in the morning.

The rooms were clean, but note that the bedrooms and the main bathroom (with the tub and shower) are upstairs. Could be a problem for some people. Their maid service is listed as "periodic," but you can request service any time you want, or pick up towels if you need them. The office has beach chairs, beach mats, coolers and other items that you can borrow. Check what they have before you buy anything. They have a library of tour and travel books that I suspect were contributed by past patrons, and the staff could not have been more helpful.

The condo was clean, very well stocked; in fact, check to see what you have before you head to the grocery store. Coffee, paper towels, 3 cork screws (!) no calorie sweetner, etc. were all in the room. A nice small balcony to watch the sun come up and enjoy your morning coffee, good sized kitchen, eating and sitting area.

The pool is a short walk and is salt water. Nothing special, but it is there for your use.

We used it as a base of operation, and since we had a rental car it did not matter if we had to drive to see or do something. Chances are most people will need a rental car anyway, and abundant, beautiful beaches are all over the island. Unless you need to be on the beach (and pay for that dearly in most cases) you would be wise to give this place a try.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BenGruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
3.7 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,381 reviews
9.0 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
6.6 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.8 mi away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#6 of 11 in Lihue
383 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn Hotel

Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: $159 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Garden Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Hotel Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing