We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,234)
Filter reviews
1,234 results
Traveler rating
888
274
56
8
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
888
274
56
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boogie boards beach towels pie granola bars fresh bananas hand painted garden island snorkel gear road noise body boards small hotel beach items within walking distance coffee maker close to the airport abc store front office
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,234 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2019 via mobile

We stayed in the condo at garden island for our weeks holiday. It was a fantastic location easy walk to beach and shops and the staff we so friendly. Service was excellent, the staff were very friendly and helpful. A yummy breakfast was included each day as well as any beach equipment, chairs, boards etc fantastic accomodation will come and stay again

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank H2obaby20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha! Thank you so much for your comments on staying at our Condo option. The condo gives you may options for space and preparing meals, Glad you found the location very walkable and enjoyed the fabulous views from the decks.. We look forward to your return and many more smiles! Mahalo, Lis & Steve Layne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

After reading some other reviews on this location we also decided to give it a try.

It is indeed a very nice place to stay on budget, in a very good location. The service of employees is very good and quick, and you get assistence with many questions that you might have.
The room has all you would need, including a fridge of good size, microwave and some complimentary snacks that otherwise you need to pay in other big chain hotels.

Overall a very good experience, and we would be happy to stay here again if we return to Kauai.
Thanks to the whole team!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank flymexico2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2019

Mahalo for you wonderful review. It delights us to know you enjoyed you stay and our outstanding guest service. Having a wet-bar kitchenette in the rooms, allows our guests to have colds drinks and snacks to enjoy on the Lanai or at a outdoor garden table. I will pass along your compliments to our team. See you next trip. Aloha, Lis & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019

kind of a combination of a B&B, boutique hotel and a motel. the owners live in the bottom floor. lush plants everywhere, super decorative, even the doors are hand illustrated. the air conditioning is just a wall unit but it works, especially if you sleep in the bed closest to the unit. right across from the beach. they included a kind of scavenger hunt to get you to go see some otherwise unknown fun stuff, like a closed golf course that is now a running/hiking/nature trail that is within walking distance. kind of reminds me of the maui islander in lahaina but smaller and more personal.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KnuckleWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2019

Aloha! Thank you for choosing to stay with us in our value packed hotel. We do provide many complimentary amenities: WIFI, parking, breakfast, snacks, DVD movies, beach gear, beach towels, luggage storage, and plenty of local knowledge and suggestions. It is an art filled hotel, which is a dramatic change from boring white hotel chain style rooms. We want you to have an amazing experience during your stay clean, comfortable, kooky and fun!
Our Treasure Hunt map is 15 nearby sites that we encourage you to explore, so nice you enjoyed the jogging trail, nature walk a favorite of mine. Hope to see you at our beach location, value packed boutique hotel again.
Mahalo, Lis & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2019

We originally had reserved a room at the Inn but changed to a larger condo in the resort that is owned by the owner of the Inn. The condo was very nice and we had access to the resort pool which was nice. The condo itself was decorated with a Hawaiian decor and filled with artwork by a local artist..very colorful. Re the AC unit, we did notify the office that the unit was not cooling. They sent the maintenance crew to fix it, but that is all they did was turn down the thermostat which did nothing to fix the problem. We met the owner at breakfast several times and we regret now that we did not call the problem to his attention. We know now that he would have replaced the unit.
Other than that the Inn really went out of their way to make the mornings pleasant with a beautiful selection of fruits and rolls and fresh coffee and a delicious custard fruit pie . The gardens at the Inn are beautiful with a little area for sitting and enjoying. I appreciated this unique place to stay that truly captured the feeling of Aloha.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank Traveldiive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2019

Mahalo for this review to clear up our understanding of the A/C in the Condo. Cherie had not told us about your conversation to her and her deploying the maintenance man up to the condo until after she read my response to your review. Yes , had anyone mentioned the issue to Steve, it would have been removed and the new A/C immediately installed. Steve learned a great saying and family tradition from his father: "there is no manana" see it... do it now..., do not put on a list or get around to it latter. Cherie carries the same philosophy, she addresses problems immediately, and holds the personal accountable. Today we can give our apology, and inform you the new a/c is wonderful, thanks to you bringing it to our attention.
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found so many wonderful details that gave you pleasure at our hotel and condo property. I hope you accept another upgrade on your next stay with us. Sincerely, Lis & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019

We had originally planned to stay in one of their motel units but switched to a condo unit next door owned by Garden Island so that we would have more room and could use the condo complex's swimming pool. Condo unit was OK but it desperstely needs a new AC unit in the guest bedroom. The grounds and the people are nice. Good location for exploring the island..

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Charleszckr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lis L, Owner at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We have replaced the A/C unit with a new one. We are surprised to know after checkout that guest bedroom the AC wasn't cooling. We have several new, powerful AC units stored at the hotel and it could have been replaced very easily had you alerted us during your stay. There are 3 air conditioners at our Condos: master bedroom, guest bedroom, and living room. We take great pride in providing, clean, comfortable, art filled accommodations. Our hotel has a maintenance provider, 7 days a week, to ensure all systems are in good working condition. Mahalo for choosing to stay with us as you explored Kauai from this great location. Aloha, Lis & Steve Layne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews