We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb customer service and family atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Garden Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Garden Island Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb customer service and family atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

We enjoyed our stay immensely! Great value, beautiful gardens, wonderfully painted artistic rooms and best of all....the people running the place bent over backwards to make our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NiksterD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    203
    48
    7
    8
See reviews for
159
375
58
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2009

Great central location, can get to all parts of the Island quickly. Close to the airport but we never really heard air traffic. The staff of this hotel was exceptional and took personal interest in our stay. When we arrived, we met Annie, working the front desk at the Garden Island Inn. Her warm and vivacious personality make her a great ambassador for Kauai and make a great first impression for this hotel. For the 8 days that we stayed there, her enthusiasm never waned. Robin, Susan, and all the others were great to work with too and all were quick to accommodate any of our needs. They have plenty of beach equipment including chairs, snorkel items, boogie boards, etc. for loan. The rooms were clean, comfortable, modern, and well decorated and we're definitely going to come back to the Garden Island Inn and Kauai.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissouriERdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2009

The Garden Island Inn is a short taxi-ride from the airport (about $10) and across the street from the Kalapaki Beach and Marriott Resort. It is not a fancy hotel but is a great value for $110 during high season. The room was clean and comfortable but you should not have unrealistic expectations of luxury amenities. There was some noise from the cars on the street facing the building but nothing that should bother someone of average sensitivity. We were only there for 3 nights but I would have been comfortable there a week since we had a very active stay and only used the room for sleeping. If you are the type who spends a lot of time in your room on vacation or needs very plush accommodations this probably wont suit you.

The free wireless access in the room was great and there was a fridge and microwave in our room which was very convenient. We ate at Dukes once for lunch and once for dinner since it was right across the street but you will need a car or taxi to get to other restaurant options. We ate at Dani's and Tip Top in town for local breakfast and lunch options and each time was super affordable (under $30 for 2 people) and yummy.

  • Liked — Wireless, great value, proximity to beach
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TheTravelGlutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2009

Good for a night or two if you need to be close the airport.
The price is high for what you get.
Kauai is awesome so if this place fits your budget go for it.
Make sure you look around at some of the bigger hotels because they run specials

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Pillows
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Camelduece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

We stayed at the garden island inn for a couple of days before going to Hanalei thanks to the great reviews on here. Everything good that we read about this gorgous hotel was right on. The art that fills the whole grounds along with the beautiful gardens really gives thatold hawaiian feeling. The helpful staff and free beach gear really exemplifies the aloha spirit. I would deffinately reccommend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean affordable stay with the old time hawaiian feel to it.

  • Liked — The friendlyness of the staff
  • Disliked — nothing everything was great
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lal49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2008

I can't think of a bad thing to say about the Garden Island Inn. A short taxi fare from the airport but far enough away from it to not be annoyed by aircraft noise.

The rooms are lovely and the local bus stops right out front. The staff are very helpful and the price is right. There is also 24 hour help if other guests are too noisy!

A perfect place to stay while you take in the wonders of Kaua'i.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank young4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2008

stayed at this hotel our first night in kauai. definately what i would classify as a budget hotel. we stayed in a palm level room on the ground floor (#1). it had air conditioning and was tidy but i wouldn't say clean. there was a definate need for some deep cleaning in the nooks and crannies. the staff was friendly and helpful and the overall ambiance on the outside is charming and welcoming. also, our toliet seat was broken. okay for a one night stay but i wouldn't book for your entire trip.

  • Liked — convenient location to the airport and restaurants in lihue
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank piperlouwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn

Property: Garden Island Inn
Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing