We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value,very handy to beach and airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Garden Island Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Everthing as promised:
10 mins to Lihue airport, easy free parking, easy walk across the road to Kalapaki Beach, shops, restaurants etc.
Comfortable room at a fraction of the price of the huge Marriott/Hyatt whatever resort across the road.
Super friendly and helpful staff always a bonus!!

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room (smaller door faces the street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rickd66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve l, Owner at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

We agree, our tropical boutique hotel, offers our version of 5 star value, at a fraction of the high end resort chain hotels. We enjoy making all of our guest feel at home! Thanks for choosing us, we look forward to your next visit. Mahalo, Lis & Steve Layne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 819 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

This small boutique style hotel was a delight. Reasonable prices and friendly staff added to the charming ambience. Rooms were spacious and linens good quality. Easy free parking and office offered complimentary cookies and granola bars, etc., as well as coffee. Close proximity to shops and stores and across the street from Marriott and dukes bar and kalipaki beach. Only thing lacking was an ice machine. A gem of a find with an old style Hawaiian flavor.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crystalcatSandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve l, Owner at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Thank you so much for recognizing what great value we offer. Our housekeepers are gems who prepare each room with great pride from cleaning, to fresh laundered linens & towels, and our own garden flower agangements. I will pass along your praise to the entire staff as we agree they all provide aloha to everyone, in every way, everyday. Kalapaki Bay has much to offer, so glad you enjoyed our location and your visit to Kauai! Mahalo, Lis & Steve Layne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is absolutely the perfect place to stay on Kauai. Great location (central point to all areas of island). Great price. Great hospitality. Very clean. Walking distance to several restaurants, coffee shop, souvenir shops, Kalapaki Beach. They provide everything you need! They even had coffee and this delicious "island pie" in the office most of the mornings we were there. Very friendly, helpful staff. I was very impressed and will stay there again when I go back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve l, Owner at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for the perfect description of what surounds the hotel, just out the front door. We try to provide for most of the vacation amenities of our guests at no added costs, So glad you enjoyed our family owned artsy boutiqe Inn. Mahalo for recommending us, we look forward to seeing you again!
Lis & Steve Layne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

If you want to feel like you are staying with friends or family, this is the place. It's not a luxury beach resort but a unique inn where everyone from the owners to the office staff to the cleaning staff makes you feel welcome. The rooms are all uniquely decorated. Every door of the inn has a one of a kind colorful painting by Kauai artist Camile Fontaine along with more of her paintings in the rooms as well as in the office. A fresh Hawaiian flower arrangement is in your room. There is a pie or pastry and coffee in the office every morning. You may sit on your own lanai or at a table in the garden or on the third floor looking at the palms. Flowers are abundant and the manmade waterfall is soothing. Two shopping centers with restaurants are walking distance - you can simply walk across the street and have a delicious dinner by the water. Everyone at the Inn wants to make your visit enjoyable. The spirit of Aloha is alive and well at the Garden Island Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ybnva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve l, Owner at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

We are so glad you made yourself at home and enjoyed the hotel, the location, and our people. WE love to make everything extraordinary particularly a warm welcome to our guests. Your visits to the loby to share your smiles and adventures was a pleasure to us! Mahalo for your review, we look forward to your next stay with us! Aloha, Lis & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed four nights without a car and took tours that picked up and dropped off just in front of the hotel at the locals bus stop. Local buses were easy to use. Friendly, kind, helpful, accommodating staff who obviously love working and being here who know their ways round the island. Don't miss the pumpkin pie with fruit atop for breakfast. Rooms clean with everything one needs like Microwave, fridge, coffeemaker and fixings plus air conditioning if needed over fresh, clean air. Unique concept for exteriour decoration with the tastefully and happy "old Hawai'i" Fauvist style of local painter, Camile Fontaine. Each door is a unique beach scene and all rooms are decorated by her canvases. The gardens are immaculately kept and feature local flora, waterfalls, and fish. Walk across the street to the beach on Kalapaki Bay. Nearby restaurants in various Hawai'i price ranges from $-$$$$. ABC store too! $12 taxi ride to and from airport. It was a fantastic stay and definitely worth every penny for one of the least expensive stays on the island! Safe, secure environment! Highly recommended!
.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JANEDAY18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve l, Owner at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Thank you, thank you, thank you, for your beautiful pictures! We saw you with your camera shooting flowers and garden scenes so glad you saw the beauty in all things as we do. WE are very fortunate to have an artist spend almost 2 years living at the hotel painting beautiful tropical inspired murals and canvases. All of our rooms and room decor are unique and we hope inspire and renue our guests. The front deck staff are long time locals who enjoy sharing favorite activities and sights to visit, and we think have the best spirit of aloha anywhere on the island. Many thanks for your review and recommendation! Aloha, Lis & Steve Layne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

A good friend on the mainland had recommended the Inn as very reasonable and in a great location (within a minute) of nearby Kalapaki Bay. My wife and I can vouch for so much more – friendly, helpful staff (no trouble getting our boarding passes printed before our return flight); the apartment doors, walls and almost every inch of this charming boutique hotel adorned with bright, tropical scenes; fresh cake and cookies all day and yes, less than a minute's walk to the great swimming in Kalapaki Bay. Our room was charming, clean and very comfortable with its own tiny lanai. Just outside our front door was a wall fountain with brilliant bougainvillea and a glorious traveller palm. Several shops and a wide choice of restaurants are just a short walk away. We will most certainly be back!

Room Tip: Though we loved the sound of the fountain outside our door on the second floor, others might require...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve l, Owner at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

It was our pleasure having you and your wife for an extended stay with us. WE so love it when friends recommend our hotel to their friends and hence discover us too. The morning distance ocean swims in the gental, warm ocean water, at Kalapaki Bay, with you as my buddy, was a delightful experience! All of us at the hotel look forward to your return! Mahalo, Lis & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

While I only stayed one day I was impressed from the start by the friendly and helpful staff. First I arrived well before check in hoping I could drop off my luggage maybe it was the dark circles under my eyes but the staff made an effort to have my room ready so I could check in right away. Fresh baked cookies go a long way to relieve travel lag. The room was clean and painted in bright cherry colours that imparted that Kauai welcome I found else where while here. Reasonably priced and right on the beach, with complimentary beach chairs and towels so a cooling dip ( a couple more cookies in hand) in the bay soon restored me and a great nights sleep in the comfortable bed all added to the experience.

Room Tip: The second floor has the better view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigRivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve l, Owner at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for all your acknowledgements!! We so enjoy our staff, our family at the Garden Island Inn. Their aloha, along with cookies and pie, do light up every day here. Our beautiful gardens, koi ponds, waterfall, and Kalapaki Beach await your return. Thanks you for recomending us.
Sincerely, Lis & Steve Layne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
3.7 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,377 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
59 reviews
9.0 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.8 mi away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#7 of 11 in Lihue
383 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn Hotel

Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: $159 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Garden Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Hotel Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing