We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Island Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Central location, good for island sightseeing. Restaurants and beach nearby. Free coffee and free selected breakfast items in the morning, free Wi-Fi, free parking, free DVD borrowing. Owners and staff are unusually friendly and helpful. Traffic noise from nearby road might bother some, but not us. (We're sound sleepers, plus our room was near the fountain/waterfall which provided a pleasant background sound). An excellent choice at a modest (for Kauai) price. We stayed there for 10 nights over the 2013 Christmas holidays, and hated to leave.

Room Tip: A room located near the waterfall, in back of the hotel, minimizes the sound of any road traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (868)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 868 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

I booked online. The allocated room 221 is on the ground floor tucked behind reception. Very dark, cramped. The ?kitchen? is blessed with a microwave and single bed. No balcony, no view, smelled of lack of little use as if others had looked at it and left. The main room is small yet jammed with a queen bed, a single bed, a small round table, two chairs and a tv. Simply awful. Claustrophobic. I cancelled, and booked elsewhere. The receptionist is delightful and I suspect has heard many similar complaints about this particular room. The other rooms may be better but I did not see them as the Inn was otherwise booked out.

Room Tip: Avoid room 221 at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Gordon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve l, Owner at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

We are sorry the room you booked didn't suit your needs. I am very glad to hear the staff gave you a full refund, and tried to find a different room. The Garden Island Inn has only 21 rooms and many different bedding configurations, room sizes, view & balcony options. I truly wish you would have called our hotel to make this reservation, rather than Expedia because we would have made sure you were booking a room with a balcony, a view , the proper bedding arrangement, and the size of room you would have been comfortable with. This ground floor room you booked is a good choice for many people with certain needs, handicapped or small family. Please call or use our website, which has pictures and discription on the rooms, our hotel reservation staff knows the best rooms to accommodate the perfect room for your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We arrived at the Garden Island Inn in a rainy morning. Lihue is definitely not the most beautiful area of Kaua'i. However, the instant we set foot on the front desk room, we were received by a lovely lady who greeted us happily, checked us in early, showed us our comfortable and cozy room, and let us know so many perks of this small boutique hotel that nothing but shocked us. First of all, the room we stayed in had a queen-sized double bed and two single beds. Standard bathroom and kitchen area, with fridge, microwave and dishes. Cozy island decoration and cable television. Every morning, fresh coffee and pie at the front desk, plus cookies, snacks bars and coffee for free during the day. Office hours from 7:30 am to 9 pm really were put in practice, but an emergency phone was given and encouraged to be called were anything to happen. There is a nearby big gym that charges $15 for a day pass. Kalapaki beach is a gorgeous spot, and you can check-out free towels, beach chairs and other interesting stuff at the front desk. It's just a 2-mile ride to a Macy's if you need some urgent shopping. There is also a small center right across the street. JJ Broilers, Duke's and Kalapaki Joe's are good nearby food choices. All in all, what we most absolutely adored was the congenial and comfortable atmosphere of the place. No, it's not a Grand Hyatt, but the staff compensates :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adrian0f2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Nice location that is close to shopping. Rooms are modest but clean. Beds are European hard. Might want to mention your bed preference when booking.. Owners and staff are wonderful. When we complained about the bed alternate arrangements were offered as well as cancelation without penalty. Recommend this hotel for adding a few days to your timeshare.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank ShaRays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

What a find! The friendly staff is tireless in their efforts to make their guests happy. You will be surrounded by lush greenery and original art. The rooms are outdated, but efficient and clean. When you walk to the beach they will lend you whatever you need: umbrellas, chairs, coolers, boogie boards. The fresh-squeezed juice from the tangelo trees outside was a delightful touch! Don’t overlook this gem because their customer service is 5-star.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kendra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel is a 2-2.5 star hotel that has all your basic budget hotel amenities. The price and location are very appealing and I would happily stay here again. We had a view of the ocean from our balcony and the beach is literally across the street and through the park. The staff is very friendly and has plenty of beach towels, chairs, umbrellas, etc. for you to borrow. Rooms are clean but furnishings, towels, and bedspreads (yes, bedspreads) are dated. If you want a resort, stay at a resort; but if you want a cool little budget hotel with an artsy look and lush landscaping, this hotel is for you. The free parking is nice, too. Tip, no elevator so pack light.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tsf_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at the Garden Island Inn in December of 2013. We found the staff to be very welcoming and giving. The owners/innkeepers were interested in telling us specific details about activities to do and places to visit on the island. They answered all of our questions thoroughly. They generously loaned us snorkeling sets, boogies boards, and beach chairs which saved us from renting or buying the items. Every day they served coffee, freshly squeezed juice from the tangelo tree, and granola bars. On Christmas morning and the next couple of days after, they baked fresh coffee cake and pumpkin pie sprinkled with coconut. We were encouraged to pick and eat as many fresh tangelos as we wanted. I loved that the rooms and public areas are filled with colorful artwork! The Inn is close to the airport and is in a convenient location to explore the whole island. Waimea Canyon State Park is an easy drive to the southwest, and the Napali Coast is an easy drive to the northwest. The Inn is close to stores and restaurants in Lihue. There is a beach close by as well. The rooms have jalousie windows which encourage great air flow. We never needed to turn on the air conditioner. The rooms are not large, but we really didn't hang out inside - no need to! We had a balcony with a bay view. Outside, there is a space to relax with tables and chairs among the lush vegetation. In the back they have installed a waterfall, which helps to block out street noises. We did get some mosquito bites, so bring your insect repellent for sitting outside. I highly recommend the Garden Island Inn, and would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SMSPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,424 reviews
Kauai Shores Hotel
#9 of 11 in Kapaa
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Kauai Inn
#7 of 11 in Lihue
385 reviews
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn Hotel

Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: $147 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Hotel Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing