We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place after a late night flight”
Review of Garden Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Island Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Lawrence, KS
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place after a late night flight”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We rented a house for a week on the north shore but we didn't want to drive up there after a very long day of flights and not getting in until well after dark. The Garden Island was perfect for our purposes of a one-night place to crash. It is an easy five-minute drive from the airport even in the dark. We got the cheapest room they had. It was small and on the bottom floor but we loved it. What could have been sort of an odd, old and small motel room was transformed by the art, painting and landscaping outside into something delightfully quirky . The room air conditioner masked any noise and the bed was great. The room was clean.

Because our internal clocks hadn't yet changed we were awake before dawn. We were hungry but needed to wait until the recommended breakfast place (Kalapaki Beach Hut, great too) opened at 6:30. We made cups of coffee in our room and walked across the street to sit by the water and watch the sunrise. A great start to our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyInAVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    211
    49
    7
    8
See reviews for
167
394
61
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
144 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great family owned hotel that is close to the airport and in the center of Lihue. The owners went a little overboard decorating their rooms... The rooms have flowers painted on the walls, etc. A little overboard for me but still appreciate the owners effort.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSW731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Other Tripadvisor reviews were on the money
Garden Island Inn is a great place to stay
Friendly, nothing was a problem
Rooms were great
Beach close by, shops as well
Great position being about the middle of driving to either end of Kauai
Definitely will be staying here when we return to Kauai

Room Tip: Can choose your room on their website, spend the extra and get a room with a partial ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiiiildbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We needed a place to stay during the day since our flight was leaving really late. Garden Island Inn was so great to give us a special day rate!! The rooms are decorated so beautifully with tropical paintings, and the rooms are very clean! The staff was so friendly, and very accommodating!! As well, the price is so reasonable! Great place, and right across the street from the beach and great places to eat!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We expected a good experience from the reviews we read, but we were still surprised -- and delighted. The Inn is not for those that are happy only in an opulent resort atmosphere -- the beach isn't right outside the door and our shower was too small to be comfortable (not enough to dent our 5-star rating), but the bed was incredibly comfortable, the room was clean, the proprietors and staff are friendly and helpful, all the necessary amenities were in place; and games, movies, beach and surf gear are freely available to borrow. Beach, the airport, and good, reasonably-priced restaurants are nearby. And the room and gardens -- and the proprietors -- are INTERESTING! We'll stay here again in a heartbeat!

E. Lee

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elliott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoodsport, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The pictures online made it look like the place was on the beach so we were disappointed when we saw that it was across a busy road then a public park and then the beach. The room we got was very small - I mean claustrophobic small - double bed accessible from one side only as it was up against the wall. This room was right for one person on a quick overnight. We decided not to stay and they offered us an immediate refund but also offered to up-grade us so we checked out the new room and it was fine. Nice size, balcony, view of the water. We stayed three nights and they really won us over. Germaine was the leader of the pack - friendly and full of very useful suggestions and information. All front desk and room attendants were very friendly. Coffee and cookies each morning at the front desk area as well as beach towels, folding chairs and other good stuff.

Location is perfect to start your trip out or for an overnight before early departure as it is close to the airport. There are a number of good restaurants and shops within walking distance. We liked JJ's for BBQ and island food (pulled pork and cabbage with an island flavor was my favorite).

Room Tip: Third floor, center area that faces the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Where do I begin with the review? Amazing, perfect, one of the highlights of the trip? Those would be a few words to describe my stay at the Garden Island Inn. From the moment my friend and I arrived we were treated like family. Use of all the beach items they had, tips on where to go, staff that were genuinely interested in you and what you were doing. At one point they even tried to find a toaster oven for my friend to use because she was craving cookies, where can you find a place that will do that for you?

The room was cozy and comfortable. The kitchenette suited our needs and we were able to have some breakfasts and snacks in the room saving on our eating out all week.

The staff were amazing. I have stayed in resorts, 5 star hotels and have never had the experience as I did here. Both my friend and I were very touched that on our visit it was a staff members birthday, and we were actually invited to their home to celebrate with them. Each morning there was fresh coffee and a smile asking what we had planned for the day, and the housekeeping staff were fantastic. We were never for want of anything.

This is not a resort destination, you will not find a lavish pool or over priced restaurant on property. You will find a quaint hotel steeped in Hawaiian charm that makes you feel like you are actually in Hawaii. The grounds are very well maintained, with ample areas to sit outside and enjoy the beauty of the gardens. You will hear chickens... you are on Kauai, so really you will need to get used to it.

I loved its location as it was within walking distance of the ABC for little things needed, Dukes and The Feral Pig (both great places to eat) and right across from the beach.

I will come back, and this will definitely be one of those places that I tell everyone about if they want to get a good feel of Kauai and experience a more local flavor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tinaann2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,274 reviews
Kauai Shores Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kapaa
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn

Property: Garden Island Inn
Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Garden Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing