We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Island Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Other Tripadvisor reviews were on the money
Garden Island Inn is a great place to stay
Friendly, nothing was a problem
Rooms were great
Beach close by, shops as well
Great position being about the middle of driving to either end of Kauai
Definitely will be staying here when we return to Kauai

Room Tip: Can choose your room on their website, spend the extra and get a room with a partial ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiiiildbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 807 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

We needed a place to stay during the day since our flight was leaving really late. Garden Island Inn was so great to give us a special day rate!! The rooms are decorated so beautifully with tropical paintings, and the rooms are very clean! The staff was so friendly, and very accommodating!! As well, the price is so reasonable! Great place, and right across the street from the beach and great places to eat!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We expected a good experience from the reviews we read, but we were still surprised -- and delighted. The Inn is not for those that are happy only in an opulent resort atmosphere -- the beach isn't right outside the door and our shower was too small to be comfortable (not enough to dent our 5-star rating), but the bed was incredibly comfortable, the room was clean, the proprietors and staff are friendly and helpful, all the necessary amenities were in place; and games, movies, beach and surf gear are freely available to borrow. Beach, the airport, and good, reasonably-priced restaurants are nearby. And the room and gardens -- and the proprietors -- are INTERESTING! We'll stay here again in a heartbeat!

E. Lee

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Elliott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The pictures online made it look like the place was on the beach so we were disappointed when we saw that it was across a busy road then a public park and then the beach. The room we got was very small - I mean claustrophobic small - double bed accessible from one side only as it was up against the wall. This room was right for one person on a quick overnight. We decided not to stay and they offered us an immediate refund but also offered to up-grade us so we checked out the new room and it was fine. Nice size, balcony, view of the water. We stayed three nights and they really won us over. Germaine was the leader of the pack - friendly and full of very useful suggestions and information. All front desk and room attendants were very friendly. Coffee and cookies each morning at the front desk area as well as beach towels, folding chairs and other good stuff.

Location is perfect to start your trip out or for an overnight before early departure as it is close to the airport. There are a number of good restaurants and shops within walking distance. We liked JJ's for BBQ and island food (pulled pork and cabbage with an island flavor was my favorite).

Room Tip: Third floor, center area that faces the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Where do I begin with the review? Amazing, perfect, one of the highlights of the trip? Those would be a few words to describe my stay at the Garden Island Inn. From the moment my friend and I arrived we were treated like family. Use of all the beach items they had, tips on where to go, staff that were genuinely interested in you and what you were doing. At one point they even tried to find a toaster oven for my friend to use because she was craving cookies, where can you find a place that will do that for you?

The room was cozy and comfortable. The kitchenette suited our needs and we were able to have some breakfasts and snacks in the room saving on our eating out all week.

The staff were amazing. I have stayed in resorts, 5 star hotels and have never had the experience as I did here. Both my friend and I were very touched that on our visit it was a staff members birthday, and we were actually invited to their home to celebrate with them. Each morning there was fresh coffee and a smile asking what we had planned for the day, and the housekeeping staff were fantastic. We were never for want of anything.

This is not a resort destination, you will not find a lavish pool or over priced restaurant on property. You will find a quaint hotel steeped in Hawaiian charm that makes you feel like you are actually in Hawaii. The grounds are very well maintained, with ample areas to sit outside and enjoy the beauty of the gardens. You will hear chickens... you are on Kauai, so really you will need to get used to it.

I loved its location as it was within walking distance of the ABC for little things needed, Dukes and The Feral Pig (both great places to eat) and right across from the beach.

I will come back, and this will definitely be one of those places that I tell everyone about if they want to get a good feel of Kauai and experience a more local flavor.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tinaann2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My 17 yo Son and I (a guy) stayed at the Garden Island Inn in Lihue for two nights in May and our stay was perfect. The location was perfect for us with Dukes and the Beach being a short walk away. Beautifully kept facility in every way from the room to the wonderful places to sit outside the rooms looking over/into the plants/gardens surrounding 3/4 of the hotel. This is a small hotel/property but perfect for "non-resort" visits to Kauai and far exceeded my expectations that were already pretty high from the other TA reviewers. We had the very nice and large king/single room with full kitchen and 3 balcony areas on the third floor other reviews described by number - it is a very nice room. Now, we are very active (out by 9 am/back after 8 pm) so we typically spend little time at hotels swimming in their pools, sitting in their bars/restaurants and wandering their incredible and expansive garden areas so not having (nor paying for) the many amenities resorts like the Grand Hyatt (a beautiful resort outside Lihue) offer made the Garden Island Inn absolutely perfect for our stay. The two people we interacted with at the office were very nice and my Son did use some of their free use beach items.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank BCHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Although simple in its style and accommodations, this hotel has quite a homey feel, somewhat comfortable and convenient in terms of location to nearby shops and restaurants and off the the view and the kalapaki beach.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and made the stay extra pleasant. I would definitely stay here again if i'm ever in Kauai again

Room Tip: If travelling with heavy luggage try the ground floor as there are only stairs to the 2nd and 3rd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank food-fitness-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
45 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn Hotel

Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: $158 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Garden Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Hotel Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing