We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location For Everything”
Review of Garden Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Island Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Location For Everything”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here a week. Located in a great central location near Lihue to branch out around the island to explore. Easy drive to Lihue town, airport, and marina. We stayed here on the strength of TA reviews and they were right on target that this is a great place to stay. Low key, beautiful artwork, non-fussy, and generous loaner items in the front lobby. We stayed on first floor and there was great ventilation thru the windows back thru to the waterfall at the rear of the building. Loved the garden out front, seating area, and koi ponds. Walking distance to open water swimming every morning in Kalapaki Bay (entered from the Mariott's beach by the canoe storage area) and loved eating at the Kalapaki Beach hut. Yes the road out front was moderately busy, but the small amount of audible traffic noise ceased at night.

Room Tip: First floor are a nice retreat from the sun after a day outside. No need for the ocean view rooms if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    217
    49
    7
    8
See reviews for
174
405
63
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Friendly staff, nice garden and decorations, but close to a busy road. There was a latch lock on the door, but no dead bolt.
Our room didn’t appear to have been cleaned: there was a sheet of paper on the floor, and the coffee creamer had not been added to. We couldn’t find the TV remote, and the receptionist came to help us look for it, without success. On the morning of our departure we finally found it –– stuck behind a bed-post.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank skybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Our flight was getting into Lihue late about 11 PM and we had to pick up our car. We thought the Garden Island Inn would be a good choice but I didn't think it was the type of place to have someone at the front desk 24 hours. I called from the airport and got a recording that said if I was stranded to call an emergency number. Wayne answered and said our key was taped to the office door, told me which stairway to use and not to worry. I knew then there was an "aloha vibe" to the place. We had an ocean view but it was across the road and a parking lot. It is walking distance to a beach, a restaurant and a few shops. The staff was accomodating, they had a koi pond, small but nice landscaping and a "waterfall" to cover the road noise. It is a convenient location and a good value. After a good night's rest, we were on our way north to explore.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the third floor. As far as I know, there is no elevator so we had to carry our bag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishingchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Charming and out of the ordinary would be the best way to describe the Garden Island Inn. We stayed in a one BR suite: a corner arrangement with a kitchenette (micro, coffee pot, frig), sitting area with a twin bed, kingsized bed in BR and large bath. There was also a wrap-around balcony. The decorations are pure Hawaiiana with lots of kitsch. The bed and pillows were comfortable and the place was clean. The courtyard is filled with flowers, seating areas, fountains. The balconies are decorated with Xmas lights. A thouroughly delightful place that's just one block off the beach and within easy walking distance of shopping and the restaurants of the Marriott. the Garden Island Inn is about 5" from the Lihue Airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Bad: Too much traffic noise, which continued all night and was quite loud. Lukewarm shower & fishy smell from the koi pond. The Good: Friendly staff in the office with muslie bars, cookies & coffee for snacks. We arrived on a late night flight to Kauai for 6 days & because i didn't sleep at all that first night at the Garden Island Inn - i ended up sleeping all the next day at another hotel. I regret staying there as i wasted precious holiday time catching up on sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kym S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loofer, Owner at Garden Island Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for booking at the Garden Island Inn . We are very proud of our many Koi ponds. The water is always clean and clear. The oder you experienced might have been the Koi breeding. Koi can hold their eggs ready for up to a year until the time is right. At that time all the males and all the females partake in the breeding. The breeding is smelly and foaming, and this yearly event only lasts 1 day.
I am sorry but not surprised to hear you were tired the next day; after a long, late night, west bound flight. Most people, myself very much included, traveling long distances across many time zones, might experience jet lag. It is common to have our biological clock a little off the first night and day. I am glad that you were able to find other accommodations, and trust your remaining time on the beautiful garden island of Kauai is spectacular! Steve & Lis Layne, owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We based out of this hotel for five days and it provided a great location to see the entire island.
The hotel is a 60s style three level with small rooms and gorgeous paintings of the island as a motif. The artist has left for the mainland, but the atmosphere is layback and tropical. The staff is caring and friendly, and do provide suggestions for dinner/activities with a native pride.
It is not the Grand Waileah Hotel so do not be disillusioned. It is a great alternative to the regal palaces that have blossomed all over Hawaii. It is a step back in time with all the access to beach/stores and restaurants that you could want.
I slept with no a/c just the sound of a waterfall and the trade winds blowing through the open jalousie windows. How many review stars does that get?

Room Tip: Room 14 is ten feet from a waterfall that will put you to sleep like Vicadin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChiTDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our first night in Kauai. We loved the decor and friendliness of the this little Inn. It was right across the street from Kalapaki Beach. We ate dinner at world famous Duke's and watched all the beach activities while catching the sunset. One word. Beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gravytrain72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,313 reviews
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn

Property: Garden Island Inn
Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Garden Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing