We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel - very convenient!”
Review of Garden Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Island Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great little hotel - very convenient!”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My friend and I stayed at this hotel the first night and the last night of our Na Pali adventure... Jan and the rest of the staff is very friendly, they are very close to the airport, the rooms are decent and everybody is very helpful! our backpacks got soaked in the ocean and the owner offered us to use his dryer... we nice! and the following day he hooked us up with his best friend to sail a catamaran the entire morning, in Hanalei! we had a blast!! thank you all! :)

and it's on the way to Wamea Canyon! very central !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sebas07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    216
    49
    7
    8
See reviews for
174
404
62
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed here one night on our arrival in Kauai. Very clean and cute mom and pop hotel. Road noise was not a problem for us. Across the road from Nawiliwi Park and the beach. Not a big posh resort, but good stay for the budget minded.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deertwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed one night at the Garden Island Inn. Great central location in Lihue. Staff is very friendly. Room is a great value for the price and cleanliness. Road noise was not an issue for us. Wish we would have stayed longer, and will definitely be back here on our next visit to Kauai!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TarheelHRM2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We have stayed at the Garden Island Inn every time we have visited Kauai and have always loved it. This time we stayed in one of the larger rooms, which was very spacious, but all the rooms we have stayed in have been excellent. The rooms are cheerfully decorated and furnished with Island-style furniture, and there is the original art work of Kauai artist Camile Fontaine on display throughout the hotel. The staff members are very friendly and helpful. Kalapaki Beach, the Kauai Marriott Resort, and the Anchor Mall are just across the road. The beautifully designed Duke’s Canoe Club restaurant is also across the street from the Garden Island Inn. The meals and mai tai drinks at Duke’s are good and the Hula Pie is a real treat. Be prepared to share the Hula Pie as it is huge. The Garden Island Inn feels like a home away from home for us. Also, the location is superb as it about equal distance to either end of the road that circles most of Kauai from this hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skipper050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We just came home from almost a two-week stay at the Garden Island Inn Hotel in Kauai. It was our first trip to Kauai. We wanted a small hotel, not one of the big chain hotels, that was central and had at least a microwave and frig. I was a big concerned because many reviews mentioned traffic noise and I'm the lightest sleeper on the planet, but the people I spoke to when making the reservation and calling back to ask questions were so nice that we decided to stay there. There was a box of chocolate macadamia nuts in the room with a welcome note. When I couldn't sleep on the first night because of traffic noise even with earplugs, we were moved to another room that was fine for the rest of our stay. We really didn't want to have to go elsewhere. Room 14 for those who are willing to give up a large balcony for less noise. The staff, Sheila, Joyce, Germaine, and Jan, are wonderful - knowledgeable, and really, really nice. They were especially helpful, with regards to places to not pass up, they know all of the really great places on the island and the best beaches and what to expect at each of them. Avelina maintained our room, kept the flowers fresh, replenished the coffee for the coffee maker, and was also very, very pleasant. Wayne, a cheerful man who lives on site, taught us how to use the DVD. We didn't need the A/C - the ceiling fan was enough. The hotel provided beach chairs, towels, beach mats, snorkel gear, granola bars, fruit, books, some DVDs, free wifi, and smiles every day. They maintain notebooks of recommendations for restaurants and other things to do. The hotel is centrally located, across from a beach, with easy access to the rest of the island. We went everywhere during our trip, and on a return visit would stay nowhere else.

Laura & Bill

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, let them know and ask for room 14 or one close to the waterfall to su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Very lovely, clean, friendly, and reasonably priced place to stay on Kauai. I've stayed there twice and both times everything was excellent. The staff are friendly, housekeeping is meticulous, and you get the island feel at this hotel. I will be going back, and can highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Very friendly hotel, close to the airport, beach across the street, short drive to all activites on the island. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for nice place just after or just before your flight. Rooms include small fridge, microwave, DVD, TV, coffee maker, A/C and fresh flowers. Free wifi, bodyboards, DVDs, games, beach towels, fins... Will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floor are cheeper, but you get a dark room. For our second stay, we have selected roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clovicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,307 reviews
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn

Property: Garden Island Inn
Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Garden Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing