We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for short visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Garden Island Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2008

We stayed here one night until our week long place was available. It was easy to get to from the airport late at night and across the street from the beach. Couple small but nice little shopping malls within a minute's walk, too. Beach there looked fine but didn't seem to be a popular spot except for surfers. Great litte breakfast place called "The Beachhut" close, too where we had one of our breakfasts ever. Rooms are cute and small with modest kitchen facilities. We would have felt cramped if we had been there more than a couple nights although, while not luxurious, the rooms were quite comforable and the facilities were well maintained. Staff was effecient and courteous. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again under the same circumstances but woudn't recommend it for a long stay.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stehds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

774 - 780 of 820 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2008

Our family had a wonderful stay at the Garden Island Inn last week. The hospitality of the owners was second to none that we have ever experienced. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel at home. The gardens are exquisite with all the tropical plants and flowers you could imagine in addition to the sound of the water feature and indoor/outdoor koi ponds. Our accommodations were impeccably clean, well appointed and had all the amenities to make us comfortable. Shopping and restaurants were within a short stroll and the beach is across the street. We also enjoyed watching the cruise ships come in and out of Nawiliwili Harbor. The Garden Island Inn is very reasonably priced for their location to the beach and is our choice for a great accommodation on the Garden Island of Kauai. What more can we say, it was absolutely fabulous!

Loretta and Michael D'Alonzo
Peoria, Arizona

Stayed: December 2007
4  Thank Crew2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2007

Aside from the loud traffic, the partying in the hotel, on the street, in the park across the street, the airplanes overhead, and the protesters against the "Super Ferry" which is right across the street!, and the fact that the place is full of ants and roaches.... People from the bars stagering down the street at 2:00 a.m ranting and raving at the top of their lungs, drag racing up and down the street at all hours.The place is fine if you are looking for a Youth Hostol envrionment. If you book a room and ask for a Queen bed - be carefull! The rooms have twin beds that they shove together and call it a queen, the problem is it has a huge crevase in the center making for a difficult night sleep. The lesson here is that rooms on Kauai are expensive! If you think the prices here are too good to be true for Kauai, you are probably right. We have traveled to Kauai many times and will continue to do so however, we will never stay here again nor reccommend it. we will bite the bullet and pay to price to get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank justmenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loofer, Owner and Live in Property Manager at Garden Island Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2007

Aloha,
My name is Steve Layne and I am the sole proprietor of the twenty one-room Garden Island Inn Hotel. This January 2008 will be my twentieth year anniversary of owning, managing and living at the Garden Island Inn. I am very sad when I read a bad review. I have tried very hard to make the Garden Island Inn a tourists ‘home away from home’, and we will do just about anything to accommodate our guests wishes and needs.
This review was posted four months after their stay wit us. As for any unhappy guest, we offer full refunds as well as gift certificates from Dukes Canoe Club Restaurant.
To address these concerns;
Partying at the Garden Island Inn has never been allowed. Any guest that we feel might make excessive noise must sign an authorization to charge their credit card up to $800 dollars if any others are disturbed. Any guest who is disturbed will then be compensated. This authorization form helps to keep the noise level to a minimum.
We are located near the Lihue Airport but only in very rare conditions do planes fly in our path. The Kona winds need to be blowing at the same time the Lihue main runway is closed for maintenance. These circumstances are very rare.
Since August we have spoken with the Staff Captains of the cruise ships who have enforced a zero drinking tolerance for their employees. Also there are fewer ships that spend the night since August, as well as a shuttle that is now provided for the ‘late niters’ of the ship.
The Superferry had two afternoons/ early evening protests back in August, and the Superferry has not been back since. No date for a return of the Superferry is established at this time, however if it returns to Kauai it will depart at 7 pm.
The ants and bugs are a concern for every hotel in the tropics. We try to be as eco-friendly as possible. Too much poison is not good for our guests, and too little seems to invite the critters. We do our best to control them by spraying the outside of the rooms, and using just the right amount inside. We do our best to keep our rooms spotless.
Our hotel only has a few rooms that the beds can be joined. We have new fitted sheets and fitted pillow top mattress pads to hold the beds together and keep the crevasse from opening.
I am truly sorry for this experience at our hotel. We consistently try to provide our guests with an economical hotel value and plenty of Aloha.


Aloha,
Steve Layne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2007

The Garden Island Inn-what a delight! My husband and I stayed there recently; we live on the Big Island and wanted to see more of our gorgeous state.
The property is lovely and well-kept. The back gardens are awash in bouganvillea and huge green fronds; there is a lovely koi pool in the front entrance garden which is the home of very intelligent and fascinating fish.
Mara and John were wonderful hosts, and our room (their nicest suite!) was clean, comfortable and nicely appointed, featuring local artwork on the walls and a fish-themed bathroom that just made me break into a wide grin when first I saw it!
Nestled onto the shore of Nawilil Harbor, it is also literally two minutes' walk from Kalapaki Beach, where I learned how to catch a wave for the first time. The Inn will lend you anything you need for the beach, including boogie boards, snorkel gear and beach towels.
The vibe is very aloha at Garden Island Inn! Thank you John and Mara-we'll be back just as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank radiantwahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

We spent our last night on Kauai here due to its proximity to the airport and low price. Family traveling with us had decent rooms and were happy with them. HOWEVER....we had a second floor room way down at the end. The room had small little windows with little access to daylight. There was a single door leading to a corner balcony that was no bigger than a shower stall. The room also had an unpleasant odor to it but we had no place else to stay for our final night in Kauai so we decided we could survive there for just one night. In the wee hours of the morning, cockroaches were discovered in the bathroom and something 2 1/2" long was spotted crawling under one of the beds. With that, I immediately packed up my belongings and spent the remainder of the night sleeping in the front seat of the rental car.
If you MUST stay here, be sure to avoid the room with the corner balcony!

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Felinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2007

We stayed here the last day and night of our trip to Kauai, because of the convenient location to the airport. Don't go here expecting luxury accomodations, but it was a perfectly reasonable room for a decent rate. Our room was small, but clean and cozy. The front desk was very friendly, and even offered to let us borrow from their plentiful supply of snorkeling and other beach gear as we headed out for the day. The location is convenient to several restaurants and shops. I would recommend this hotel mainly for young, budget travelers who want to spend their days out at the beach, because there is no pool/beachfront at the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brooklynnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2007

We stayed on the third floor and had a great view of the park and the beach. The room had everything we needed, a blender, a coffee maker, fridge and a microwave. The bathroom was nice, even a little seat to sit on in the shower when you shave (important for women!!!) The artwork all around was so cute, and had a true island feel, the same artist painted all the doors to all the guest room. My favorite was the hula girl! We enjoyed our stay, and they even let you borrow a cooler to pack some drinks for all day excursions! It was centrally located, easy to view the whole island! It was perfect for what we needed.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank littlekies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
3.7 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,382 reviews
9.0 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
6.6 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.8 mi away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#6 of 11 in Lihue
383 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn Hotel

Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: $159 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Garden Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Hotel Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing