We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden Island Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Garden Island Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our trip to Kauai. For the price it was great. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. They had advice on snorkel spots and even had beach gear you can borrow at no charge, including towels, beach chairs, snorkel gear and more. The inn is within walking distance to a nice beach you can surf or paddle board at as well as good restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (802)
There are newer reviews for Garden Island Inn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

641 - 647 of 802 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2011

Beautiful grounds well cared for by the owner who lives there. Room 103 just fine for 1 or 2; has fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, ceiling fan, privae bath. Outdoor tables and chairs with lovely taped Hawaiian music, to relax, plan your Kauai stay, enjoy your brought-in liquids and solids. Complimentary freshly squeezed citrus juice in the office--couldn't ID it, and was told it was Pomelo, plcked from trees on the property. Also, snacks and coffee on the house. Available to borrow at no cost are water-sports equipment, board games, beach towels. Across the road from convenience stores, internet cafe, luxury hotel, beach. Friendly, accommodating office staff. A few minutes from center of town, centrally located to tour Kauai in all directions

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crfeuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Long long plain ride from Connecticut. Arrived in the dark 9pm. Strange rental car. Rumors of tight winding roads...

Thank heavens for the Garden Island Inn. 3 easy miles from the airport. Very clean and comfy and maybe even hip. Next morning they had everything we needed to walk across the road to the beach and try to nap/recover. Close to all the big stores so we could stockup on supplies for our 11 night trip. Close to the Kilohana Plantation so we didn't have to drive far after having a maitai. GREAT VALUE and as centrally located as you could get. Our one bedroom suite was surely spacious and comfortable enough for a whole week's stay if needed.

Only down side is the street noise. Didn't notice it at night with the airconditioner on. But did for sure during the day, although by the third day I'll admit I wasn't noticing it as much.


My “tips” for the Inn are: (1) Stay on the third floor if you plan on spending more than one night there. There is a lovely quiet lanai at the back of the Inn for 3rd floor guests. I checked the other floors, they didn't have that. (2) Turn the hot water on for a while before your shower. There's lots of it, but it took a while to make it to the third floor. (3) Skip Dukes - too touristy, skip the sports bar across the street from them - zero service, head to JJs Boiler room or the luau.

And lastly, our take on the perfect first-time Kauai itinerary:
·Spend first 2 nights at Garden Island Inn - Lihue
·While there go to Kilohana Plantation Luau for dinner. (Only offered two nights a week so book your flights accordingly)
·Move to Waimea Plantation Cottages 3-4nights (see my review for them along w/ St.Regis-wasted$, and Hanalei Surfboard house-loveloveloved.)
·On the way there take a helicopter tour out of Port Allen (We used Inter Island tours who were GREAT but you need to be able to handle having the doors off!)
·Move to the East or North Shore for the remainder. You must check out the north shore beaches. They are like nowhere on earth, and I know. You’ll constantly be out of your room, so you don’t need to be in a palace.
·The best activities were: helicopter, learning how to paddle-board, dinner at Bar Acuda and snorkeling at Ke’e beach.
Mahalo!

Room Tip: I would bet they are all really good. These guys know what they're doing.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ski_Luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed at the garden Island Inn on our last night in Kauai and found it very convenient for Lihue, restaurants and the airport the following morning. The WIFi was excellent too - such a hep when one is travelling.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pseudonymity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Staying here is so easy and affordable I had 2nd visit this year. Kalapaki Beach water was clear and calm perfecting my stand up paddle board skills. The welcome back by the "family of staff" made me feel I had come home. Serving fresh bananas, avocados, tangelos, plus the cookies, health bars, and coffee was a great start for the day. New improvements around the lush grounds great for R+R, and planing next activity. Ideal location to get around this paridise island.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luckyski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

After spending 3 wonderful nights at the Garden Island Inn, I am so glad I found this little haven so near the beach and other activities. Loved that we could walk to dinner or to the beach in just minutes. The hospitality at the Garden Island Inn is wonderful and the rooms comfortable. Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We went to both the Big Island and Kauai and we found the Garden Island Inn to be the best match to our needs. The price was super reasonable for a king size bed suite, clean and with a/c. But it's really the staff that made a difference. They warmly welcomed us and offered their time as if we were the only guests. Their recommendations were always helpful and appropriate. They also provided insightful comments about the area and its people. The last day, as we were leaving only late at night, they still catered to us all day long as if we were paying guests. And don't miss the fantastic paintings that brighten the whole hotel! Aloha!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank libertanora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
578 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn Hotel

Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: $157 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Garden Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Hotel Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing