We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE LOVED IT , AGAIN!!!”
Review of Garden Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Island Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WE LOVED IT , AGAIN!!!”
Reviewed July 9, 2011

this was our second visit in 2 years
welcomed back with 'welcome home "
we stay 4-5 weeks as. this is our anniversay vacation.
(this year #43),,,
why would we go back for our anniversary?
Not only for the rooms , view , the island, but a feeling we get from the day we check in. .
First name basis and we are special!!. Lots of beach stuff to borrow, not have to rent including coolers and beach towels.Across the street is the wonderful Kalapaki Bay, in front of the LIHUE MARIOTT. ... Paddle board, surf or snorkel right there.
and so is DUKES RESAURANT at THE MARIOTT: . (be sure to have their fish tacos )
This is the best value and location on the island..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aloha1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    212
    49
    7
    8
See reviews for
170
398
61
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed here on our last night on the island because it was convenient to the airport, and it turned out to be a very pleasant surprise. The Garden Island Inn is a cute little property with terrific helpful and friendly staff, located right across the street from Kilauea Beach. It is decorated with original art by local artists and we found it charming. It has nice outdoor sitting areas on the ground floor and top floor that are a nice place for a book or a happy hour drink.

Room Tip: The top floor has great beach views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DIandNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, Ca.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

This hotel is in a great convenient location. I would recommend a 2nd or 3rd story room. The staff is wonderful, very helpful, very accommodating. If you are looking for a hotel with nightlife this is not it but it is within walking distance of quite a few restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamborine Mountain, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

From the moment we arrived we felt completely at ease at GII. Steve Layne and his team made sure that nothing was too much bother, and in fact went out of their way to make sure it wasn't. Service like this is worth more than just money... and the little things were not only nice touches, they are the things that make memories.

Our family (2 adults + 1 10-year old daughter) stayed in one of the condos, up beside the pool area. It was great. We stayed for 10 days, so it felt like home by the end of it. The accommodations were comfortable, clean and spacious enough so we could have our own space when required. The kitchen is pretty much fully equipped with ceramic top stove, oven, dishwasher, refrigerator... And this meant we could just cook at "home" when we didn't feel like eating out. Mind you there are plenty of good restaurants nearby (although some are a touch expensive compared to what we are used to back home), but we expected this in Kauai, so all was good.

Added bonuses included free use of bug spray, sunblock, beach gear including mask + snorkel, towels, etc. Parking was right outside our room, and the swimming pool was only a short walk away (and not noisy from where we were staying).

You could walk to all the shops and restaurants, as well as Kalapaki Beach (with the old looking and dated Marriott). Moana Loa Helicopters office was one block away too. They were awesome. Souvenir shops nearby if you are into shopping, and Kukui Grove Shopping Centre was a leisurely 10 minute car ride. Perfect.

If there was a downside (and this is only very minor...) it was that we needed to have the air-conditioning on to sleep as we hadn't acclimatised to the warm nights (although this helped mask out some minimal street noise as well).

We had some spare $USD on our return to Australia, and instead of changing it back to local currency, I think we'll hang onto it and plan our return trip...

Room Tip: Condo K131 is up on the hillside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SpyderRSS_Rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woods Cross, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We loved the Garden Island Inn! At first my husband didn't want to stay there because the hotel only had a two star rating but I would give it a 5 star. We spent two nights at the Marriott and the rest of our stay was at the Garden Island Inn. I would choose the Garden Isalnd Inn over any other hotel! The Marriott was nice but you had to pay extra for everything, even parking. The Garden Island Inn allows you to use the same beach as the Marriott. At the Garden Island Inn I really did feel like I was at home. There was a small kitchen area so we could warm up food in the microwave (which we did not have at the Marriott). I needed help sending a postcard to my kids and the people at this hotel were quick to help me. They had everything we needed at no additional cost, they let us borrow snorkel gear, beach towels, coolers, boogie boards, games, beach matts, etc... It was so nice and saved us a lot of money. Everyone that worked there was so friendly and helpful! They helped us plan our trips and where to go out to eat. They offered us cookies as we passed by the office. They even let us clean up in a room after check out so we did not have to be salty for our late night flight. I will recommend this hotel to all my friends! It was also nice being able to walk right from the parking lot ot our room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 197lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed at the Garden Island Inn last week on the tail end of a nine day vacation on Kauai. We rented a beach house in Hanalei for a week but needed to fill in two days until our flight home. My oldest son, his wife, and our three grand children - 7 yrs, 3 yrs, and 9 mos were along and we were a little concerned that the kids would be bored at a hotel, that was until we arrived. In some ways, staying at the GII was the highlight of the trip. It was very child friendly and had plenty of beach supplies that were for use free of charge. The location provided great access to the beach, shopping, and restaurants, all within walking distance. Don't miss out on the best shave ice ever.

Steve and Lilly really went the extra mile to make sure we were comfortable. All in all, we loved our stay at GII, We will definitely be back.

JA - Las Vegas, NV

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jaskeroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles CA
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 875 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Having stayed on the north shore at the posh Princeville Resort (now the posher St. Regis) for my last 2 visits to Kauai, I knew that for my latest trip to my favourite HI island, the focus would be on the island itself and its diverse scenic wonders. While north shore views are unabashedly beautiful, its quite a schlep to south shore sites like Waimea Canyon. So for this trip I wanted to be more centrally located in Lihue, Kauai's largest town with several inexpensive local-y places to eat, and did not need a luxurious resort with a pool, spa, and beach to loll about in or spend time at. After researching TA reviews and individual hotel websites, I chose the Garden Island Inn for a 6 day stay ending on Memorial Day, and it fit the bill perfectly. I even eschewed a private sale website offer at TA's #1 Lihue hotel, the Kauai Beach Resort. Like the Inn's brochure says, it offers "comfort, convenience, and economy".

The Inn is located about 5 min. from the airport; no airport noise was noted, however. It's a 21 room, 3 story inn with lots of added touches that elevate it far above a basic motel. The exterior explodes with island colour--local artist Camile Fontaine individually painted the door to every room, every lanai partition, and several public walls. Her canvases hang in every room and the lobby (some are for sale). The doormats are shaped like a cluster of beach flip-flops. The 1st floor room doors and windows face the street, but are shielded by a lushly landscaped "front yard" complete with a lawn, some chaises, and tables with chairs. The 2nd and 3rd floor rooms are entered from the rear (where there is a 3 story waterfall), with lanais facing the front, with ocean views in the distance. The 3rd floor rooms have the largest floor plans. There is a large outdoor lanai on the 3rd floor set up with sofas and tables where games can be played.

The island flavour continues inside the rooms. I had probably the smallest (and least expensive) room on the 2nd floor, but it literally had all the amenities of the other standard rooms, except for the kitchen sink. The rooms, which are tiled rather than carpeted, have walls and ceilings painted with a palm tree finish; the ceilings are plastered for a 3-D palm tree effect. The light switch plates have palm trees. There is a vase with a fresh tropical arrangement, wall-mounted A/C, ceiling fan, kitchenette with mini-fridge, microwave, coffee-maker (with Kona coffee) and sink (except my room), DVD player, free WiFi, free local calls. The bathroom was small but functional with a shower (no tub) and liquid toiletries contained in wall-mounted dispensers in the shower and by the sink . The suites may have individual toiletry bottles, at least they do on the inn's website photos.

The Inn's staff exudes island hospitality; an owner and/or manager has an on-site apartment. The small lobby with its indoor/outdoor koi pond offers morning coffee and all day snacks, plus a variety of beach equipment, board games, towels, coolers, sunscreen, guidebooks, etc. There are no guest laundry facilities on-site; you are directed to a nearby laundromat. There is no pool and of course no spa, but Kalapaki Beach and Park are across the street--this beach also fronts the large Kauai Marriott Resort. The street you cross to get to the beach is a busy one (Nawiliwili Ave.), but there are crosswalks where locals actually stop to let you cross! The Anchor Cove mall is also across the street, and it has, most importantly, and ABC store. Another mall (Harbor Mall), is up the street. Both malls have restaurants, and Marriott's pricey beach-side restaurants are also adjacent. The Nawiliwili Harbor is also across the street--the large Pride of America cruise ship docks here on Thursday morning until Friday afternoon--you may see lots of tour buses leaving the harbour for excursions.

Lihue and the Inn are basically a midway point between north and south shore sites--very convenient. Also, Lihue is where Costco, Walmart, Kmart, Macy's and Hilo Hattie are located, plus many restaurants, some of which have large local followings as well as tourist "invaders". We tried several a few minutes drive or walk from the inn: Mark's Place, Tip Top Cafe, Hamura's Saimin, Lihue BBQ Inn, Kalapaki Beach Hut. We also aimed for value and local flavour (over ambience and comfort) when dining elsewhere on the island: Duane's Ono-Char, Kilauea Fish Market, Sueoka's Snack Shop, Puka Dogs, Shrimp Station, Jo Jo's Shave Ice. We became accustomed to eating outdoors amidst sudden but brief rainstorms and marauding flies, chickens and other fowl. I found the well-known guidebook with the blue cover essential.

We took a peek at the renovated St. Regis, our former haunt. The lobby is smaller now with the addition of an on-site spa, and everything else has been upgraded, including the prices. I also took a peek at the Kauai Inn, the closest comparison to the Garden Island Inn in terms of cost, location, and TA reviews (the 2 places flip-flop between #2 and #3). The Kauai Inn, in a residential area more off the beaten path, is larger--about 48 rooms in a cluster of four 2 story buildings surrounding an small pool. They offer a free continental breakfast and laundry facilities. Apparently, some rooms don't have A/C (these are cheaper) and I'm not sure about WiFI.

The Inn is definitely a place to consider for its location and cost, and if you want to explore all the adventures and beauty Kauai has to offer. If you are looking for a lazy, resort-potato experience, I would suggest the St. Regis the Grand Hyatt, or the Marriott.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pillowsofwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,292 reviews
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Inn

Property: Garden Island Inn
Address: 3445 Wilcox Rd, Kalapki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9590
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#1 Family Hotel in Lihue
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#4 Business Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Island Inn is a quaint, affordable boutique hotel by the lovely Kalapaki Beach and Bay, the Kauai Marriott and Lagoons and the Nawiliwili Harbor. Kalapaki Beach offers safe surfing, stand up paddle boarding, canoing, kayaking, sailing for beginners to intermediate, fishing or just plain relaxing and sunning.This is Kauai's center for shopping, live music and dining with a choice of 10 of Kauai's finest restaurants all within a short leisurely walking distance from the Garden Island Inn Hotel.The Garden Island Inn has quick and easy access from the Lihue Airport and to all the sights and activities Kauai has to offer. Let us be your home away from home while you discover Kauai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Garden Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Lihue
Garden Island Lihue
Garden Island Inn Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing