We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in Hawaii”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marjorie's Kauai Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Lawai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best B&B in Hawaii”
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We have have stayed at 5 different B&B's and several condos on Kauai , Mauai, and the Big Island in the last 7 years and Marjories has no match for service, meals and family style treatment. Mike and Alexis are consumate pros who attend to your every need. Snorkle gear, coolers,sunscreen, insect repellent, beach chairs- everything is provided for your convenience. Located cliffside with a marvelous, inspiring view into a beautiful valley and farm with goats, horses and sheep. A romantic and peaceful experience awaits you.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HodAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    17
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
16
295
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
156 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

If you are in Kauai and prefer not to be in a big resort or a gated complex of luxury rentals, and want to spend less, Marjorie's B&B is an attractive option. With three guest rooms, Marjorie's overlooks a lush valley of small farms not far from the quaint former sugar milling town of Koloa. The beaches and restaurants of Poipu are within easy reach. The rooms are comfortable, clean and well equipped, and each has a lanai or covered veranda looking over the valley. There is an attractive pool and a hot tub. However, the best feature is the friendly reception and healthy breakfast you will get from the owners Mike and Alexis (or, in our case, from temporary managers while they were away).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tosca08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

We had an amazing stay at this beautiful inn. Mike and Alexis left their inn in very good hands; Gary and Luanne treated us like family. We enjoyed the yummy healthy breakfasts and the personal assistance we received planning our daily adventures. Our Valley View room had an expansive view of the valley and sunsets. We enjoyed chatting with the other guests and sharing stories about places we had explored. We look forward to visiting here in the future! We will always try to do more than one fun thing each day!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urbanjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

My wife found Marjorie's during a Google search and we're really glad she did! We've stayed in B&B's around the world and we'd have to rank this as Number One! The hosts, Alexis & Mike, were more than hosts - they were like family! So much to talk about with people who have the rare ability to listen as well as talk. The stay is worth it just to have their company.

But beyond Aleixis & Mike, the venue itself is special. When we first arrived I was disappointed to find that there was no view of the ocean (my wife told me if I'd had a look at the web site in advance I would have known that!!). But on the second day, and sitting on our super-large deck, the valley views and tranquility won me over - whether catching up on my emails, reading on my new Kindle, or having take-out dinner.

Folks, it just doesn't get any better than this!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acgardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

"The best view in Kauai" we were told by the owner Alexis Boilini when we called to inquire about availability. She wasn't kidding! We had superior lodgings in our "Sunset Room" which was actually an efficiency as we had a refrigerator, coffee-maker, and a microwave. As if this was not enough we had a large private balcony with its own jaccusi. We were served wonderful fresh fruit, baked goods and cooked-to-order eggs and/or buckwheat pancakes or waffles each day for breakfast, created professionally by Mike, the resident owner/chef. Mike and Alexis are wonderful hosts that know the island and can help you plan your day or your stay. They make you feel more like family than Inn guests. We were even invited to a dinner they were hosting for friends. We stayed for six days but didn't want to leave. The Inn (which only has three guest rooms) is located on the side of a mountain (maybe it's just a big hill) looking down into a valley which has horse and sheep farms below. The sun sets at the end of the valley and is glorious. Go for the view, stay for the conviviality and food. My wife and I will return and recommend Marjorie's Kauai Inn highly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miami_FLDutchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothbury
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

My husband and I had the best time at this wonderful find in paradise. Away from the sea and overlooking a lush valley, Marjorie's Inn is a well kept, prominently positioned and pleasantly furnished guest house. Our room had a private lanei and we had access to a private pool and hot tub - perfect for evening star gazing. On the south coast, Marjories was ideally positioned for access to the gorgeous Poipu beaches, the lush greenery of the Waimea canyon, the volcanic sandy beaches, 20mins from the capital Lihue and its nearby east coast surf spots and an hour from the beautiful and untouched sunkissed white sandy beaches on the North coast.
The hosts Alexis & Mike were on vacation leaving us in the capable hands of guest innkeepers Gary & Luanne. We could not have asked for better hosts. The views, facilities and breakfasts were excellent (we stayed 10 nights and only had two repeats of Gary's cooked special). They were such a lovely couple, doing a brilliant job that Alexis & Mike should be proud of their efforts to preserve the B&B's reputation. It was the little things that contributed to our overall enjoyment, such as the availability of snorkelling gear, surf shoes, mats, chairs and beach towels, spare toiletries, suncream, insect spray, etc. Can we comment on anything we'd improve? Not a thing...just go!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RothburyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

I picked Marjorie's Kauai Inn based on a cursory glance at TripAdvisor reviews and I'm completely delighted that I did so. I had a terrific time and am planning a trip back to the same spot in the spring.

You won't find better hosts than Mike and Alexis. They're terrific and they have a wonderful property located on a steep slope overlooking a verdant valley. The view of the farmland in the valleys, the mountain peaks in the distance, and the sunset in the evening are all spectacular. This is Hawaii the way it ought to be. Relax and enjoy.

Thank you, Mike and Alexis, for sharing your home with me.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANCtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lawai
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
767 reviews
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marjorie's Kauai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marjorie's Kauai Inn

Property: Marjorie's Kauai Inn
Address: P.O. Box 866, Lawai, Kauai, HI 96765
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lawai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lawai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marjorie's Kauai Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marjorie's has a 50' salt water pool overlooking the beautiful Lawai valley. There are 2 hot tubs for our guests to use. We want all of our guests to feel at home so we provide boogie boards, fins and snorkel equipment, bikes, a kayak, a large bbq by the pool, and a surf board. Our guests can use the washer/dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Marjorie's Kauai Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marjorie`s Kauai Hotel Lawai
Marjorie's Kauai Inn Lawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing