We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marjorie's Kauai Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Lawai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
nj
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

what a nice find this place was.. in a neighborhood, perched on a hill overlooking a valley.. the sunsets were great. Mike is a very good host, with good conversation, island ideas, and geez - he sure cooks a mean french toast, even accommodating our gluten free needs. the breakfast was outstanding, with quality continental items, and with always one hot dish (eggs, pancakes, french toast). Our room (Tradewind) was very nice, with a mini fridge, 4 post bed, spacious deck with lounge chairs, and a cool wall art (I will include the picture). I also availed myself of the pool and hot tub - great after a long day of hiking in the Canyon. One more unexpected treat: Mike's offer to use the washer dryer if we needed to. I REALLY needed to wash our hiking clothes. that was most welcome.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    17
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
14
282
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in the Sunset view room and everything was perfect! Alexis and Mike's place is just stunning and they are very welcoming.

They gave us many advices such as snorkeling spots, great restaurants and things we couldn't miss in Kauai. They manage to book Luau show for us, which we really enjoyed by the way. Mike also booked a last minute helicopter tour for us and we even had front seats: it was just amazing!

And the breakfasts were delightful: freshly squeezed fruit juices every morning, eggs, pancakes, local organic granola, yoghurts, cakes, fruits... you got it: a very complete breakfast that you have on the lanai with a breathtaking view on the valley.

Our room was also perfect: the bed was very comfy, and we had a private hot tub on our lanai from where we could enjoy the sunset and the valley.

Also, many beach equipments are available: chairs, coolers, beach towels, snorkels etc.

Mahalo Alexis and Mike, we really enjoyed our stay and if we come back in Kauai one day (we hope so), we'll definitely stay at your place again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chocovore261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Marjorie's Inn is THE place to stay on Kauai! If you want comfort, privacy, convenient location, delicious organic gourmet breakfasts, and friendly hosts who are both accessible and respectful of your privacy then don't miss this treasure! In 12 years of B&B stays from Kaui to Kentucky and states between, Marjorie's is hands down our all time favorite! We introduced our friends to the B&B experience here and they were thrilled with the Valley View room. We stayed in the Sunset View room and were delighted with the comfort and breath-taking views this room affords.

Marjorie's offers so many amenities: cooler, beach chairs, snorkel gear, beach towels, access to washer and dryer, oh, did I mention the salt water pool? Honestly, this is like having your own slice of paradise--so don't miss this gem!!!

Alexis and Mike,
We thoroughly enjoyed our conversations with both of you and are already planning a return visit!
Mahalo for your impeccable hospitality,
Ted and Nita

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nachelpohlmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I recently returned home from our stay on Kauai, and in particular Marjorie's Kauai Inn. Previously, we had only stayed at hotels while traveling, so a B&B was a brand new experience for us, and boy- were we blown away. The perfect combination of stunning views, gourmet organic breakfasts, and the impeccable hospitality of the innkeepers easily make Marjorie's one of the best places we've ever stayed. It's a definite five star in our book, and we can't wait to come back.

Mahalo,
Eric & Daniela

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holderness, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

The positive reviewers got it right. What a wonderful bed and breakfast! Our gracious host (thank you Dawn) was warm, welcoming and kind. The room (we lucked out and got the suite due to a last minute cancellation) was magnificent (although all of the rooms are wonderful, each with their own charm). Views to die for. Outstanding meals and service. Peaceful. Wishing we could have stayed longer! Gratefully, Michael and Reine

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had a positive experience at Marjorie’s. The owners were away so a guest hostess Dawn took care of us. Dawn was wonderful. She was kind, generous and very friendly. She seemed genuinely caring and we really enjoying speaking with her.

The room was small, but very nice with a great view of the valley from the balcony. It got a bit hot in the afternoon, but the ceiling fan cooled things down just fine. The room had a mini kitchen with a microwave, sink, mini fridge and utensils. They left us a very nice snack in the mini fridge. We were offered the use of many supplies including water, soda, suntan lotion, beach towels, hiking sticks, a hat, snorkeling gear, bandaids and anything else we desired from the garage. You can also do your own laundry which was nice.

Breakfast was very good with juice, coffee, tea, pastries, fruit and a main food, such as pancakes. We were full every morning.

We could never get the knack of parking on the driveway on the sharp hill, but everyone was very nice about it. There are a lot of roosters and goats in the valleys and they created a lot of noise at times, but did not disturb our sleep.

On the downside, the property seemed in need of a little attention. It was moderately clean. A little maintenance would help the place really shine. The hot tub was covered and smelled slightly of mildew. I am not sure if anything can be done about this since it is kept covered. Overall, a good place. The location was pretty good on the sunny southern shore.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lziol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin,ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We just returned from on visit to Kauai and stayed at Marjorie's Kauai Inn. First the view from the rooms are amazing. Beware the driveway up to the house is very steep and a daily challenge to back out each day, but once you are use to it its not so bad. You have to back out half way and maneuver your way out. There are chickens every early morning the crow but the host does provide earplugs for you. We were not aware that the bed and breakfast have different hosts staying at the end in place of the owners. The host was very nice and friendly. Their breakfast is continental ,a lot of food but it is continental. This probably depends who the host is not sure. The visit was great and the view was terrific.

Room Tip: We stayed the Valley View room amazing view and huge deck to enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lefii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marjorieskauaiinn, Owner at Marjorie's Kauai Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Our full breakfast is served at your leisure, buffet style ( from 7:30-9:00am). In addition to the fresh and natural ingredients used in preparing our hot and cold items on the buffet bar, we also always make available eggs to order. Please follow the link to our breakfast page.

A beautiful view sometimes comes with a small trade off like a steep hill to park on. On rare occasions some guests have shared their discomfort in parking on a slope. For those those who find it uncomfortable doing so, we have other options available.

I wish we we could make 100% of the guest who come to us happy 100% of the time. That's often impossible but we keep trying.
Alexis, owner of Marjorie's Kauai Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lawai
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marjorie's Kauai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marjorie's Kauai Inn

Property: Marjorie's Kauai Inn
Address: P.O. Box 866, Lawai, Kauai, HI 96765
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lawai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lawai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marjorie's has a 50' salt water pool overlooking the beautiful Lawai valley. There are 2 hot tubs for our guests to use. We want all of our guests to feel at home so we provide boogie boards, fins and snorkel equipment, bikes, a kayak, a large bbq by the pool, and a surf board. Our guests can use the washer/dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Marjorie's Kauai Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marjorie`s Kauai Hotel Lawai
Marjorie's Kauai Inn Lawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing