We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marjorie's Kauai Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Lawai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2008

My wife and I spent three nights in the Valley View room and have only praise for both the inn and inn keepers. We had the unusual pleasure of meeting both sets of hosts; Mike and Alexis checked us in and we received a bounty of great advice from them. Unfortunately, we only met Michael and Daniela the last morning of our stay, but they were engaging and a delight to talk with and surely would have provided us with outstanding advice for our stay had we met earlier.
The Inn peeks from the trees on the sunset facing valley slope, and is a sublime hideaway. There is definitely a sense of idyllic seclusion from the property. The rooster calls across the lowlands, and bird songs (with the occasional gecko squawk) were really the only sounds we heard. We kept so busy enjoying the many gorgeous sites of Kauai; there was little chance to enjoy the Inn’s amenities. The pool looked perfect for morning laps, and the hot-tub an excellent place for dusk soaks. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and the Inn provides an eclectic selection of outdoor toys for your enjoyment; from bicycles to snorkel gear, lawn chairs and boogie boards.
Breakfast was of the continental variety, with a few additional local items. I tend to eat larger breakfasts before active days, so I might recommend the Inn’s breakfast as a prelude to a larger meal, should you be planning hikes or a day of physical exertion. That is definitely not a critique of the breakfast selection; the selection would be more than enough to fuel an afternoon of site seeing.
This is a great choice in a truly beautiful place.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
There are newer reviews for Marjorie's Kauai Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 391 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2008

Our stay at Marjorie's Kauai Inn exceded all of our expectations. The innkeepers, Daniela and Michael, were friendly and offered several suggestions for activities and dining. Our room was comfortable, unique and had a large private lanai that overlooked a beautiful valley. Books on local sights, snorkel gear and beach chairs were available to borrow. A simple, but delicious, breakfast was served daily. It was a good time to greet the other guests and compare notes. The inn was a great change of pace from a large resort and we would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2008

My husband and I loved this B&B - we stayed in the Valley View room for 5 nights and were sad to leave! Photos do not do it justice. Daniela is a most gracious innkeeper - she is extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the island and attractions. The view from our huge lanai (deck) was AMAZING - twinkling lights at night and gorgeous views during the day. The pool is spectacular - you truly feel like you are in paradise when you are lounging poolside. Unlike other B&B's, you have a lot of privacy at Marjorie's - breakfast is served between 7:30 and 9:30, so you don't have to show up at a specific time. Speaking of, breakfast was really nice - fresh bagels, croissants, fruit, granola, cereals, oatmeal, yogurt, etc., which is served in the lovely kitchen of the house. You can either take the food back to your room or eat on the lanai off the kitchen. We loved nearly everything about Marjorie's, with just a few exceptions: our room was quite small (although the other units are probably larger), the shower was tiny, and you have to park on a steep hill (the car doors kept shutting on us when we were unloading/loading). The location was excellent - it was very quiet yet we were close to everything. The room and house were extremely clean, too. Don't hesitate to book a room here - you'll love it!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2007

Skip the over-hyped resorts and stay at Marjorie’s Kauai Inn! Located in a peaceful, picturesque valley, Marjorie’s was a jewel of a B&B and the Innkeepers, Daniela and Michael were a delight! Intelligent and well-informed, their recommendations on everything from dining to excursions were right on the money. The breakfast menu changed daily but always included the freshest fruit. Use of the beach and swimming gear was convenient and thoughtful. When we return to Kauai, we will definitely stay at Marjorie’s again!!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank D_and_JW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2007

My husband and I spent four fantastic nights in the Sunset Room with Daniela and Michael as our gracious hosts. We loved the tranquility of the property and the privacy we had on our own lanai. We were never home for the actual sunset, but were overwhelmed by the stars that we could see in the dark Kauai sky. We were close enough to the beach to make a short trip, and also enjoyed the Inn's pool when we were home on a warm afternoon. As a bonus, the Inn had some of the things we might have forgotten - bug spray, snorkeling fins, etc.! We also enjoyed yummy breakfasts in the morning looking over the valley, usually with a rainbow! We live too far away to know when we might make another visit, but Marjorie's would be our choice if we were in Kauai again. The Inn provides for a perfect relaxed Kauai vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank CBNJ730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2007

What a great place to stay. We had five nights there and could have stayed much longer. The location is excellent. We felt like we were living in the trees. The view, the mangoes falling from the trees, the pool, the beautiful balcony and the breakfast from the top balcony were beautiful. We were booked on a cruise after our stay at Marjories and we decided that if the cruise was somehow cancelled we would have stayed longer at Marjories and would not have been disappointed. That's how nice it is. Even when it rained it was beautiful. Great work, Daniela and Michael.

Faye & John Grave, Melbourne, Australia

Stayed: September 2007
5  Thank brains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2007

Mike and Alexis run a very slick operation at Majorie's Inn. When we arrived, we were greeted with a welcome plate of fresh fruits, cake, juice and coffee and they were extremely helpful in recommending activities we could do and lending a hand in booking them for us. Breakfast was a treat, especially when Alexis made us Hawaiian French toast one morning. They had a garage full of water sports gear (snorkelling masks, fins, surf shoes), beach stuff (cooler box, beach chairs) and even a kayak that we were able to freely borrow and use. And if you don't fancy hitting the beach or leaving the B&B, you could take a swim in their lovely pool (something we unfortunately were not able to do as there was so much to do on the island). For those wanting to write a quick email to make those at home jealous, Mike readily offered his laptop and to gain internet access.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank MoonTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lawai
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marjorie's Kauai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marjorie's Kauai Inn

Address: P.O. Box 866, Lawai, Kauai, HI 96765
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lawai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lawai
Price Range: $259 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marjorie's Kauai Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marjorie's has a 50' salt water pool overlooking the beautiful Lawai valley. There are 2 hot tubs for our guests to use. We want all of our guests to feel at home so we provide boogie boards, fins and snorkel equipment, bikes, a kayak, a large bbq by the pool, and a surf board. Our guests can use the washer/dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Marjorie's Kauai Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marjorie`s Kauai Hotel Lawai
Marjorie's Kauai Inn Lawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing