We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of Seasport Divers

Seasport Divers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Seasport Divers got its start back in 1986. A lot has changed since then, but one thing’s always stayed the same -- our passion for scuba diving. In the years that we’ve been here, we’ve grown to be the biggest dive shop on the island. You can rent everything you need to explore the ocean: snorkels, diving tanks, and even beach chairs and boogie boards. We also sell all the spearfishing gear you might need. Our crew can also take you out on a diving excursion to experience some of the best views in Hawaii. On the scuba visit to Ni'ihau, you even get to embark on some of the most pristine and dramatic diving in the area.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Took my mask to Seasport to see if they could fix it. Kyle spent a long time trying to find and modify parts that would work but eventually we decided that it wasn't going to work. Showed me lots of options and he give me a discount for waiting so long! Went back the next day to buy a new strap for my wife's mask.

Thank rkatao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seasport_Divers, Manager at Seasport Divers, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Whether it's the most expensive dive computer to the 25¢ plastic mask buckle, we strive to provide our customers with the best, personable experience. As the General Manager of Seasport Divers, Kyle does a great job of setting the example for staff to follow! We hope that you and your wife will visit us again. Mahalo for taking the time to write a review and share with others your experience with Seasport Divers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain andrew"
in 46 reviews
"dive shop"
in 131 reviews
"sheraton caverns"
in 127 reviews
"dive master"
in 280 reviews
"sea sport"
in 37 reviews
"octopus"
in 102 reviews
"fish"
in 139 reviews
"great dive"
in 100 reviews
"dive sites"
in 91 reviews
"sea life"
in 88 reviews
"dive trip"
in 55 reviews
"afternoon dive"
in 32 reviews
"surface interval"
in 42 reviews
"open water certification"
in 39 reviews
"white tip reef sharks"
in 24 reviews
"top notch"
in 58 reviews
"great job"
in 64 reviews
Filter

1,174 - 1,178 of 1,407 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have never dove with a company that does everything for you. it was really nice to have them do it all. We did 2 - 2 tanks dives on tue & we'd afternoon. We did go to the same sight -Sheraton Caves. We saw many different kinds of fish, urchins, very tiny eels, octopus and many turtles up close. We were on a smaller boat tue with 8 divers. Wednesday we were in a larger boat because there were 12 of us. The water was a bit rougher we'd. Had a couple people feeding the fish but for the first time it was not my husband. He got a prescription from his doc for a patch and it worked wonders. They have some nice tee shirts for sale. The dive masters and boat captain were very courteous, helpful and very friendly. We did not choose the sites because we were unfamiliar with the area. I would recommend Seasport.

Thank CindyDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seasport_Divers, Manager at Seasport Divers, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

We strive to provide the best customer service and hope you enjoyed diving with us! Glad that your husband planned ahead and got the prescription so he wasn't giving the fish a meal. lol Mahalo for taking the time to write a review and let others know what a great time you had with Seasport Divers. Till next time.... A Hui Hou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife, Amy, and I dove with Seasport on our 13th anniversary on August 26th with Captain Zac and Dive Master Meghan. Both of whom were very personable, professional and entertaining.

We arrived the day prior to check-in to change our reservations from the afternoon beginner dives to the morning advanced dives having completed several dives on Maui the previous week. We wanted to do the three tank dive to Ni'ihau, but our dive/flight window only allowed for a Monday dive and the charter to Ni'ihau was on Tuesday. Anyway, after a lukewarm reception by the counter staff, we got our dives changed and showed up the next morning at 7:30 ready to dive.

Our DM, Meghan, greeted us and the rest of the divers and was very helpful in getting all of the paperwork processed and gear handed out. Once everything was loaded up and ready to go, the van wouldn't start...dead battery. We swapped everything into a new van and set off to the boat ramp which was a short 10 minute drive away. While she and Captain Zac put the boat in the water, we sat at the pavilion where there are restrooms, outdoor showers and a water fountain.

Prior to boarding the boat, Captain Zac gave us a very thorough safety briefing and went over the equipment and emergency procedures. On the way to the first site, Meghan gave us a complete dive brief on how to exit and enter the boat and what to expect in the water. Once the boat was moored, everyone suited up in we went. The first dive was at "Fast Lane" and took us down to 85 feet toward a large boulder field in search of reef sharks, but there was nobody home. So we went back to the mooring area and explored the reef. There were some cool invertebrates and reef fish, but overall, not real impressive.

The second dive was at Sheraton Caverns. This site was a lot better than the first with a lot of caverns, turtles, eels and even Meghan's friend Gizmo, the docile porcupine fish.

Overall the experience was very good and I liked that Meghan allowed divers to return to the boat based on air consumption instead of having everyone surface as soon as the first person was low on air. For clarification, she didn't send anyone off alone to find the boat and surface on their own. She moved the group to the mooring line and then let the divers ascend as needed.

I was very impressed wiht Meghan and Zac's attitude and professionalism, but wasn't overly impressed with the dive sites. That being said, if you are wanting to dive while on Kaua'i, I would definitely recommend Seasport Divers.

Mahalo,
John

Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seasport_Divers, Manager at Seasport Divers, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Aloha John. Sorry for the lukewarm reception. We will address this at our next staff training event. We pride ourselves on having the safest dive operation on Kauai, but we also want it to be an adventure you won't forget! A big mahalo for taking the time to write such a detailed review. There is no better reference than from the customers that have enjoyed their time diving with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

From check in to check out Seasport was on top of everything. Great customer service and great diving. They will let you choose the location. Our trip had dive masters Jackie and Josh. Highly recommended.

Thank Wlhilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seasport_Divers, Manager at Seasport Divers, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

We know that you had a choice in your diving experience and we're glad that it was Seasport Divers and that you had an awesome experience! It's our goal to provide everyone with a great diving experience all the while ensuring everyone's safety. Mahalo for taking the time to write your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I arrived 20min late and they still let me on the dive! They are very relaxed, laid back and so nice! Definitely not very well organized compared to other dive shops I have been too but everyone is on holiday and noone really cares :) including me. They do all the safety checks right though so no worries to have on that. The team is super nice. Big groups of divers though (around 7). but I was always the last one with the dive master as apparently I did not breathe compared to all the others haha :) So had 1 on 1 diving for a good extra 10 to 15min. Was awesomeeee!
We dove at the Sheraton caverns (loved it! saw loads of things there) and lunch plate....explanation: you see whatever you have in your plate: lobster, squid, etc :)
Was loads of fun!

Thank XXX2588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seasport_Divers, Manager at Seasport Divers, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

We understand that directions on Kauai may be confusing and there can be traffic backups around the island so we try to accommodate a little cushion into our times.

We know that everyone has their own air consumption rate so we will bring the group closer to the boat near the end of the dive so when divers are starting to run low on air they can go up to their safety stop while others will stay in the group below. Looks like you were able to maximize your time underwater!

Sheraton Caverns is a great dive location with an abundance of marine life and the reef topography is spectacular and we're glad that you enjoyed diving there and your experience with Seasport Divers was a good one!

Aloha till the next time...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seasport Divers also viewed

 

Been to Seasport Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing