We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good happy hour, great service, lousy pizza” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pizzetta

Pizzetta
Reserve with OpenTable
Pizzetta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 41 Restaurants in Koloa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Buon Giorno! Our recipes originated in the warmth of the kitchens of my hometown, Altomonte, in the region of Calabria in Southern Italy. Today we offer you these culinary delights made from scratch with the finest and freshest ingredients. Here we are striving to carry on my family's time-honored tradition of using delicious food to put a smile on your face and replenish your soul. Please come visit when on one of the most beautiful islands in the world.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good happy hour, great service, lousy pizza”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

While walking around Koloa, we saw the sign for happy hour, and given that they had a baseball game on their two TV’s, we stopped in to have a beer and a snack. We started with a couple of happy hour draft beers, and the bruschetta, which was ½ off for happy hour.

Well, why not have an early dinner and head back to the condo in time for sunset?

We decided on a thin crust Hawaiian style (ham and pineapple). First off, we are pizza snobs to a small degree, living in one of the mainland’s homes for pizza. Although we’ve tried the chain pizza places in our lives (like the ‘Hut and Dominoes) those places don’t reside in our pizza vocabulary.

Here, the crust was soggy and limp, nothing like a thin crust should be. The toppings were OK, but looked to be thrown on. The cheese was average, but lacked any real flavor. At least it wasn't greasy. Very little effort and thought was put into this pizza. We’d take a California Pizza Kitchen frozen pizza, heated at home over this pizza, and it wouldn't have cost $20.

We’ll stick to fish and other local specialties from here on out while on the island.

Only saving grace was that our server was great. She was attentive, and very friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve_N_018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    437
    139
    58
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Significant drop in quality over prior years”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We used to go to Pizzetta in Kapaa quite often as the quality of food and associated service was great, full of fresh, local ingredients, homemade italian sausage, great pizzas & crusts, etc.

We found ourselves in the Koloa area which is the only remaining location for Pizzetta that I know of, so we stopped in for dinner. I don't know if ownership has changed, recipes have changed or what, but we were very disappointed. The pizza dough reminded us of circa 1970's style frozen pizza dough (i.e. dry, no taste, cardboard texture), and the toppings were unremarkable in flavor (certainly no more homemade sausage). We were totally shocked and disappointed by the significant change in the pizza compared to what we used to get.

The service received was still friendly and reasonably fast and my drink was quite tastey (a bit on the pricey side though), however neither make up for the terrible pizza.

Our Koloa experience represented a very unfortunate change compared to our previous experiences when the Kappa location was in operation. Perhaps it was a really off night, but I doubt we would return again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank plcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food, Spotty Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We ordered delivery from Pizzetta twice while we were staying in Kauai. The first time we ordered we had pizza, and the order was delivered within 40 minutes. The pizza was delicious and not too overpriced considering the cost of food in Kauai. The second time we ordered delivery a few nights later (spaghetti and salad), we were told the food would be delivered in 45 minutes. After an hour and no food, I called, they had lost our order. After a total of an hour and a half, our food arrived, cold, and the delivery guy said he thinks they intentionally messed up our order because they don't like tourists, and he apologized. The food was cold, but still tasty. Definitely hit or miss with this place in terms of service, but it's pretty much the only option for delivery food in the Poipu Beach area.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AshGator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A great italian treat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We came back to the restaurant again after being there over a year ago and aside from it being a little less crowded the food was just as good. My wife couldn't wait to taste the meat lasagna and I chose the vegetarian pizza. The food is great and so is the service. There are more airy tables located in the back but the bar crowds up especially on sports event nights. The wait staff is friendly, courteous and very attentive. You don't have to wait too long for your meal and the prices are very reasonable. Try it.!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Psychuaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Relaxed pizza joint, not so good service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Pizza was great, prices were decent. It was a nice break from resort food and drink. However, our server there was terrible. Didn't even catch her name or I would have put it in this review to make sure you didn't get her. There were only a handful of tables and we got in around 8-ish to eat. She treated us like we were such a bother and wouldn't even let us sit on the patio because they were closing soon she said. Our beers never made it to us so we had to go to the bar and get them ourselves. Even the bartender told us to let him know if we need anything....that should have been hint enough that she was horrible. After about 5 minutes of dropping off our pizza she asked if we were done and needed a to-go box. We were like uh....nope, still eating. Then she continued to ask us if we were done. It got really irritating. So, good pizza, bad service!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank southernsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pizzetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing