We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and really good burgers”
Review of Poipu Tropical Burgers - CLOSED

Poipu Tropical Burgers
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
174 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great service and really good burgers”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We ate here twice and got the same waiter and table both times, which was great because he provided wonderful service. The first time we all got burgers and they were big and fresh and wonderful. The fries were crispy, hot, and tasty. The second time, I got the mahi and it was not very good. I could have opened a Gortons package and gotten better. That was disappointing. The burgers my family got were still great, but this time the fries were luke warm and not crispy like the first visit, so I took a star off the rating for that. Apparently food quality can vary depending on time of day and what you order. Still, I would recommend this place to other visitors. The prices were good (relative to the rest of Kauai), service was great, and the burgers seemed to be consistently excellent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frog4aday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    182
    174
    77
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Basic place for lunch”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stopped in for lunch. Service was average, but the food was a bit slow showing up. I ordered the pulled pork sandwich, and my wife had a chicken rice bowl. Both were good. We sat on on the outside and watched chickens. Seemed like a reasonable but basic place for lunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc_Majka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hawaiian style service”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Things are slow here. It's the only place we truly had the Hawaiian style service I read so much about. It wasn't horrible, just slow. Orders were taken, drinks eventually came, food came out hot surprisingly, check was paid. Burgers were ordered well done and that's how they came. Didn't like the meat itself but the guava BBQ sauce and fries were good.

Don't go if you're in a hurry. Relax and enjoy the chickens.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dgadrienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Horrible!!!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

I do not recommend this place for lunch. It cost 45.00 for the two of us to have nachos, 2 burgers and fries, one beer and an iced tea. The burgers were the worst we have ever had. McDonald's is a 5 star burger compared to this place. The fries were ok but I don't think the cheese on the nachos was real cheese.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank B_hug80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Skip this”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We went there for breakfast and it was terrible! They delivered 1 slice of toast about 10 minutes before our breakfast arrived. It was not buttered but was cold. When our breakfast arrived, it was bad. We ordered an omlet (which was fine) but the has browns that accompied were overcooked and inedible and my husband got a hashbrown plate, which was supposed to have a gravy/egg on top of the hashbrowns. Again, the hashbrowns were hard and dry, the over-easy egg overcooked and overall the meal was just bad.
They did ask for a review which we gladly filled out stating that we would not be back again!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cher145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poipu Tropical Burgers also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing