We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must Try the Poke”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Koloa Fish Market

Koloa Fish Market
Ranked #2 of 42 Restaurants in Koloa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Takeout
Level Contributor
162 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Must Try the Poke”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Koala Fish Market is a family favorite every time we visit Kauai. My favorite is the Korean style poke. The average price is about $13.99 per pound. Not bad.

Helpful?
Thank 4RealMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    166
    41
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cash only”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

While on a zip line tour right down the road, we asked our guide where his favorite place close by to eat was. He suggested the the fish market. Had the Ono in wasabi cream sauce. Did not disappoint. Fantastic little local place. The sauce was not too hot and complimented the Ono perfectly. Large portions for little cost. This is takeout and cash only. Was not an issue since hotel was only 5 minutes down the road. Great little shops next door as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, MIchigan
Level Contributor
225 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great little market for fresh seafood!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

They get their fish direct from fishermen, and it is excellent. Arrive early as quantity is limited. We cooked our fish (wahoo or ono in Hawaiian) on the grill and it was spectacular. "Best fish I've ever eaten" from my mother in law, who is a seafood expert!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChristiB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The BEST poke, E V E R”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Ok, so this place came highly recommended by my cousin's hubby and my bf read the reviews about this place so we had to go. My cousin apparently went to eat here everyday during their honeymoon. We ordered the poke bento box along with two other kinds of poke in the glass case. Be forewarned this is a take out place only. There are NO chairs whatsoever so we ate in the car. We were staying in Poipu at the Castle Kiahuna Plantation on Poipu Rd. It's less than 10 minutes away by car so it was very convenient.

It was SO FREAKIN' delicious! I am a sushi lover and I have frequented many sushi spots in San Francisco and the surrounding bay area which has a great sushi scene. Hands down it was off the charts YUMMM. Highly recommended. I will go straight here next time I go to Kauai.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reinalove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect poke”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stopped by on the way home from a day of sightseeing. At first we drove right past this little storefront and had to stop for directions. (It is right across from the post office.) Tourists like us and locals were stopping in for take out and fresh fish to cook at home. We tried 4 types of poke ( Korean, smoked marlin, ahi with onion, and avocado) and all were delicious. They were out of the avocado poke when we first got there but the friendly counter gals said they could make some fresh if we didn't mind waiting. They even offered to set up some chairs out on the front porch while we waited.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koloa Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to Koloa Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing