We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawiian Plate was unbeliveable”
Review of Koloa Fish Market

Koloa Fish Market
Ranked #2 of 44 Restaurants in Koloa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Northern Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hawiian Plate was unbeliveable”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stopped to get some fish, but thought we would try the Hawiian combo plate. It had Kalua Pork and Pork wrapped and cooked in Taro leaves (LauTau?). Also some Poke, rice, and other goodies. WOW! We loved the Kalua Pork, and the LauTau? was unbelievable! So moist and tender and you can eat the inside leaves that were very tender like spinach/chard. This was so good and something we hadnt eaten before. It was lunch and they told us we could use the table chairs in front of the wine store next door as it was raining and we didnt want to walk across to the park. The service was excellent, people very nice and informative on the menu, and one of our best meals on the island!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Big Hugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    173
    42
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Healdsburg, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poke's the word!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The fish and service are excellent. When we got into Kauai we wanted poke- so we hunted down this great little place. Later in the week we wanted some fresh Ahi to take and BBQ- it was fantastic. A true treasure for people that think all of Hawaii has mediocre food. Thank you Koloa Fish Market.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Local Treasure for serious fresh fish lovers”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

After the 6 hour flight I was famished and could think of nothing else but the Shoyu Poke at Koloa Fish Market. I also had some seared Ahi and marinated Octopus. All 3 things were divine and after three days my rental car was full of their little plastic to go containers. This little place is worthy of all the praise it receives here and elsewhere. Cash only but not to worry because there is a bank right down the block with an ATM. This local treasure is one of the very best on the entire island.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tom_treddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Yummy everything!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

All the plate lunches we ordered were tasty and served in huge portions! The haupia is delicious and loved the poke. I miss this place already!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Extremely Disappointed”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We wanted some fresh fish to prepare at the condo that we rented, so we went this market. I told the people that we wanted a very mild fish, and that I wanted to be sure it was fresh.
Before I started preparing it, the fish smell was very strong. I grilled half of it, and fried the other half, and none of it was edible.
There was another condo owner by the grill, and he said they do not go there because they had the same problem.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank johnriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koloa Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to Koloa Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing