We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Addition to Poipu Dinning” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Spezia Restaurant and Wine Bar

La Spezia Restaurant and Wine Bar
Ranked #4 of 41 Restaurants in Koloa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $27
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Heber Springs, AR
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Addition to Poipu Dinning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Just arrived back in Kauai for our annual trip and a new restaurant has opened in Koloa. The name is La Spezia and we have already had both breakfast and dinner there. The decor, food and service is outstanding. Since our favorite restaurant, Pomadora's, has closed, we were looking for a new favorite place and this is it. Only take reservations for six or more, so suggest that you go for happy hour at 5PM and stay for dinner. By 6PM, there is a waiting list. Brunch on Sunday is also very crowded. Worth the wait but suggest that you get there early.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HawgFan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    149
    41
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Italian Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed this local warm restaurant with the friendliest service people. The bartender was especially nice sharing some recipes. The food especially the bolognese was out of this world. Their prices were very reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank bruce3226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So Glad its Here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Its great to have a reasonably priced Italian restaurant in Poipu. We've eaten dinner there twice and enjoyed it very much - excellent lasagna. We especially like the ambiance in the bar area. I'd like to see a larger happy hour menu -- that would be a real hit for snowbirds.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penna.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Much to be improved upon”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

With Pomodoro closing, we were told this new restaurant was great. Well---I don't like mushy pasta and cold meals. Someone is not taking care of business in the kitchen. The server was was a novice and didn't really do anything. We were hungry, so we ate the warm meatballs and left. Apparently, they haven't heard of al dente pasta and making sure sauce is heated through before serving. We went early and only another table was in restaurant, so there was no excuse for this. We were amazed that they rave about this restaurant. I hope the owners take notice and wish them good luck for this new venture.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank travelandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“At Last!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

I have eaten at this restaurant twice on this trip. It is a family run affair than radiates charm and just the fact that they want to please their customers. The food was not only the best Italian food in the area, but amazingly the best value. I am surprised that it is not impossible to get into. They do have a child's menu. The antipasti and the arribiata was delicious. I strongly recommend this place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachbum29877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Spezia Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to La Spezia Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing