We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss it”

Koloa Heritage Trail
Ranked #11 of 30 things to do in Koloa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 10-mile hiking and biking trail on Kaua'i's south shore.
Victoria British Columbia Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I picked up the brochure for this. It has the map and explanatory notes on the back. I walked part of the trail down by Shipwreck Beach and cycled on the old cane road from Koloa to Poipu. If you have any sense of adventure or interest in the Hawaiian culture and history, don't miss this. It doesn't cost a thing, either.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank OceanBoulevard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    27
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great place to walk along the ocean.”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We did this trail almost every single day. Easy to walk along the ocean and gets you to all the main resort areas and if you keep walking you can go to Poipu beach. We really enjoyed seeing rainbows along this trail.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank usha18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koloa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hapa trail”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you don't want to do a long walk. Walk the hapa trail from Poipu to koala town. Stop for lunch and walk past library to new bypass road then down hill to kukuiula shopping center for a shave ice or ice cream, then back to Poiou Beach. Takes about 4 hours. See beautiful mountains, old Hawaiian irrigation system, goats, cows, horses, old catholic church etc. Dirt then paved.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
126 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Did not enjoy”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I personally could not do this walk. I tried it from Spouting Horn and again from Moir Gardens, but was not able to do it since I just did not enjoy walking on the side of the road with no sidewalks and only seeing houses for a long length of time when the sun is so hot. It's probably okay if you can drive or bicycle it, and it should be alright for you if you just like walking a lot without seeing a lot of interesting stuff for long spurts of time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank olollyberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful ocean views”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Nice walk if you are looking for some exercise. You do have to be careful in some areas, face traffic as road is narrow. Good bird watching along the way also.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lmlupner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koloa Heritage Trail also viewed

 

Been to Koloa Heritage Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing