We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koloa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Regency Resorts Condominiums
Sunnyvale, CA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great family location”
Reviewed September 5, 2007

We had a great week at the Regency Condos August 11-18, 2007. - unit 814. It was nicely decorated and the beds were very comfortable. It was a perfect size for me and my husband plus our 2 teenage daughters. Yes, they set the air conditioner at 78 degrees but it never seemed too unpleasant. It was a real challenge though to keep sand out of the condo. The small tile entry way became the shoe/towel storage area. Our biggest frustration was that there were no recycling bins set up anywhere and it was painful throwing out the plastic, glass and aluminum.It is about a 5-8 minute walk to Brenneckes beach and then a bit more to Poipu but the walk is through a pretty green belt area. Very good snorkeling at the Beach House restaurant beach and fairly good at Poipu too.

  • Liked — Size of unit, location, air conditioning, updated decor
  • Disliked — No recycling, sand containment to small entryway
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    10
    5
    4
    6
See reviews for
26
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
united states
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2007

We travel extensively, especially in the Islands, and we were quite frankly let down.
We had come from Maui, where we had another delightful stay.
The A/C is set to 77 degrees and can temporarily be driven to 74 but it won't stay there, so the rooms were 78-81 degrees.
We had a group of 8-10 (this is a guess) above us with children dancing and running. It didn't appear the sound proofing was as good as we are used to.
We asked for a little relief on checkout, since it is 10 AM and our flight wasn't until the evening. We were told that it would cost $150. Not very accommodating.
I didn't book it but our friends indicated the beach was 500 feet. It might be 500 feet from the grounds but it was close to half a mile from our unit.

I'm not killing this place, we may have just had one of those bad experiences.
We've just had so much better accommodations and a willingness to work with us at this price.
We'll pick somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jdowpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hornetpunter
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2007

We have yet to embark on our stay at Kauai's Regency at Poipu, so we can not comment on the quality of the condos. However, we want to warn anyone who plans to book a condo here through "Sunspot Inns, Resorts & Vacation Rentals". They are absolutely HORRIBLE at communicating details. Phone calls and emails take forever to get returned, and their answers are almost always incomplete and very vague. They wait until one week prior to departure to finally send you confirmation details.

We planned our trip seven months in advanced and discovered four days prior to departure that the condo Sunspot promotes on their web site as sleeping 12 people, does not sleep 12. They are now claiming that it is capable of sleeping 12 people IF WE PAY EXTRA for additional sleeping futons. If you book with Sunspots be prepared. I will NEVER book with Sunspots again.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank hornetpunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha NE
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2007

We're just back from a one week stay at the Regency Condominiums. We had a four bedroom, three bath unit for a family ot seven. Furnishings were top-caliber. Great location, just a short walk to the beaches. Check-in and chekck-out were easy - there were even fresh flowers to greet us! You can't make a mistake staying here.

Weather was great and there was an enroumous selection of activities for the family. Surf lessons with Margo Oberg, a Napali snorkel tour with Holoholo Charters. Kids loved the ATV tour out of Koloa. Don't miss hiking the Waimea Canyon.

Can't say enough to recommend Kauai and Regency Condos. we rented thorugh LuxuryKauai.com. Easy to work with.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank TravelDreamerOmahaNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2007

Located a short 5 minute walk to Brenneke's Beach this condo was loaded! Travertine flooring, Viking Fridge, Walk In Shower, Jacuzzi Tub, Central Air (although we used only the ceiling fans and opened the windows), Flat Screen TV's, 2 Lanai's, BBQ, Stocked with Beach chairs and Ice Chest, Fully stocked kitchen. Everything one could ask for and all at a very reasonable price.

Using the self check-in and check-out was great. It allowed us to extend the vacation a bit without the formality of a front desk and the hassle. The property was very clean and very well taken care of. Clearly there was pride in ownership here. Once we settlled in it felt just like home.

The walk to the Brenneke's Beach was about 5 minutes max. and another 5 minutes to Poipu Beach. The beach at Brenneke's was more rock and grass than beach but still a nice place for kids to play - just not in the water since it's probably a bit rough there for little ones. The locals certainly liked it though- they were always there. Poipu was a great place to catch some rays and enjoy the day.

For an evening out try a walk over to the Hyatt and Shipwreck Beach. Plenty of good restaurants and a great pool area and beach. It's only about 10 minutes to get there by foot.

All in all I'd definitely recommend this condo for a family. For those in the younger crowd looking for a good time I'd recommend Maui or Oahu. Kauai is pretty quiet.

  • Liked — Very Posh Interior. Loved the free long-distance and internet!
  • Disliked — Would have been even better if closer to the beach.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank borad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2006

A group of 5 adults stayed in a unit in building 6. The unit was a three bedroom, three bath. (I think it was unit 621.) We were very pleasantly surprised at the accomodations. It exceeded expectations in many ways.

All furnishings were well kept and comfortable. Ceiling fans kept the air circulating and temperature comfortable, despite a bit of odd programming on the thermostat that kept reverting the temperature to 78 degrees after an hour of being set at a lower degree.

The kitchen was well equipped with a good variety of pots, pans, BBQ equipment, and appliances, including (surprise!) a rice cooker. A good selection of glassware kept us from having to wash glasses after every meal.

The living room had surround sound, stereo, DVD, and flat screen TV. There were also books and a couple of games. Generous seating in the living room.

A really nice discovery was a closet full of beach stuff! We had everything you could wish for: beach mats, sand toys, sun hats, beach chairs, boogie boards, snorkel gear, ice coolers.

It is a bit of a walk to the beaches from this location so those with small kids may want to stay in the villas closer to the beach rather than this group of condos located at the upper reaches of the property. On the other hand, building 6 has a pool right outside the door, so if close access to a pool is more important to you, then this is the spot.

The location was fine for us adults. It provided easy access to Shipwreck Beach and Brenneke's/Poipu Beaches. Also, there's a nice walk up the street to the rocky bluffs between Shipwreck Beach and Brenneke's. By the way, that rocky bluff is a good spot to watch the sunset if you aren't up for the drive to Beach House Beach after a full day of activities.

The size of the unit was a big plus. All the rooms were "roomy." Even with 5 adults, we were never in each other's way and we had places to go for "quiet time." I could easily imagine it being a permanent home. It did not have that cookie-cutter-space-at-a-premium feel to it that you typically get at most vacation accomodations.

All in all, I can definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank likes_2_travel_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boulder, co
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2006

We just returned from staying at the Regency Villas . The accommodations were fabulous. The beds comfy, the location good, high end finish on the condos. There was construction going on, but it was not an issue. There is a 5 minute walk along a pathway to the beach. The pool was not close to the condo, but that was the only negative. I would reccommend the Regency, and hope to stay there again.

  • Liked — New and fresh, air conditioning, close to beach
  • Disliked — far from pool
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bldrwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koloa
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Resorts Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Resorts Condominiums

Property: Regency Resorts Condominiums
Address: 1831 Poipu Rd, Koloa, Kauai, HI 96756-9418
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Koloa
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Koloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kauai Regency Condos are the perfect place for your island adventure or your romantic trip to paradise. The Regency Condos are some of the newest condos on the island and provide the rare luxury of central air. From big screens to beach towels these condos provide all the comforts to live your ultimate Hawaiian vacation. They are located just a five minute walk through the beautiful garden area to a couple of Kauai's great beaches. You will quickly see why Regency Resorts is the ultimate choice among Kauai condo vacation rentals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Regency Resorts Condominiums Hotel Koloa
Regency Resorts Condominiums Koloa, Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing