We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special treat!!!”
Review of Kauai Food Truck

Kauai Food Truck
Ranked #19 of 44 Restaurants in Koloa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Special treat!!!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

This little food truck on the old sugar plantation is a true treat. From the time you arrive to Taylor Savages infectiously warm smile the enjoyment begins. Our first taste of Kauai was the locos mocos, I was hooked! Amazing food and great atmosphere this is a cant go wrong place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eating4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    43
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greeley, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Kauai Food Truck Rocks!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Ate here the last two days and will eat here two more times before we leave for home. The fish tacos were excellent an the island sliders (Hawaiin plate special) and BBQ chicken plate have tons of flavor. Taylor is as friendly as they come. Get him talking about Magic and the Lakers while you wait for your yummy meal. Don't expect quick junk food. This is high quality and prepared to order. Can't beat the setting, food or the folks.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food stop in Koloa Town”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stopped here for lunch and enjoyed our meal sitting under the large shade trees. We had the chili shrimp tacos and fish tacos and both were really good. They did serve the locals first, so we waited a bit but the setting was cool and comfortable so we didn't mind waiting...and listening in on the local pidgin being spoken.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sylvie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Maybe the best Lunch Truck ever!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

These ladies know how to Cook and Rock!

When you enter Koloa Town, on the right before the curve is a little Lunch truck. It is brightly colored with bright color adirondack chairs and tables, under the big banyon tree. They serve breakfast and lunch. The hubby and I were on the way to town and stopped by for a quick lunch.

The menu is for locals as well as visitors as it has Plate lunches and fish tacos and burgers. We decided to have a Burger and asked for one, not on the menu (similar to Duane's Ono Burger on the North shore). We ordered a Teriyaki sauce burger with Pineapple on top and cheese. The server says, "Oh, you want an Aloha burger", what a great name for a great, no I mean really great burger. I hate to say this but this was and is better than Duane's Burgers, it was fantastic! Fresh ingredients, cooked to order and both ladies were so friendly and nice. I could see why the locals eat there. We are so glad to have a great local place to eat lunch.

The only little issue is that since the food is cooked to order, it takes an extremely long time, if you there during the busy hours, be prepared to wait, but then again you are in Kauai, so just relax!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OCKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Roadside Grub”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Don't drive by this gem without partaking. It is novel, friendly and just plain yummy. Excellent food. Picnic tables provided.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank bbnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kauai Food Truck also viewed

 

Been to Kauai Food Truck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing