We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing and Huge Portions”
Review of Uncle's Shave Ice

Uncle's Shave Ice
Ranked #2 of 6 Dessert in Koloa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
visalia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Refreshing and Huge Portions”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

The portions were large and there was a great array of flavors. The staff was not very friendly or engaging but you really come for the shave ice so I guess that doesn't matter.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank tojo25Visalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    100
    53
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Long wait but worth it!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Best shave ice I had on the island, and we had shave ice everyday! I got just ice with flavoring (no snow or ice cream or other fanciness) and it was so so good! The ice was nice and crunchy and even the melt at the bottom kept the flavors separate... That alone was amazing! My husband and I were both entranced... Haha!
Only reason I took off stars was because the wait was rather long. Only 2 people working on a hot weekend day! Worth it though :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colorado1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Portions are too big”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I ordered a small and it looked like an XL. I wasn't able to eat it fast enough so the ice melted quickly. I would say this wasn't the best shaved ice I've ever had, but it also wasn't the worst. I think a smaller portion would have soaked up more of the flavor to give it that refreshing treat taste.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham,MA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Go elsewhere!!!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The shaved ice was the worst we have had. Lacked flavor. We were the last customer of the night. Maybe the just wanted to close up?? Lapperts ice cream a few feet down further is a better bet for dessert.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DorFramingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stopped here on our way to the airport because we had heard about their shave snow, which is different from shave ice and is unique to Uncle's. It was very good. The shave ice was good Lso but the shave snow is where it's at

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle's Shave Ice also viewed

 

Been to Uncle's Shave Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing